ossify 1 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 Half finished Kitchen so all the runners, drawers and shelves are from ikea, and the rest (carcass, worktop and fronts) are from your ID's carpenter? interesting concept, i always enjoyed ikea kitchen items so i am making an ikea kitchen yours is semi-ikea. i hope you redeemed the $20 voucher for every $200 spent on ikea kitchen that's a 10% rebate already. Nice carpentry work done! did you use any blum system for your kitchen cabinets?? ikea uses blum, it's good I thought IKEA used the brand Rationell? No la? Pardon me if I am wrong. Actually, doesn't matter, as long as the anit-slam mechansim works. rationell is just a range of kitchen products (like the shelves, partitions) the anti-slam is actually blum in ikea clothing Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
macbart 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 ikea uses blum, it's good rationell is just a range of kitchen products (like the shelves, partitions) the anti-slam is actually blum in ikea clothing You're right. About a month ago when I was at one of the Ikea branches (can't remember which one), I opened one of the units on display and noticed that one of the anti-slam devices was missing (perhaps someone removed it?) and the name on the hinge was "Blum". Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 Will talk more about it when my photos are uploaded. One major one is the master toilet vanity ... the vanity is about 1-2 inch smaller in depth than what was planned. We have bought the basin with the measurement given and it looks like it will not fit in.. and my basin is not the can protrude out kind.. we measure swee swee 16".. sigh.. if Ah Li can't come up with a good explanation on his decision to make it smaller in depth.. Solid top up ? The depth will be different with and without solid top wor . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Really Simon? Good to know that. If so my toilet will have a lot of space. Can dance inside liao. Yup Ikea has the Blum logo at the bottom of the drawer system. Verified liao. I think for those who likes ikea system but wanna get their own carpenter to do it do watch out for my next entry cos we are ultimately not specialist in this line so need to watch out details which has to be communicated to carpenter well. Cos now I have to think of using the drawers for other stuff now that it si too small to put bigger bottles or Tupperware which I initially intended Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Really Simon? Good to know that. If so my toilet will have a lot of space. Can dance inside liao. Oh ... So it mean I am right . But u can confirm with henry again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
amrasenelya 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 hey nirvana, read thru ur half asleep post , and i think most of us will experience what u did. lucky u have ur hubby who's so optimistic.. cus im like u.. cheer up, when u move in, all these small blunders will become insignificant when ur furnishings come in... looking forward to ur ikea blum hinges tips.. cus we also thinking of using that, can cut cost and hopefully hold up the weight.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 Mickey you are right loh.. plus hor.. except for my kitchen and toilet.. all other carpentry dun have ABS.. so I scared in due time.. it will start to look really ugly.. Just went to my place and after closer inspection realised that some of the work is not done according to what we want. I guess we are some sort mentally prepared. Hmm.. let me rephrased.. I am some sort mentally prepared.. cos htb is super chinchai kind.. but still disappointed when the blunders happen.. Will talk more about it when my photos are uploaded. One major one is the master toilet vanity ... the vanity is about 1-2 inch smaller in depth than what was planned. We have bought the basin with the measurement given and it looks like it will not fit in.. and my basin is not the can protrude out kind.. we measure swee swee 16".. sigh.. if Ah Li can't come up with a good explanation on his decision to make it smaller in depth.. then I am afraid.. I might not be able to move in before xmas!! *this is paranoid me speaking so take everything with a pinch of salt; i just need a place to voice my panic!!* Judging their timeline given to do the previous carpentry.. they need about 2-3 weeks to prepare.. so this one.. maybe give 1-2 weeks.. then need to install and rectify.. wah lau.. it will be xmas then already.. panic panic panic... When both of us, one exhausted from a full day work.. and one from half day work and 3 hours flight, were in the lift, I ask aloud if i am nitpicking.. some of the blunder cannot be reverse and it is a decision we have to make.. make the better of the situation, be creative and move on happier.. or kick a big fuss about it... which probably wun amt to much since half the work is completed liao.. we both know we will not take the 2nd choice.. but at the back of my half asleep mind, there is a nagging thought "but we paid them to do the job.. how come we have to be the ones to compromise". But such is life. It is never clockwork. So after much ranting, the decision is clear. We will accept the changes that are done.. and well.. think of creative way to deal with them. Then, life will be good again. Btw, these blunders, in htb's word, "are not serious blunder la". And thank god htb is who he is. Always able to give me a different perspective to things. Given my character, I will mull over them and mope for a few days.. but with his golden words, I came to term much faster. Okay, only left 1% battery.. mind shutting down liao.. will update soon... Cheer up gal! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 so all the runners, drawers and shelves are from ikea, and the rest (carcass, worktop and fronts) are from your ID's carpenter? interesting concept, i always enjoyed ikea kitchen items so i am making an ikea kitchen yours is semi-ikea. i hope you redeemed the $20 voucher for every $200 spent on ikea kitchen that's a 10% rebate already. ikea uses blum, it's good rationell is just a range of kitchen products (like the shelves, partitions) the anti-slam is actually blum in ikea clothing Oh, thanks for enlightening me. I always thought they use another brand becos their anti-slam don't seem as gd as Blum. At IKEA, I don't know how many times the drawers in their display kitchen are open and close daily. But some of them malfunction in a matter of months. So I thought they are not using Blum. Blum hinges are suppose to last for a long time Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 Hey mickey u should see how the ppl "abuse" ikea furniture when there.. hahha.. it is no wonder they will be in such sorry state.. I have some ikea furnitures e.g. wall cabinet, bookshelves, staked open cabinets, bed... so far everything is working very well. For home owner, we do not really "abuse" our furniture on a daily basis.. so I am one of those few open ikea fans.. hehe.. just woke up and look forward to a day of uploading photos and renotalk posts.. yeah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) Switching over to flickr for Simon.. hee.. actually thanks to simon I realised Flickr works better with iPhoto. More photos! Just took some more photos of the kitchen yesterday. Fresh from the oven (no pun intended!) Almost completed white white kitchen. Left solid table top and glass backing to cover up the ugly wall tiles. We went for hanging cabinets. Closer look on the sink and dish dryer. I find the dryer a tat too small. But not big issue la.. My fujioh hob, Hobz hood and Bosch Oven. All from Goh Ah Bee. Edited December 6, 2009 by nirvana Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 Switching over to flickr for Simon.. hee.. actually thanks to simon I realised Flickr works better with iPhoto. More photos! Just took some more photos of the kitchen yesterday. Fresh from the oven (no pun intended!) Gan Dong .... but hor ... Y it state that the photo is currently not avaliable ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) All my drawers are from Ikea. We planned and decided on the location and designs of the drawers we want from Ikea. E.g. for this set of drawers we want the regular 3 drawers style for putting cooking utensils, dry food e.g. flour, noodles, instant noodles, canned food, blah blah.. My agony on these drawers is that I wanted the bottom 2 sets of drawers to be deeper in height so as to put taller tupperware or containers for my dry food. But... 1) The full height of the cabinets stands at 35". We did hanging cabinets so we need to allow 8" of space from floor to bottom of the hanging cabinets. So we are left with 27" of cabinet space to play with. 2) We gave 2" allowance for the table top and whatever sitting above the drawers and cabinet doors 3) Multiple trips to Ikea confirmed our drawers height measurements. 5" for top set of drawers. 12" for the bottom set of drawers. And whatever left for the middle set of drawers. Sounds like good plan right? no... 1) Ah li measured 8" precise from floor to hanging cabinet. Check. 2) 2" allowance turns out much more than 2". The table top is about there.. but we did not realised that by selecting a no handle drawers and cabinet, Ah li built the bone of the cabinet which eats into our drawer height space. So much height was sacrificed for the table top which left us with less "cabinet height" for the drawers and shelves. 3) The drawer height measurements we gave to Ah li got lost in the wind. So to our, sorry, my horror, the middle and bottom set of drawers front are all less than 10", measured from the outside. And together with point 2, my actual drawer space to put stuff is greatly compromised. hmm... so much for putting jars and tall tupperwares in the drawers. Here is the breakdown of the measurement for my top drawer which we measure at 5". The only drawer height Ah Li got right. The blunder kind of affect the rest of the cabinets and drawers too so all our plans to put our pots and pans in the drawers kind of vanished into thin air. We still can put the plates and bowls (not the big kind) so not all are lost. Having said that the ikea fittings was seamlessly incorporated to our woodwork so it looks pretty neat if you look past the above measurement blunder. That is why i mentioned, if you want to incorporate ikea fittings in, you have to be very very detailed in communicating with your carpenter.Pplease make sure your carpenter is informed of your inner drawer height requirement ON TOP OF your drawer front measurement. Edited December 6, 2009 by nirvana Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 Gan Dong .... but hor ... Y it state that the photo is currently not avaliable ? Aiya.. having trouble with the permission of the photos. Just set to "view by everybody" so you should be able to see now.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) More drawers pix The sauces and condiments drawers right beside the stove.. hmm.. cannot put soy sauce bottles unless i buy kid sized.. My mum says can transfer to smaller bottles.. actually better cos when cooking, it is cumbersome to move around regular size bottles.. dunno if she is comforting me or speaking the truth.. Drawers around the sink area Edited December 6, 2009 by nirvana Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) Corner cabinet.. nicely done ... This is where my mobile gas will go into.. plus some extra space for bulky pots and pans.. Edited December 6, 2009 by nirvana Share this post Link to post Share on other sites