Guest Goobii Report post Posted December 2, 2009 (edited) It is nice. So in fact it is a 4 glass panels with 2 sliding, to left side and the other one to right side? Mine is going to be 1 hollow block wall with 2 glass panels. One panel fix and one panel sliding. So the entrance actually is smaller... So i thought of doing both panels sliding... but think a bit more expensive... Right... 4glass panel... one slide left and one slide right... Making the kitchen BRIGHTER & more elegent... this setup is often found in CONDO, alot of HDB did the cheaper way by having HOLLOW block with glass+wooden frame as sliding door. Edited December 2, 2009 by Goobii Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2009 actually 70% of people did the OPEN CONCEPT which is too common and many I met complain that they regreted as the cooking smell will affect the hall till the room. Here is my setup with 2panel sliding glass door.. The kitchen (2) The kitchen When decides on open concept kitchen design, it means owners should not be doing heavy cooking at all. Usually, owners who chose to go with open concept kitchen but cook heavily will regret for sure. I think this is a matter of asethetics > praticality. Open concept kitchen denotes as modern. A wall or door separating the kitchen from the dining/living room is passe. Glass door is practical but destroy the seamless link from kitchen to dining room and so forth. In general, a door cuts off the link. So pros and cons. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Goobii Report post Posted December 2, 2009 I seen before a house owner converting the kitchen into a room instead... that is MORE extreme... His reason: Nobody in the family know how to cook and they always work long hours and eat outside. Total room in the whole house (FIVE) 5A point block - Two MASTER room, Three Common Room . (Common Room has those portable bathroom). How they PANG SAI... Using the old method.... A stool pit. Race of OWNER: CHINA MAN. *My client visited the house and was amaze by the setup .. eventually it was still sold to a INDIAN PR. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 Indian PRs are loaded. He will hack down 1 room and errect 3 more toilets and a big big kitchen for him to do his prata business. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 My first problem come up now. As shown in the following 2 pics: Common toilet window slanted. I think this is structural issue, can remedy? Ceiling also slanted. Seems like to worksmanship also not too good. See below: Before i can highlight to the Contractor, the workers have already use dunno what to seal up the gaps (in between the tiles) already. Is this kind of misalighment acceptable? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 (edited) This is master bedroom toilet. Haven't really notice any problem yet, maybe because too dark can't see... I decided to use only 1 tone colour, hopefully the toilet will look more spacious... Another picture to show that the toilet window is slanted, structural issue... can remedy a not? Contractor told me cannot remedy as this is govt structural issue... :-( Edited December 3, 2009 by gantan88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 I seen before a house owner converting the kitchen into a room instead... that is MORE extreme... His reason: Nobody in the family know how to cook and they always work long hours and eat outside. Total room in the whole house (FIVE) 5A point block - Two MASTER room, Three Common Room . (Common Room has those portable bathroom). How they PANG SAI... Using the old method.... A stool pit. Race of OWNER: CHINA MAN. *My client visited the house and was amaze by the setup .. eventually it was still sold to a INDIAN PR. Wah, first time I hear something like this. 2 master bedrooms! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 Wah, first time I hear something like this. 2 master bedrooms! That china man got 2 wives mah.... :-p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
necrosis 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 My first problem come up now. As shown in the following 2 pics: Common toilet window slanted. I think this is structural issue, can remedy? Ceiling also slanted. Seems like to worksmanship also not too good. See below: Before i can highlight to the Contractor, the workers have already use dunno what to seal up the gaps (in between the tiles) already. Is this kind of misalighment acceptable? wah seh.....your guys are REALLY fast. like you just selected tiles, then poof, they're up!!! later i'll go see pics, now in office, not so convenient Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 I feel that if you cannot accept it, then ask contractor to fix it or give discount if cannot fix. As for the ceiling, nothing much to do unless you want to hack and level the windows, then plaster level the ceiling. This reminds me to check if the walls are level first to prevent surprises. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 I feel that if you cannot accept it, then ask contractor to fix it or give discount if cannot fix. As for the ceiling, nothing much to do unless you want to hack and level the windows, then plaster level the ceiling. This reminds me to check if the walls are level first to prevent surprises. If i hack away the window then cannot use already right? Must get new windows? And then the contractor keeps emphasizing that this is govt structure, there is nothing much he can do. Even if hack away window, he also cannot promise that it will be leveled. He can only 'try his best' to salvage the condition. He always say this leh.... :-( What can i do now? For now, he re-cut another 3 tiles to suit the slanted window frames..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 If i hack away the window then cannot use already right? Must get new windows? And then the contractor keeps emphasizing that this is govt structure, there is nothing much he can do. Even if hack away window, he also cannot promise that it will be leveled. He can only 'try his best' to salvage the condition. He always say this leh.... :-( What can i do now? For now, he re-cut another 3 tiles to suit the slanted window frames..... If you hack out, of course need to use new windows Why can't hack windows? So many people in renotalk have replaced their toilet windows. You can search don't let contractor smoke you! Anyway, his 'best' won't make the window level. You decide what you want. I think he's just lazy to apply for permit to replace the windows. No worries, $250 will settle it, search for contact on renotalk for kdk ventilator window with permit. If he don't want to do, get someone else to do, but make sure its done before tiling is completed. Got to move fast Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 If you hack out, of course need to use new windows Why can't hack windows? So many people in renotalk have replaced their toilet windows. You can search don't let contractor smoke you! Anyway, his 'best' won't make the window level. You decide what you want. I think he's just lazy to apply for permit to replace the windows. No worries, $250 will settle it, search for contact on renotalk for kdk ventilator window with permit. If he don't want to do, get someone else to do, but make sure its done before tiling is completed. Got to move fast My tiling done liao. Was still thinking tonight talk to wifey whether to replace toilet window or not. Ha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 (edited) Seems like to worksmanship also not too good. See below: Before i can highlight to the Contractor, the workers have already use dunno what to seal up the gaps (in between the tiles) already. Is this kind of misalighment acceptable? I have chipped tiles. Grout lines already filled up previously. Then they replaced the tiles by cutting those particular tiles and replace it. I believe it is quite normal to do replace tiles. That why usually IDs/contractors wil always order abit more tiles. Just in case need to replace tiles and if the tiles chip in the future. It is not easy to find the same tiles to replace chipped tiles after a few yrs. Hope this info helps u to get ur contractor to replace them. Edited December 3, 2009 by Mickey M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
necrosis 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 If you hack out, of course need to use new windows Why can't hack windows? So many people in renotalk have replaced their toilet windows. You can search don't let contractor smoke you! Anyway, his 'best' won't make the window level. You decide what you want. I think he's just lazy to apply for permit to replace the windows. No worries, $250 will settle it, search for contact on renotalk for kdk ventilator window with permit. If he don't want to do, get someone else to do, but make sure its done before tiling is completed. Got to move fast i second this. my windows were changed cos the wooden structure was quite ....well...not rotten....but close to. and it had plant life all over. even a tiny fern. so changed that to an alum framed toilet windows. but yes, before tiling is completed must indicate...they can pause tiling the toilets and do kitchen/floors first while waiting for window renov HDB approval. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites