nirvana

Our Little Cozy Cocoon

TV console; waiting to mount TV and soundbar on the swivel pole tomorrow. We are very nervous about the stability cos the backboard where the TV and soundbar will be mounted are very heavy. The soundbar backboard you see is only attached to the pole using 3 nails.. even my technical savvy htb is not sure about it. We will see how it goes tomorrow.

4172218026_e669827926.jpg

Lightings are installed in the kitchen today. Some of the lightings are in wrong color so only managed to take one side of the L shape kitchen:

4171465677_380cb39b94.jpg

Yard did not have any windows previously. They are nicely installed but the only problem is that I can't reach the lock cos I am too short for it!!

4172225764_b54882b795.jpg

Sorry for the delayed reply. Am in Hk now on biz trip. So wish to be home now cos this week is carpentry installation and furniture delivery week. Can only rely on the photos my htb email me at night.

The furniture came yesterday. The dunlop bed, alumix wardrobe fixed on sat, sofa set and dining table (they got the base in wrong measure so have to redeliver again today.

More photos to share!

DSC02218.jpg

Somehow in this photo the wall colors turn out more turquoise! I was not sure about the green cushions. Kind of regretted after selecting the color. But now it looks pretty in place with the wall and sofa.

DSC02221.jpg

My Alumix Wardrobe

DSC02223.jpg

Dunlopillo bed

I LOVE YOUR NEW FEATURE WALL COLOUR. So refreshing!!! VVV nice! matches the sofa too

Hey Nirvana. Wnne ask you, how much did you spend in total on the ikea pull out shelves? Were there any other affordable brands you were considering?

oh ya I want to ask one more thing. :)

Re your cove lights and fan. I notice you have both. When you on the fan and the cove light how is the effect like? My Id doesnt recommend it cos he say it causes bad shadows and makes one dizzy.

How has it been like for you?

Thanks for the encouragements. I brought my parents to the house to have a look today and they were pleased with the reno so far.. my all-walls-should-be-white dad actually complimented the blue wall color.. hehe.. was ready for him to criticize it actually.. *relieved*

Their enthusiasm rubbed off me and on hindsight, most of the reno did gone well and the hiccups are really just hiccups. I should really enjoy the process and be happy with the results thus far. Thanks for the advice and reminder. I do feel much better now. :thumbs up:

Spoke to henry today on the shifting in part and we tentatively put it next friday. But the kitchen and final rectification will be finished only after we shift in. We are looking to do our dressing table so that will prob be done up by Jan/Feb period. So there will be more carpentry update coming up. :yeah:

Yay! I'm glad you're feeling better and enjoying the process. :)

Ya.. i suggested liquid paper to Henry too.. but that was as a joke.. :P He said that the liquid paper will turn yellow and it will look worse after a while.

I think newnyew face the same problem . Not sure she use LP or some White marker . Maybe u want to check with her ?

Their enthusiasm rubbed off me and on hindsight, most of the reno did gone well and the hiccups are really just hiccups. I should really enjoy the process and be happy with the results thus far. Thanks for the advice and reminder. I do feel much better now. :thumbs up:

Spoke to henry today on the shifting in part and we tentatively put it next friday. But the kitchen and final rectification will be finished only after we shift in. We are looking to do our dressing table so that will prob be done up by Jan/Feb period. So there will be more carpentry update coming up. :yeah:

Phew , I feel relieve too , cos I intro Henry to u guys …. Always feel bad when hipcup happen . Happy that u r happy with Henry services :)

More pix. Reno mostly done up except the solid table top, kitchen glass backing, shower screen and mirrors.

Common toilet:

Masterbedroom toilet:

4172211414_523b7c8dd6.jpg

Yr master toilet really Big ... can really dance inside ... And the resort feel is there . Nice !

TV console; waiting to mount TV and soundbar on the swivel pole tomorrow. We are very nervous about the stability cos the backboard where the TV and soundbar will be mounted are very heavy. The soundbar backboard you see is only attached to the pole using 3 nails.. even my technical savvy htb is not sure about it. We will see how it goes tomorrow.

4172218026_e669827926.jpg

Can't wait to see yr Tv and sound bar come in too .... Yr console is a "WOW" to me ....

oh ya I want to ask one more thing. :)

Re your cove lights and fan. I notice you have both. When you on the fan and the cove light how is the effect like? My Id doesnt recommend it cos he say it causes bad shadows and makes one dizzy.

How has it been like for you?

Spent about 850 on Ikea fittings. No leh.. did not shop around for alternative cos we know Blum system is really expensive. Htb went down to Blum showroom before and while he is super impressed by the technology (as compared to ikea) one drawer can be as expesive as $60 (if I don't remember wrongly)... how to buy?

As for the ceiling fans, we super kiasu and choose the smaller 48" ceiling fan for our living room. Most living can take up to 56" but we measure and measure to make sure we give allowance to the downlights along the side as well as the cove lighting. Pester Henry and lighting guys to assure us that wun have shadow effect.. hehe.. I dun remember having shadow effect so far but let me do a actual test tonight and I will take some photos for you to the distance of the fan to cove light for you.

I think newnyew face the same problem . Not sure she use LP or some White marker . Maybe u want to check with her ?

Okok.. will check with her on that. But I think I will end up not fixing it cos scared will turn out worse..

Phew , I feel relieve too , cos I intro Henry to u guys …. Always feel bad when hipcup happen . Happy that u r happy with Henry services :)

Yesterday I was really tired plus we were going through all the small defects and htb says the atmosphere abit "dark" compared to our usual jovial chats with Henry.. Having said that, Henry has been patient and one thing I really like about him is that when the problem is there he does not do the "it is okay what.. why complain" stunt.

Prob the one thing I really don't like but it is applicable to all contractors is their time management, not just on reno project but also on their time keeping for appointments!. Guess bo bian cos things get delay sometime and it is not really within control. But we got so used to them being late, we always factor buffer time e.g. meet at 3, we will give buffer till 3.30pm. Hee.. but Henry was very on time yesterday. Think he knows I not happy with not able to get the house up for xmas party.

Yr master toilet really Big ... can really dance inside ... And the resort feel is there . Nice !

Gam siah!

Can't wait to see yr Tv and sound bar come in too .... Yr console is a "WOW" to me ....

Wah.. htb will be so flattered to hear that.. hehe.. he really spent alot of time designing it...

amrasenelya, are you referring to the soft closing devices that cost $9 a pair? That can be install on the hinges later on but need to make sure the hinge that your carpenter buys can 'slot' in the soft closers nicely. Go have a look at ikea hinges and take photo for your carpenter to see. Yes, all drawers and soft closing devices were purchased and given to my carpenter. he did a good job to incorporate them in.

hey nirvana,

thanks for the info, im thinking may as well just get a pair to let them try the hinges first, den go get somemore when confirmed...

anyway, cheer up! your house is looking very goood! :D sometimes take a step back, and look at the whole picture, i know the minor details still get to us, but like ur hubby says, when we stay in there, who will scrutinise all that little things? its you, and your furnishings that make up the home you have.. :) as long as the edges are not sharp and wont cut when we brush across, i think its ok.

i asked ard abt the ABS trimming when i was looking for ID/contractors.. most of them say the same thing.. usually ABS only on door frame...

Okok.. will check with her on that. But I think I will end up not fixing it cos scared will turn out worse..

Hi nirvana, if you find out, please share the solution. I'm at my place now... and the kitchen cabinets are done... and I realise there is the same problem with some of the corners or places where different sheets of laminate join.

Spent about 850 on Ikea fittings. No leh.. did not shop around for alternative cos we know Blum system is really expensive. Htb went down to Blum showroom before and while he is super impressed by the technology (as compared to ikea) one drawer can be as expesive as $60 (if I don't remember wrongly)... how to buy?

As for the ceiling fans, we super kiasu and choose the smaller 48" ceiling fan for our living room. Most living can take up to 56" but we measure and measure to make sure we give allowance to the downlights along the side as well as the cove lighting. Pester Henry and lighting guys to assure us that wun have shadow effect.. hehe.. I dun remember having shadow effect so far but let me do a actual test tonight and I will take some photos for you to the distance of the fan to cove light for you.

Hi Nirvana, THANK YOU! I appreciate this. 48" got strong wind? Yea do let me know whether got shadow effect and the distance between cove and the fan.

Henry and lighting guys initially advised against it is it? And then they promised you won't have shadows later on?

Btw, I was looking through the pictures again, and I agree the corner cabinet is quite well made. Wasted you didn't do the FANCY-looking corner pullout units I saw at ikea. hehehe. $850 is not too bad... ya lor I agree man... $60 for one drawer... how to buy indeed.... :)

Hi Nirvana, THANK YOU! I appreciate this. 48" got strong wind? Yea do let me know whether got shadow effect and the distance between cove and the fan.

Henry and lighting guys initially advised against it is it? And then they promised you won't have shadows later on?

Btw, I was looking through the pictures again, and I agree the corner cabinet is quite well made. Wasted you didn't do the FANCY-looking corner pullout units I saw at ikea. hehehe. $850 is not too bad... ya lor I agree man... $60 for one drawer... how to buy indeed.... :)

Henry and lighting guys got pestered by me to position the lightings properly to make way for the ceiling fans. I told him my ceiling fan size and they measured to make sure the ceiling fan holes are right in the centre of the room and even borders around the downlights. Did not advise me on the shadow part cos not their pasah.. but I keep asking them "can hor?? wun have shadow right???" till they grudgingly agreed with me.. hehe..

See the pix for more illustration:

Distance of ceiling fan to downlights and cove lights:

4173957611_7eb7ec9219.jpg

Fan and cove lights on together and no shadow effect:

4173953907_2368b510b1.jpg

Fan and downlights on and no shadow effect:

4173955839_4f47a5811a.jpg

Oh.. need to do correction, I dunno where I get the idea the blum drawer costs $60/each cos htb says he did not find out on the price and never told me that.. sorry sorry.. wrong info..

BUT.. he did called up a company called Excel hardware (contact from square room magazine) to check on their soft closing hinges.. Remember there was a discussion earlier on the soft closing device from ikea that costs about $9 per pair to slot along your existing hinge?? This Excel hardware company sells the whole hinge that comes with soft closing device installed within at *drumroll* $3/each!! Wah.. if only we knew this earlier.. For those haven installed their hinges one.. can consider this la..

Oh ya.. about the 48" ceiling fans in my living and dining room.. Can feel the window only when directly underneath them.. cos the area is too spacious around.. so I guess there is not enough "obstacles" to bounce the wind around.. cos my 36" fans in my tiny bedrooms are more "effective"...

More TV console updates:

They, correction, the single worker only mounted the TV backboard and install the glass panel today. Thought can see the TV up by today.. oh well..

4174720212_71174b77bd.jpg

4173965067_829e37184c.jpg

Swiveling TV pole

4173967745_c8c9cea4c6.jpg

Oh thank nirvana... I think I shall just go with cove + ceiling fan la. More economical... I wont have an air con in living room also...

Will buy the 48". :)