gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 (edited) If you hack out, of course need to use new windows Why can't hack windows? So many people in renotalk have replaced their toilet windows. You can search don't let contractor smoke you! Anyway, his 'best' won't make the window level. You decide what you want. I think he's just lazy to apply for permit to replace the windows. No worries, $250 will settle it, search for contact on renotalk for kdk ventilator window with permit. If he don't want to do, get someone else to do, but make sure its done before tiling is completed. Got to move fast My tiling for the toilet is almost done, left the area around the slanted window and the flooring. KDK is the company name and the company has ready permit? I search "KDK ventilator", yield no result... If i got to fork out another $250 just to straighten the window orientation, i am inclined not to do it... it is afterall a toilet... lesson learnt... next time buy resale flat better look at all these man... Edited December 3, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 I have chipped tiles. Grout lines already filled up previously. Then they replaced the tiles by cutting those particular tiles and replace it. I believe it is quite normal to do replace tiles. That why usually IDs/contractors wil always order abit more tiles. Just in case need to replace tiles and if the tiles chip in the future. It is not easy to find the same tiles to replace chipped tiles after a few yrs. Hope this info helps u to get ur contractor to replace them. But if it is alighment problem, then replacing tiles won't work right? Got to take out all tiles and do it all over again. Because once the first tile is out of alighment, it creates a cascading effect on the rest of the adjacent tiles . Am i mis-interpreting you somewhere? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 (edited) i second this. my windows were changed cos the wooden structure was quite ....well...not rotten....but close to. and it had plant life all over. even a tiny fern. so changed that to an alum framed toilet windows. but yes, before tiling is completed must indicate...they can pause tiling the toilets and do kitchen/floors first while waiting for window renov HDB approval. My window is kinda better coz the previous owner has renovated it before, so it is already aluminium frame. I thought i can save some money and paint it over, it could look as good, it is a toilet anyway. But to my surprise the moment i step into the toilet this morning i notice the slanted window and slanted ceiling. Even the workers agree that the slant-ness is very serious. To make thing worse, the worker did not cut the tiles straight, so visually the windows look even more slanted. But ok, this is their worksmanship problem... Well... Edited December 3, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 My tiling for the toilet is almost done, left the area around the slanted window and the flooring. KDK is the company name and the company has ready permit? I search "KDK ventilator", yield no result... If i got to fork out another $250 just to straighten the window orientation, i am inclined not to do it... it is afterall a toilet... lesson learnt... next time buy resale flat better look at all these man... fyi the following just in case you feel like doing. would like to give my 2 thumbs up to Jasmine from Central Aluminium. the process of installing the ventilation fan via Jasmine was straightforward and worry-free. I contacted Jasmine about 2 weeks ago and within a few days, she arranged for her worker to assess my WC window. Last Monday (7 Apr), she asked me to fax her my floor plan and provide her with my NRIC to apply for the approval HDB permit, the approval was granted on 10 Apr and by yesterday 15 Apr, my ventilation fan was up. And it only cost me $200 nett (fixed panel plus the KDK fan model 20WUD) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 (edited) fyi the following just in case you feel like doing. Thanks Bro. Ventilation fan is those that turns with electricity? I like to keep things simple, just rectify the slant-ness problem and if need to change to a new louvre window. I.D quoted me $250 for a louvre window. If i can get everything done under $200 then it is worthwhile. But from applying permit to finishing job about a week... I suppose the tiling for toilet can put on hold first bah... I have bring this matter to my I.D and ask him for options, wait for him to get back to me... Central Aluminium is it this: Central Aluminium & Glass Construction132 Woodlands Ind Pk E5, 757853, Singapore p: 63683313 f: 63687137 Website - none supplied Email - None Supplied Edited December 4, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Dear guys and gals, I need recommendation or suggestion of place to shop for furnitures. Probably: Wardrobes x2 Bedframe and mattress x2 Tv console Sofa Coffee Table Dining Table Shoe cabinet So far i have been to Courts, Ikea, IFC and had a brief stroll in IMM. Especially for dinning table and sofa, quite hard to find small ones to fit into my tiny living room. Any suggestion? Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Actually you have 2 options. Take open concept, then invest in a good Hood with powerful suction to suck all the oily fumes while doing heavy cooking. If you are doing kitchen wall tiles then it helps also because easy to wash. I am not using tiles for kitchen walls, just paint over, but i will use those easywash paint, dunno from nippon or dulux lar... will sort it out later.... If not, if you have the money to spend, you can go for those glass panels where by both pieces you can slide it either way and lock them into position when u want to. If you wan open concept for that day, just 'unlock' the panels and slide both pieces all to one side. Cool! Then you got 2/3 width of the whole entrance :-) Good Morning gantan88, If only allow to either go for kitchen wall tile and the glass door, I will definitely go for kitchen wall tile. But that will also depends on the distance between the kitchen and living room as well as the time period that you intend to stay in the house. To me, the wall tiles in the kitchen really make a difference to the maintanance part. Just to share, I tried some baking last weekends and somehow alittle of the butter mix got splashed on the wall as I wasn't used to the new mixer. I was so glad that the wall is tiled, I can just easily wipe off the butter mix. You might want to consider tiling the wall if possible. For the slanted window, I also think it might be a structural issue. Even if you change the window, the new window will still got to fit that 'hole'. Ummm.. unless you are able to hack the hole bigger to fit. If the contractor suggest to do a 'smaller' window frame and cement the hole 'straight', you might want to question them if they are able to ensure no leaking issues. I have 2 weird small windows are my balcony which the window contractor promised to block off for us using aluminium blocks, but because they are not the real wall structure from hdb, the water tends to seep in. It took several retification for the window contractor to make sure the water doesn't come in. But we feel that its just a matter of time the seepage will come in again as the retification is to use silicon all over the outside. Currently, the window slant look obvious because the tile happen to just end off at the window with a little more to go. I feel that it might not look that obvious if the ending tile is not just that little bit but at least half of the tile. But that would mean retiling the whole thing, which the contractor might not want to do. To be honest, like you mentioned, these are window in the toilets, don't think it will affect much and if budget is an issue, I'll just leave it. The only thing that I felt is very important is the functionality of the windows, that is any water seepage from the current window. Your progress looks good. Hope everything goes smoothly til the end. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
momo13 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Dear guys and gals, I need recommendation or suggestion of place to shop for furnitures. Probably: Wardrobes x2 Bedframe and mattress x2 Tv console Sofa Coffee Table Dining Table Shoe cabinet So far i have been to Courts, Ikea, IFC and had a brief stroll in IMM. Especially for dinning table and sofa, quite hard to find small ones to fit into my tiny living room. Any suggestion? Thanks. hi gantan.. indeed choosing sofa to fit the living is a headache.. so far we shortlisted a 1.2m dinning table at IFC....wont be getting any coffee table, custom made the shoe cabinet at the living room window side.... hope this helps Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
amrasenelya 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Dear guys and gals, I need recommendation or suggestion of place to shop for furnitures. Probably: Wardrobes x2 Bedframe and mattress x2 Tv console Sofa Coffee Table Dining Table Shoe cabinet So far i have been to Courts, Ikea, IFC and had a brief stroll in IMM. Especially for dinning table and sofa, quite hard to find small ones to fit into my tiny living room. Any suggestion? Thanks. OM, Hommage, S&C? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 OM, Hommage, S&C? Hello Amrasenelya, Can give me to full names and locations as well? Paiseh.. i can'y decipiher short forms :-P Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 hi gantan.. indeed choosing sofa to fit the living is a headache.. so far we shortlisted a 1.2m dinning table at IFC....wont be getting any coffee table, custom made the shoe cabinet at the living room window side.... hope this helps Thanks Momo. With no coffee table and no side table, then how you enjoy good coffee while watching tv? I personally use the coffee table to work on my laptop and put drinks only.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Good Morning gantan88, If only allow to either go for kitchen wall tile and the glass door, I will definitely go for kitchen wall tile. But that will also depends on the distance between the kitchen and living room as well as the time period that you intend to stay in the house. To me, the wall tiles in the kitchen really make a difference to the maintanance part. Just to share, I tried some baking last weekends and somehow alittle of the butter mix got splashed on the wall as I wasn't used to the new mixer. I was so glad that the wall is tiled, I can just easily wipe off the butter mix. You might want to consider tiling the wall if possible. For the slanted window, I also think it might be a structural issue. Even if you change the window, the new window will still got to fit that 'hole'. Ummm.. unless you are able to hack the hole bigger to fit. If the contractor suggest to do a 'smaller' window frame and cement the hole 'straight', you might want to question them if they are able to ensure no leaking issues. I have 2 weird small windows are my balcony which the window contractor promised to block off for us using aluminium blocks, but because they are not the real wall structure from hdb, the water tends to seep in. It took several retification for the window contractor to make sure the water doesn't come in. But we feel that its just a matter of time the seepage will come in again as the retification is to use silicon all over the outside. Currently, the window slant look obvious because the tile happen to just end off at the window with a little more to go. I feel that it might not look that obvious if the ending tile is not just that little bit but at least half of the tile. But that would mean retiling the whole thing, which the contractor might not want to do. To be honest, like you mentioned, these are window in the toilets, don't think it will affect much and if budget is an issue, I'll just leave it. The only thing that I felt is very important is the functionality of the windows, that is any water seepage from the current window. Your progress looks good. Hope everything goes smoothly til the end. Hello Rasp, Yes, maintainability of tiled walls are always easier... but the price is not so easy on my pocket Seldom deep-fry stuffs also.. and i dunno how long i will be staying in this flat.. so decided to do away with the wall tiles.. Your water seepage issue reminds me of those old flats toilet ceiling seepage, some owners they put layers after layers of dunno what but after a while the water still seeps through, from upstairs. Your water seepage is rain water splashing in you mean. It only happen during big rain and winds? Yeah, i have asked them to re-tile the ending piece, cut the tiles slanted to suit the existing window frames, dunno how it will turn out, is going there to take a look shortly after this. Actually it is barely one week after my reno starts and i am beginning to feel weary liao I hope it will end faster. Buying furniture is a real headache. My 3d drawings not out yet, should be ready in a few days. Hopefully by then i can have a clearer picture of the whole house how it is going to be like and i can better select furnitures... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
momo13 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Thanks Momo. With no coffee table and no side table, then how you enjoy good coffee while watching tv? I personally use the coffee table to work on my laptop and put drinks only.... perhaps a side table.. cos of the size of the living room its really hard to put coffee table as my tv console will be on the door side.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 But if it is alighment problem, then replacing tiles won't work right? Got to take out all tiles and do it all over again. Because once the first tile is out of alighment, it creates a cascading effect on the rest of the adjacent tiles . Am i mis-interpreting you somewhere? U are rite. I didn't think of the whole pciture. I was looking at the mis-alignment pic and base on that, it is the upper left tile that is misaligned. So I was thinking just need to cut out that tile, replace and align it again. Sorry, it didn't occur to me at the moment other tiles will be misaligned becos of this particular tile. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 (edited) Thanks Bro. Ventilation fan is those that turns with electricity? I like to keep things simple, just rectify the slant-ness problem and if need to change to a new louvre window. I.D quoted me $250 for a louvre window. If i can get everything done under $200 then it is worthwhile. But from applying permit to finishing job about a week... I suppose the tiling for toilet can put on hold first bah... I have bring this matter to my I.D and ask him for options, wait for him to get back to me... Central Aluminium is it this: Central Aluminium & Glass Construction132 Woodlands Ind Pk E5, 757853, Singapore p: 63683313 f: 63687137 Website - none supplied Email - None Supplied mm ventilation + window = $200. no ventilation, window only, should be less than $200. if your ID charge you $250, maybe it's cheaper to do it outside. anyway louvre windows are not good because they collect dust and let insects in. you should call them for a quote u can look for Jasmine from Central Aluminium. In fact, it was recommended by some of the forumers here. The contact number is 6368-3313. Just tell her your requirement, she will arrange for someone to take a look at your place, then ask you to send her the floor plan so that she can submit to HDB for approval and once approval obtained, they will proceed with the installation. Some forumers had said that permit is not required, but i feel safer with obtaining a permit. U never know when the govt body will turn around and said "u missed out this and that" Edited December 4, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites