nirvana

Our Little Cozy Cocoon

I dunno the standard cos first house reno so nothing to benchmark but I thought Henry's workers are quite neat.

During hacking:

IMG_2017.jpg

During tiling:

IMG_2025.jpgIMG_2043.jpg

Finishing tiling and electrical/ceiling work:

IMG_2127.jpgIMG_2140.jpg

My timeline is quite stretched cos no hurry to move so henry is also quite relaxed in finishing stuff. After hacking we took a week break cos I was still hunting for my aircon supplier and after that we took a while again to confirm our electrical works. So though we started in 14th Sep we have only done up to the tiling so far.

Supposed to meet Henry soon for his designs on carpentry these few days. Will update again. :)

Living Room Inspiration

I saw this gorgeous Teal color in many of the houses featured in Apartment Therapy. Fell in love with this sometime blue sometime green confused color! Prob will use it as the feature wall in my living room. Some inspirations from www.apartmenttherapy.com:

IMG_0261.jpg

IMG_0262.jpg

IMG_0267.jpg

Wow! Nice nice!

I luv such design concepts too!

Got most ideas from shows like Dress My Nest & My Celebrity Home!

The site is indeed very neat for renovation work... :)

So have you discuss with Henry the actual Handover date liao?

You may also want to clarify with Henry's on painting work...I was told the price he gave does not include base paint (Sealer or something)

How many feet is ur kitchen? Mine ard 34 ft with all the top cabinets combined..

I think my kitchen top bottom should be less than 30 ft. Not sure cos the quote was estimated based on 30 ft and Henry says my kitchen should be smaller than that. :wacko:

The site is indeed very neat for renovation work... :)

So have you discuss with Henry the actual Handover date liao?

You may also want to clarify with Henry's on painting work...I was told the price he gave does not include base paint (Sealer or something)

Hi Fellow Henner!

No leh.. never discuss leh.. better to discuss right? Will speak to htb tonight.

WAh?? Painting quote dun include all the materials to paint? I dunno this leh.. must verify.. let you know again..

Hi Fellow Henner!

No leh.. never discuss leh.. better to discuss right? Will speak to htb tonight.

WAh?? Painting quote dun include all the materials to paint? I dunno this leh.. must verify.. let you know again..

better to discuss the handover date...otherwise they will really take their time to do...

Hi Fellow Henner!

Paint will be provdied but no sealer (the undercoat layer)

Maybe can check with simon whether is true or not since his house completed liao...

Anyway if really don't include, I am Ok to buy 3 tin and get his painter to apply for me.

Let me know after you find out...thanks.

Thanks everyone for the comments. Actually I bought it in a spur of the moment. Been house hunting for about 1-2 months and seen so many HDB in Marine parade, bedok and Kembangan area.. then realised price all very very high, almost reach private apt liaos.. so went on to look at private apt around simei, tanah merah and Bedok area.. Dun dare to even think of Kembangan cos of their prices.

More of see see look look when I came about this unit and it is liked boomz (courtesy of Ris low). Just connect with this house. So bought it within a week.

When I sign the papers, I nearly got a heart attack when I saw the price the previous owner paid. He bought during Sars period and it was just under $500k!! Sigh.. dun care la.. like can liao. who cares what others say. Hor, Worldangel ;)

I think you overpaid ley... $630k seems high for a 2 bedroom old unit. But ok lah you already bought but do be patient in future hor. Sometimes house hunting can take years...

I know with almost the same amount you can get a brand new 3 bedroom unit in Ivory @ Joo Chiat, but that was in Mar 09 period. The bad thing though is it is just next to a Hotel8X A friend of mine bought The Trumps next to Kembangan mrt, 2 bedroom 900+ sq ft (but is 99 yrs leasehold) for about $660k in Apr 09. He recently just sold it off after living there for 3 months (moved in on 1 Jul 09 and has to move out by year end) and earn over $200k+ profit! wow...

Paint will be provdied but no sealer (the undercoat layer)

Maybe can check with simon whether is true or not since his house completed liao...

Anyway if really don't include, I am Ok to buy 3 tin and get his painter to apply for me.

Let me know after you find out...thanks.

Why need to have sealer ah?

I think you overpaid ley... $630k seems high for a 2 bedroom old unit. But ok lah you already bought but do be patient in future hor. Sometimes house hunting can take years...

I know with almost the same amount you can get a brand new 3 bedroom unit in Ivory @ Joo Chiat, but that was in Mar 09 period. The bad thing though is it is just next to a Hotel8X A friend of mine bought The Trumps next to Kembangan mrt, 2 bedroom 900+ sq ft (but is 99 yrs leasehold) for about $660k in Apr 09. He recently just sold it off after living there for 3 months (moved in on 1 Jul 09 and has to move out by year end) and earn over $200k+ profit! wow...

I know The Trumps. oppo my house only. WAh.. can fetch so high price ah.. my house also same size (958sq ft) and I bought same time as your friend in Apr 09 at $630k. I know the last transacted price for my house size is at $715k. Was asking my Htb if we should sell! hehe.. confirm make money too.. but we bought it to stay so the price flunctuation does not really affect us so much. Thanks for the advice anyway! Though I have to say if I have waited I will never be able to buy any house now! And be in time for my wedding next year. So sometime it is fate also la.. But if buy for investment I think I will really wait out for opportunity. :)

Tiling done. Aircon up. Now doing painting. And after that, the most grueling part of reno - carpentry. We have yet to confirm what we want - design, color, etc..

I thought reno was quite a breeze until the carpentry starts. This is where the slightest measurement makes a big difference, slightest misalignment makes a design work doable or not. **** stress loh.. :unsure: Me and htb both very chin chai one.. so end up we keep changing our decisions whenever the carpenter says can or cannot do.

We have a 6ft storage cabinet at our dining room cos no storeroom. Initially wanted 9ft but carpenter says our space will be greatly compromised cos the cabinet will look HUGE. So cut down.. to 6 ft. bUt where will my shoes go!!!!???

Ask you guys for opinion ah.. is it gross to have the shoe cabinet close to dining room? But of cos the shoes willbe in their boxes and in the cabinet so I suppose wun be smelly smelly la.. I am in such dilemma~~~~

Tiling done. Aircon up. Now doing painting. And after that, the most grueling part of reno - carpentry. We have yet to confirm what we want - design, color, etc..

I thought reno was quite a breeze until the carpentry starts. This is where the slightest measurement makes a big difference, slightest misalignment makes a design work doable or not. **** stress loh.. :unsure: Me and htb both very chin chai one.. so end up we keep changing our decisions whenever the carpenter says can or cannot do.

We have a 6ft storage cabinet at our dining room cos no storeroom. Initially wanted 9ft but carpenter says our space will be greatly compromised cos the cabinet will look HUGE. So cut down.. to 6 ft. bUt where will my shoes go!!!!???

Ask you guys for opinion ah.. is it gross to have the shoe cabinet close to dining room? But of cos the shoes willbe in their boxes and in the cabinet so I suppose wun be smelly smelly la.. I am in such dilemma~~~~

Hi Nirvana,

Maybe you can make your shoe cabinet next to your door (facing your rightmost wall) which can also act as a divider between the door and dining room. In this way, you will not be facing the shoe cabinet when you are having your meals. Then your storage cabinet can be on the wall next to your door, in this case will look like a L-shape from the top view. Just another option for you to consider.

May i know how much did Henry quote you for the cabinet in your dining room? If it's inconvenient to reveal, pls pm me. tks in advance.

Thought of doing that too. But scared the dining table will be too big so the chairs will be too close to the cabinet. But definitely one option we will consider once the furnitures are in.

6 ft storage cabinet in dining is at $650. I think it is a good price. :)