gantan88

My 3ng - Starting My Life Anew

Bought a resale 3NG. Downgraded from a 4-room. Unlike most, the background to why i got this 3-room resale is not a happy one. Thus i am hoping with the renovation completion and settling in this 3-rm, i can start my life anew.

I am actually hesistant in starting a t-blog because i am not sure if i have the time to update it. Nevertheless, with this first post, i decided and is hoping i can accomplish something for my t-blog. Purpose is to share my experience and at the same time get feedback and advice from the gurus in here. I will try my best to update this blog.

I will be getting the key around mid Nov, if schedule does not slip. Like most in here, i have thousands and one questions in my head as i am a noob when it comes to renovation. I have also been surfing this forum for quite some time to gather more knowledge.

I have already started talking to several IDs since August and is currently in the final stage of selection of ID. I have shortlisted 2 companies:- Weiken and Amac Creative (AC).

The ID from Weiken (i am not sure if i should reveal her name at this stage, but is definitely NOT the few names that have been mentioned herein in this forum. I did a search and is surprised that her name is not being mentioned in here) is rather friendly and after a few meetings, she displayed confidence and enthusiasm which impress me. Customer service also very good. So i am not sure if i should give Weiken a try, despite the many negative reviews about Weiken in this forum.

The ID from AC also not bad, price very competitive and is very patient. It is a difficult decision.

I will start by posting the floorplan up here first (probably tomorrow as it is rather late now) follow by some pics of the existing condition of the flat. It is going to be a complete overhaul and i am expecting the damage to be around $30k or less (hopefully).

Thats all for now. Stay tuned!

Edited by gantan88

Welcome abroad gantan88!

dun worry, be happy :lol:

think positively, n everything will fall into place nicely for u!

everyone's nice n helpful here so just ask if in doubt :)

welcome welcome

congrats on getting a new place

everyone will encounter problems along the way so dun feel disappoint or upset

Try to enjoy the journey of transforming your place into your dream home ya ? :D

welcome and congrats to you for a new home. if you are going for a new look, an ID is good. if you already know what you want, contractor can be cheaper. if you know who to approach, you can save up to 50% :)

Hi bro , still rem me ? lol

Finally start yr T-blog wor. Been waiting so long ... So u found a place for stay already ?

hope to see more pic in yr t-blog

Regards

Simon

Hi Gantan88.

Welcome and hope everything goes smoothly for you for your reno and your life!

Browse around the forum and maybe you could even consider getting a good contractor and save on costs rather than an ID. :)

ya lor,never too late to post any picture,middle of the night ,new is still eating supper,

and reading blog!

see!she is the first one to congrats u! :P

eh u v kiam par lei!!!! people being polite u have to come create havoc!!

:fire::fire::fire::fire::fire::fire::fire::fire::fire::fire:

Dear all, allow me to reply to all at one go. This place is indeed nice after seeing the replies Thanks all for the welcome. :D

I decided to go for an I.D because i think i will not have the time to do all the coordination works between all contractors.

For the moment i have only 1 question in mind:

a. Should i go for a tile-less kitchen? (just plaster and painted finish). Can save about $400 compared to laying wall tiles.

I am purchasing the floorplan from HDB, so until then, no floorplan yet.

[supersimon27] yes i remember you, found a temporary roof over my head for 4-5 months already, thanks yah!

[Ossify] can really save 50%??? if like that i engage Contractors and take 1 month no-pay leave to do all the coordination works myself also worth it leh...

[newnyew] It is really nice of you to reply me in the wee hours. You no need sleep one ah. :-p

Dear all, allow me to reply to all at one go. This place is indeed nice after seeing the replies Thanks all for the welcome. :D

I decided to go for an I.D because i think i will not have the time to do all the coordination works between all contractors.

For the moment i have only 1 question in mind:

a. Should i go for a tile-less kitchen? (just plaster and painted finish). Can save about $400 compared to laying wall tiles.

[supersimon27] yes i remember you, found a temporary roof over my head for 4-5 months already, thanks yah!

[Ossify] can really save 50%??? if like that i engage Contractors and take 1 month no-pay leave to do all the coordination works myself also worth it leh...

[newnyew] It is really nice of you to reply me in the wee hours. You no need sleep one ah. :-p

actually for contractor dun need 24/7 to coordinate ba.

maybe 1 or 2 day or after work go up take a look.

Let me try putting up some pics first. Taken using PDA camera so not that good resolution. These are some of the B4 renovation pics. The two bedrooms already have SVC points installed.

Is it a MUST to get starhub ppl doewn to get the relocation of the SCV points?

Living Rm

LivingRoom-back.jpg

Kitchen2.jpg

Common Toilet at kitcen (already converted from squatting style to siting style)

Kitchen-Toilet1.jpg

Master Bedroom Toilet

Masterbedroom-Toilet.jpg

Guest Bedroom

Guestbedroomview1.jpg

Edited by gantan88

hehe i alive in the wee hours.. timing tombalake liao...

ur retro clock still got keep not? i like...

Edited by newnyew

Should i go for a tile-less kitchen? (just plaster and painted finish). Can save about $400 compared to laying wall tiles.

If you're a person who seldom cooks, then it should be ok I guess, in fact do take a look at other's t-blog, a number of them did not do wall tiles for their kitchen too

You can go HDB website and purchase it for $5 and they will email you the floorplan in PDF format

I wouldn't say it's 50% but about 20% bah but of cos, it depends on what kind of stuff you will be doing, best is to ask quote from both and compared. Sometimes price is not the ultimate deciding factor whereas the comfortable level between you and ID/contractor is :)

New is the well known zombie lurking ard at night in RT lah so you won't see her replies in the morning but only in the afternoon after she woke up from her beauty sleep hahahaha :P

Edited by coffee_o

hehe i alive in the wee hours.. timing tombalake liao...

ur retro clock still got keep not? i like...

Wah new so fast eye ppl's clock le ah ? hahahahaha

Your hands itchy for some D-I-Y again ? :lol:

[Natgw] Thanks for your well wishes :)

[New] what retro clock are you talking about?

[rondy] Yes, its that unit. He told me that mocca.com force him to pose with the green pipe and he got sick for a week after the commercial shoot. Haha.

[coffee_o] Yes i have been surfing t-blog for quite some time. And i thought it would be better if anyone who starts a t-blog can put the flat size (3 rm, 4 rm or 5 rm for e.g) as part of the title so that i can easily identify those 3-rms t-blog and zoom in to see. :)

The 2 IDs that i have shortlisted all provide good service! and price also very close. Hard to choose. :rolleyes:

I worked quite late most days, very sleep zz

Edited by gantan88