nirvana

Our Little Cozy Cocoon

My fujioh hob, Hobz hood and Bosch Oven. All from Goh Ah Bee.

Nice place very well done up :)

My kitchen stuffs also bought from Goh Ah Bee, what surprises me was the prices are even more competitive than my usual shop in Bukit Merah :P

Nirvana,

very nice kitchen especially the drawers system....

think its better that u check ur defects slowly loh than to rush it thru', then u wont live to regret it in the near future.

but at least ur house is slowly coming to shape.... ;)

btw u mention ABS, whats that?

Yo sorry for the absence. Been struggling with the disappointment of not able to hold xmas party in my new house afterall. Kind of forced Henry to commit the handover date and it is next Friday. But he cautioned me that the glass backing needs 10 days to construct and we are only meeting him to select the color of the solid table top and glass backing today!! Given the tight timeline and the need to unpack and furnish the place, it is quite impossible to have any proper party.

Awww... I hope you're still able to. But I can understand your disappointment. My wife and I are targetting the same thing and will have friends over on Christmas Eve. But it will be tight cos our handover will be the weekend before Christmas, which leaves us just four days to move in, unpack etc. Our worst case scenario is go ahead with the planned Christmas Eve dinner there with friends, even if we aren't able to move in by then. The kitchen will be fully functioning and there should be no reason not to meet there.

Quite upset the furniture did not came with ABS (i.e. the edge of all furnitures are exposed and not covered, resulting in obvious black lines along all my white door frames and storage cabinets). I am not sure if it is the norm but I look around the cheap ikea furnitures around my current home and none of them has edges exposed.. all nicely covered up.. I am not used to the exposed edges not to mentioned irritated by its sharpness.. Will be asking Henry about it today..

Hmmm... that sounds strange. Isn't ABS normally listed as part of the quotation for carpentry?

Carpentry with ABS cost more, that why without ABS, it will be cheaper. That why impt to state clearly in quotation. And ABS trimming might not be suitable for all types of carpentry.

i always tot normally ABS is on the doors only which means the frame will not have it. i think i am wrong.. haha

Edited by alamak

i always tot normally ABS is on the doors only which means the frame will not have it. i think i am wrong.. haha

Ermmm ... my one also on the door nia . Frame can have ?

The carpenters installed my kitchen cabinets and bathroom vanity cabinet today. And you're right... the ABS is on the doors, not the the frame.

Awww... I hope you're still able to. But I can understand your disappointment. My wife and I are targetting the same thing and will have friends over on Christmas Eve. But it will be tight cos our handover will be the weekend before Christmas, which leaves us just four days to move in, unpack etc. Our worst case scenario is go ahead with the planned Christmas Eve dinner there with friends, even if we aren't able to move in by then. The kitchen will be fully functioning and there should be no reason not to meet there.

Hey Macbart, my kitchen glass backing needs time to construct and put up so i wun bet my money that it will be up in time given Henry's uncertain reply on the timeline. This subcontractor has the tendencies to fly kite on the deadline given. Therefore, dun think the kitchen can 见人 by xmas cos my old tiles are still all over the kitchen wall. Sigh...

ABS is quoted in but only for kitchen and toilet cabinet doors. Everything else does not come with that. Which means my door frame, storage cabinet and TV console all have sharp black edges. Will take photo to show you guys what I mean. It is really an eyesore and I complained to Henry about it today.

He explained that ABS is only applicable for cabinet doors cos they are thin and can go through the ABS machine to "wrap" laminate around the entire door. However, for all other bulkier items the lamination is done on the spot. Therefore the edges are more raw. I think some of work is quite 粗 cos the lines are really obvious and the edges sharp. Henry says it is not completely done up yet and they will sand down the rough edges. However the lines will stay cos it is how laminates work. But promises to see what he can do for me. My carpentry are all white white so the black edges give them a unfinished look. Super sianz...

Again my htb 'consoled' me by saying that once we moved in, we will stop 'seeing' the edges anymore cos will be used to it liao.. he super zen..(=_=)"

Hmm, for now, I haven't seen one la but nothing is impossible in this world but I would think why would u need ABS trimming for frame. ABS trimming is to protect the edges of cabinet doors. After trimming the edge, a sort of plastic material is coated to the edge to enhance the durability of the edges to reduce possibility of chipping. That is as far as I know la. :)

mm I think it's the norm for ABS to be on doors only... the frame.. it depends on how accurate they were when they cut the laminate to fit the wood.

There was someone who brought this up to their ID too.. in the end, the workers used some "liquid paper" kind of thing to cover the groove... which made it worse...

mm Think your hubby is right... after a while I also got used to it. :P

Hey Macbart, my kitchen glass backing needs time to construct and put up so i wun bet my money that it will be up in time given Henry's uncertain reply on the timeline. This subcontractor has the tendencies to fly kite on the deadline given. Therefore, dun think the kitchen can 见人 by xmas cos my old tiles are still all over the kitchen wall. Sigh...

ABS is quoted in but only for kitchen and toilet cabinet doors. Everything else does not come with that. Which means my door frame, storage cabinet and TV console all have sharp black edges. Will take photo to show you guys what I mean. It is really an eyesore and I complained to Henry about it today.

He explained that ABS is only applicable for cabinet doors cos they are thin and can go through the ABS machine to "wrap" laminate around the entire door. However, for all other bulkier items the lamination is done on the spot. Therefore the edges are more raw. I think some of work is quite 粗 cos the lines are really obvious and the edges sharp. Henry says it is not completely done up yet and they will sand down the rough edges. However the lines will stay cos it is how laminates work. But promises to see what he can do for me. My carpentry are all white white so the black edges give them a unfinished look. Super sianz...

Again my htb 'consoled' me by saying that once we moved in, we will stop 'seeing' the edges anymore cos will be used to it liao.. he super zen..(=_=)"

Oh well, I hope you get over the disappointment in time. Meanwhile, try to enjoy the fact that your home is looking good overall, despite some hiccups here and there.

mm I think it's the norm for ABS to be on doors only... the frame.. it depends on how accurate they were when they cut the laminate to fit the wood.

There was someone who brought this up to their ID too.. in the end, the workers used some "liquid paper" kind of thing to cover the groove... which made it worse...

mm Think your hubby is right... after a while I also got used to it. :P

Ya.. i suggested liquid paper to Henry too.. but that was as a joke.. :P He said that the liquid paper will turn yellow and it will look worse after a while.

Oh well, I hope you get over the disappointment in time. Meanwhile, try to enjoy the fact that your home is looking good overall, despite some hiccups here and there.

Thanks for the encouragements. I brought my parents to the house to have a look today and they were pleased with the reno so far.. my all-walls-should-be-white dad actually complimented the blue wall color.. hehe.. was ready for him to criticize it actually.. *relieved*

Their enthusiasm rubbed off me and on hindsight, most of the reno did gone well and the hiccups are really just hiccups. I should really enjoy the process and be happy with the results thus far. Thanks for the advice and reminder. I do feel much better now. :thumbs up:

Spoke to henry today on the shifting in part and we tentatively put it next friday. But the kitchen and final rectification will be finished only after we shift in. We are looking to do our dressing table so that will prob be done up by Jan/Feb period. So there will be more carpentry update coming up. :yeah:

More pix. Reno mostly done up except the solid table top, kitchen glass backing, shower screen and mirrors.

Common toilet:

4171451671_25313247cf.jpg

Masterbedroom toilet:

4172211414_523b7c8dd6.jpg

4172213868_7e51f4ed5f.jpg