gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

Hmm is there much difference between the brands? Sometimes I really doubt that our eyes are really that powerful to pick up subtle color changes on the HD TVs....

unless u put it side by side .... if not i think hard to tell the different

erm i also forgotten how long is consider long liao think is 1-3m? (if i remember correctly) . cos that time when i source for all my hdmi cables, someone did tell me that no need to get monster brand one, can get those normal type and i got them for less than $10 for 3m ones, gold plated and wired mash types for my HTS and ps3 with blu rays :) . unless u are going over more than 10m or so (dont think any one will run the hdmi cable so long) then get those monster brand cos of the quality they give or what reason and prevent signal loss over a long distance.. if i am wrong pls correct me :)

p/s nw hdmi v1.3b or?

Dear momo13,

Indeed $10 vs few hundreds for a cable, big difference!

Anyway HDMI is video and audio combined in a single cable right? So use HDMI neater?

I do not know about the version thiny but i vaguely remember the china sale guy told me (and pointed to the sticker) that now is v1.3b. New one. :D

sony is always a premium price product. :) panasonic lcd is getting cheaper though not sure japan panel and manufactured in singapore is still available (some how just trust japansese made products :) ).. perhaps dec pc show is a good time to buy?

Why not get Samsung or LG? Korea made and assembled. No need worry buying Jap brand and assembled in Thailand or what.

Like car. Some people rather buy a korea car than a Toyota assembled in Thailand.

I am using Samsung LCD for my PC now. :)

sorry gantan88, where is ur 3rm ng located?

i am also having my 2nd appt on the 5th nov for my 3rm.. :)

Mine is in Clementi.

I will be looking out for your renovation pics. Pictures tell a thousand words.

Where is yours? Have ou decided on your contractor?

Edited by gantan88

do note those in built tuners might not receive the signals clearly thus resulting in no reception or poor quality. to get hd content, better get a setup box.

alamak,

noted! but i just thought those in-built really save space. And dun need additional power also...

Hmm is there much difference between the brands? Sometimes I really doubt that our eyes are really that powerful to pick up subtle color changes on the HD TVs....

I read from forums, that for size 32" and below, FULL-HD or HD-Ready, naked human eyes cannot differentiate one...

Bigger sizes, the resolution and clarity difference more prominent.

Guys,

I have another question.

Is it better to get a microwave or microwave oven?

Pros and cons?

I realise got not much space to put seperate microwave and oven...

Why not get Samsung or LG? Korea made and assembled. No need worry buying Jap brand and assembled in Thailand or what.

Like car. Some people rather buy a korea car than a Toyota assembled in Thailand.

I am using Samsung LCD for my PC now. :)

to me i will try to get made in japan stuff if the price diff is not that big, simply because japan might have a better QC. lol. but korean ones are really competitive

yup same here using samsung lcd for my pc with hdmi, if not wrong hdmi carries both video and audio signal.

but hor korea car has lower resale value compared to japanese cars which are made in thailand.. correct me if i am wrong (info not updated for a long time)

Mine is in Clementi.

oh mine is at AMK, can check out my t-blog. reno will be starting next month.

contractor will be henry :)

Edited by momo13

I read from forums, that for size 32" and below, FULL-HD or HD-Ready, naked human eyes cannot differentiate one...

Bigger sizes, the resolution and clarity difference more prominent.

for me, 32", unless i am intending to hook it up to a laptop and run it in the full hd resolution, i wun go for full hd. i will not see the diff. but if price diff is not too much, why not? :D

bigger size full hd screens esp lcds, if you plug in directly to the tv socket in your home, your picture will look grainy not matter how good they claim their in-built scaler is. unless you have those set top boxes, the picture should look better. plasmas will fare better with sd content.

Edited by alamak

to me i will try to get made in japan stuff if the price diff is not that big, simply because japan might have a better QC. lol. but korean ones are really competitive

yup same here using samsung lcd for my pc with hdmi, if not wrong hdmi carries both video and audio signal.

but hor korea car has lower resale value compared to japanese cars which are made in thailand.. correct me if i am wrong (info not updated for a long time)

oh mine is at AMK, can check out my t-blog. reno will be starting next month.

contractor will be henry :)

Hee... yes, at Harvey Norman i saw they only use 1 HDMI cable for everything. Damm neat!

Now i using component video 3 cables + audio 2 cables = 5.

this resale value thing i not sure also, some says is base on the demand of the car one, especially if you are exporting out. But ya, i will consider Korean over thai-assembled ones... QC in question.

for me, 32", unless i am intending to hook it up to a laptop and run it in the full hd resolution, i wun go for full hd. i will not see the diff. but if price diff is not too much, why not? :D

bigger size full hd screens esp lcds, if you plug in directly to the tv socket in your home, your picture will look grainy not matter how good they claim their in-built scaler is. unless you have those set top boxes, the picture should look better. plasmas will fare better with sd content.

alamak,

are those set top box meant to decode HD content/channel only (e.g HD5)?

so using set top box does not help in the resolution if i am watching normal channels like Ch 8 and Ch U?

alamak,

are those set top box meant to decode HD content/channel only (e.g HD5)?

so using set top box does not help in the resolution if i am watching normal channels like Ch 8 and Ch U?

not only HD channels, it'll do some upscaling of the SD channels like CH8 and Ch U as well. I have singtel mio tv, starhub digital set top box and starhub hd set top box at home. When viewing those free to air channels via them, they look better compared to viewing the channels via plugging directly to the wall antenna socket. hope you get what i mean.

but everyone's tolerance to noisy and grainy pictures is different. so it's up to every individual. if you feel it's ok, there's no need to pay for those set top boxes as they will incur more cost.

not only HD channels, it'll do some upscaling of the SD channels like CH8 and Ch U as well. I have singtel mio tv, starhub digital set top box and starhub hd set top box at home. When viewing those free to air channels via them, they look better compared to viewing the channels via plugging directly to the wall antenna socket. hope you get what i mean.

but everyone's tolerance to noisy and grainy pictures is different. so it's up to every individual. if you feel it's ok, there's no need to pay for those set top boxes as they will incur more cost.

Yes i know what you mean. i feel that o should maximise the capability of the Tv that i am buying, even though at some extra cost. But if too much then no choice already...

I watch Ch 8, U and ch 5 most of the time.

No stahub :)

Mine is in Clementi.

Oooh! Fellow Clementi person! Which avenue? I'm down at Avenue 2...

Hee... yes, at Harvey Norman i saw they only use 1 HDMI cable for everything. Damm neat!

that's the beauty of HDMI ....

but hor ... I think I still end up with 1 HDMI (for my HTS) to link to TV

2 audio cable ( to link my normal TV program ) to HTS so that the sound can come out from it ( wonder y HDMI cannot do a 2 way thing)

1 VGA cable for my TV to link to netbook .

ha