Pomme 2 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 [coffee_o] Yes i have been surfing t-blog for quite some time. And i thought it would be better if anyone who starts a t-blog can put the flat size (3 rm, 4 rm or 5 rm for e.g) as part of the title so that i can easily identify those 3-rms t-blog and zoom in to see. The 2 IDs that i have shortlisted all provide good service! and price also very close. Hard to choose. I worked quite late most days, very sleep welcome to t-blog, gantan hope i not too late. Mine oso a 3-rm...downgraded from 4-rm, same same lah. Reason: cos onli 2 of us place is too big n huby is freq. traveller due to his job nature. Currently, my hse is undergo the reno....will be doing all the carpentry work from tmr onwards. Tat's still plenty things need to be settle...so me a tai-tai shake leg at home, i've trying to go down often but like newnyew - a nite owl, can onli wake up aft normal lunch hour.....then see sun so bright, weather so hot....decided nua @home instead. But once i move over to my new place, have to help my gf to look out her reno two blocks away....so cannot nua liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 Aj talks like expert now sia... Rondy: Wah lau, what expert? Just sharing some thoughts and ideas lah. My parents' place also almost similar layout, and I helped them with their reno about 2 years ago, so quite familiar also lah. Yo Adrian. Yes, i have seen lotsa ppl breaking down the wall btw living rm and kitchen, but subjected to HDB approval leh... sigh... i hope can hack! I actually stayed in 3-rm for more than a decade before, so the layout is not new to me also. But back then the condition is really original, from HDB. Really want to do something different now to have a fresh start in everything. Including the position and orientation of my furnitures! Thanks for the advice yah! Conceal yr those trunkings and cables. Gantan: As long as your kitchen is not built on a stiffener or reinforcement beam, I think its not a problem I guess. If you need more storage in kitchen, you call also leave a portion of the wall at the corner to flush with a storage/tall cabinet behind. Really looking forward to see your revamp and brightening of the place... maybe then you can star in the next Mocca.com advertisement! Does anyone know whether is it a must to get Singtel to do the telephone point and starhub to do the SCV/Tv points? Can my contractors do it? I read somewhere, it says that by getting Starhub to do the SCV points, Starhub technicians has the tools to test the strength of the signal and all that. Wherea asking my contractor to do it, there is no mean to check. Advice pls!! Gantan: Since you haven't started your reno, it'd be good if you get the SCV guy to come down to help with the SCV points, particularly if you plan to put more points inside the house. I gathered this cos' I just spoke with a Starhub cable person today and this is what they recommend. They did also say however, that if the contractor/electrician's good and knows how to do it, it should be OK. Essentially, the main concern is the splitting and looping from 1 point to many points - If not done properly, the signal for the extended points may be weak. Starhub tech guys said that they should draw from the central riser. You can probably call them at 1633 if you need some advice on setting up - They're quite helpful. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 I am beginning to like this forum, lotsa support, comments and advice. I try to collate all my responses to all into one reply. [momo13] Ok, i will update again on this issue. For me, the previous owner has already installed SCV points in all the 2 bedrooms, but i dunno if it is still functioning properly. Yes, my contractor actually told me he can do it for me, but i think signal strength wise he can't be sure though... [coffee-o] If this is true, then i am not much worry coz i only have a living room and 2 bedrooms. Total max is 3 SCV points only. [blackcar] Those stuffs that you mentioned can be dismantled and reassembled mah? Except for the study table set, curious what is it, how come it is at the kitchen. I am actually renting a room for few months first because my new home cannot be ready on time. I haven even go for my first appointment yet. Although i have rented a storage area elsewhere to store my barang barang for these few months, i think it will not be wise to putrchase things now... [rdnest] Thank you for your well wishes [Pinklady] Hehe. Your house finished reno le? [newnyew] Wah, can't miss your reply cos yr fonts is purple. I try look for it in the storeroom. I am in fact doing packing now. If this is antique, i am going to charge a high price. [Pomme] Hee, i think it is never too late ah. The info will always be here Anyway i think Singaporean very difficult to satisfy. Weather too hot, nua at home. Rainy weather, sleep at home. Lucky rain or shine, u no need to work now. [adrian_john] dunno leh, one of the designer whom i spoke to said mine is a pre-fab flat, so approval to hack is 50-50 chance. Sian le, if cannot hack hor, the design of the whole house all screw up liao... Understand about the flushing of the wall to the tall cabinet. I am thinking if i should do tall cabinet. Whats the benefit? if i do not have an oven, i can just place my microwave on the cabinet worktop? The SCV points.... mentioned earlier, the previous owner already installed SCV points in all bedrooms + living room. If these 3 points had been installed by SCV guys, the SCV guys could have draw the signal from the central riser isn't it? So just have to make sure after shifting the points, the points are terminated properly... ? But looks very old and in bad shape. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 Here are the SCV points in master bedroom and the guest bedroom. One has 1 box and the other one has 2 boxes. Anyone know why like that? Master bedroom: Guest bedrooms: the 2 white boxes are the SCV points... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 wa Pomme, u also same as me ah? sleep late wake up late? hehe... we so good life hor... gantan, u dun learn like the rest of the gang hor.. everything $$$.. i so nice to u Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 wa Pomme, u also same as me ah? sleep late wake up late? hehe... we so good life hor... gantan, u dun learn like the rest of the gang hor.. everything $$$.. i so nice to u Eh New you dun say other ppl hor, you also everything $$ to me leh moreover i'm curious leh why you want the clock for ah ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 Here are the SCV points in master bedroom and the guest bedroom. One has 1 box and the other one has 2 boxes. Anyone know why like that? Master bedroom: Guest bedrooms: the 2 white boxes are the SCV points... My living room one is 1 box but my master room SCV point got 2 boxes too. But the 2 boxes size different. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 (edited) Here are the SCV points in master bedroom and the guest bedroom. One has 1 box and the other one has 2 boxes. Anyone know why like that? Guest bedrooms: the 2 white boxes are the SCV points... Based on this pic, I would think that the scv box on the left is relay to your living room. See the cable point already been connected with the cables ? But how come they fixed the point so high up ah ? isn't it very ugly when you fix the cable to your tv ? Edited October 1, 2009 by coffee_o Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 (edited) Eh New you dun say other ppl hor, you also everything $$ to me leh moreover i'm curious leh why you want the clock for ah ? hohoho... 是吗? i wan do do something to the clock lor! Edited October 1, 2009 by newnyew Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 hohoho... 是吗? i wan do do something to the clock lor! you are really queen of D.I.Y wonder what u are u to this round . ha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 hohoho... 是吗? i wan do do something to the clock lor! 是的。。。 废话。。。of cos i know you gonna do something to the clock le so secretive meh ? is it your next master piece ? hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 haiya... hang the clock le then paint the wall around it lor. wat else can i do?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 haiya... hang the clock le then paint the wall around it lor. wat else can i do?? How i know wor your creative mind sometimes can think of something others did not think of de leh hehehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blackcar 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 hahaha how i wish i can dismantle those stuffs and bring it to my new place. All of them are customise leh meaning made to measure cannot be dismantle at all. All these goodies will go to the new owner. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted October 2, 2009 [newnyew] This is the period which i need $$ most, so.... hahaha.... :-P anyway hor, i try search for the clock, now doing packing, whole house in a mess, although my next house not ready yet, i have to move out of my current place in a few days time and shift to my rental place... really a hassle and $$ fly away to rental and storage place to store my barabg barang for 4 months... [coffee_o and Supersimon] i initially thought 1 box is for Tv and 1 is for radio :-p The box is big and ugly, when i first saw it i also wonder why would anyone install the SCV point so high.. well, maybe their Tv is high up on a shelve or something... I have to relocate it anyway... um.... [blackcar] u teasing me ah hahaha. For a moment i wonder why you are asking me if i want your walk-in wardrobe...ggrrrrr... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites