Vovo 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2009 hello sanpokchubby, welcome to renotalk! This is my virgin post, been lurking around for sometime already. Guess who am i. Hint: w*i*i Haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nirvana 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2009 (edited) the more i calcuate the budget, the nearer i getting to heart attack! Btw, any one have a list of amount spent on their new home? First-timer, so really have no idea how much certain items cost Yo, so qiao. I just did my post on budgeting for my reno. You can have a look here Summary: - Reno cost - Electrical works - Kitchen & toilet fittings - Furniture and appliances - Lightings - Aircon & ceiling fan - soft furnishing The price you discuss with Reno contractor and ID falls under Reno cost. The rest still need to budget. Edited September 22, 2009 by nirvana Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted September 23, 2009 Thanks Nirvana! Can send me a copy of your budget as reference. My email is eternity321@hotmail.com. Meanwhile, i did up a budget of my own. Can help me see if I overbudget or underbudget Renovation - $25,000 Electrical Appliances TV - $1500 Refrigerator - $1500 Cooker & Hob - $1500 Water Heater x 2 - $400 Ceiling Fan - $300 Lightings - $1000 Air-con - $1500 Misc - $500 TOTAL: $8,200 Furniture TV Console - $1000 Sofa (2 seater/L-shaped) - $800 Armchair - $200 Side Table - $150 Workstation (for PC) - $450 Dining Set - $500 Dressing Table - $300 Bedside Table - $200 STOLMEN from Ikea (for bags) - $200 Misc - $200 TOTAL: $4000 Toilet & Kitchen Fittings - $2000 Furnishings (curtains, cushions, etc) - $800 Others - $1000 TOTAL ESTIMATED DAMAGE: $41,000 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted September 23, 2009 hello sanpokchubby, welcome to renotalk! This is my virgin post, been lurking around for sometime already. Guess who am i. Hint: w*i*i Haha Are you my accomplice in underpaying ichiban for several plates of sushi last week? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted September 24, 2009 Hey all! I just received a quote for some of the carpentery works. Do advise if it is considered expesive Supply & install sliding-door wardrobe with laminated finish (1900mm x full height) - $1460 Supply & install L-shaped top & bottom kitchen cabinet (Top: 3500mm, Bottom: 4850mm) - $3340 Supply & install solid surface top for L-shaped kitchen cabinet (L: 16ft) - $1616 Supply & construct L-shaped cement based for L-shaped kitchen cabinet - $380 Supply & construct cement based for washing machine and fridge area - $180 Supply & run piping for kitchen sink (sink & tap supply by owner) - $300 Actually i wanted to ask reno price for whole house one lah but coz we communicate by phone (this company is recommended by a client), so they only quote this first. But I want to gauge if they consider ex or not lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Vovo 0 Report post Posted September 25, 2009 Are you my accomplice in underpaying ichiban for several plates of sushi last week? wah... you are so smart! Getting free sushi was not my plan. i think either they were dying for us to leave so that they could knock or they got charmed by us! which ID did you approach for the quotation? or you can wait for the expo fair, usually got better packages. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nolit 0 Report post Posted September 26, 2009 can try .... but usually i meet him at his shop will pm u his contact shortly can pm me your contractor contact details too? thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted September 26, 2009 wah... you are so smart! Getting free sushi was not my plan. i think either they were dying for us to leave so that they could knock or they got charmed by us! which ID did you approach for the quotation? or you can wait for the expo fair, usually got better packages. I think we are too charming lah. So far i talked to - * - Weiken (initial quote obtained) - Boon Siew (initial quote obtained) - Innovation Workshop (above carpentry quote is from them. My client recommended them, said that they are quite systematic and won't 乱乱来.) I also emailed - Henry from I.D Note (recommended by Supersimon27) - Jason from U&B (recommended by many forumers) waiting for their replies. The most comphrehensive quote so far that includes almost all the items I want is $27,520 (include GST). So ex leh! Dunno can do within $20,000 or not..sigh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted September 26, 2009 Hi guys Would like to check something. One of the ID give me a range of prices for the various electrical works. I would like to know if any of the following can be either - DIY, or - the supplier you bought it for can install for free, or - definately must be done by their electrician I also dunno what some of it means. Hope someone can advise me! Here goes the the list 13 amp single outlet ppt 13 amp double outlet ppt 15 amp ppt (for aircon) 20 amp ppt (isolator) <-- (what is this?) Lighting point Fan point Door bell point 2 way switch Dimmer switch Tel point SCV point Heater point Hood point with heater switch <-- (what is this?) Hob point with heater switch <-- (what is this?) Install PLC/Ceiling light Install pendant hang light Install ceiling fan Changing of distribution board <-- (what is this?) Earth point (1 way) <-- (what is this?) THANKS IN ADVANCE! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted September 27, 2009 can pm me your contractor contact details too? thanks! Pm send Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted September 27, 2009 Hi Pinklady and Supersimon I have contacted both Mr Namaan Loh and Henry and emailed them my requirements. Hopefully, will be cheaper than the quote that i just gotten. Will keep updating ! Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
y23house 0 Report post Posted September 28, 2009 Hi all, Greetings from the y2.3 house, thanks to all for the nice comments. Yes, the y2.3 house is a new company, a new interior design venture powered by veteran design firms yi-e Space and Y2: Space. the y2.3 house was formed with the vision to make design an affordable luxury. Hope our pictures can inspire all of you in your design ventures. Have fun with doing up your house, Chubby! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rapister 0 Report post Posted September 28, 2009 (edited) hmmmm so weird man dunno how much to spend still dare to buy hdb omg Edited September 28, 2009 by rapister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2009 Hey all Went to my future home today and took some photos! This is the view from living room. One ugly pillar in between living and dining room, for feng shui reasons I think. Unhackable beam beisde pillar... View to kitchen Neighbour plants right outside living room window But nice view though (a bit blur..keke) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sanpokchubby 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2009 Been so caught up with work that haven't had time to update! 01/12/09 - Got my keys on 1 Dec 09 07/12/09 - Confirmed contractor, IDS Interior Furnishing Pte Ltd (recommended by my client) (1st payment of $2000) 11/12/09 - Select tiles 14/12/09 - Start hacking 18/12/09 - Hacking completed and tiles delivered (2nd payment of $9000) Items purchased so far Gain City 17/12/09 - Panasonic System 2 unit with piping & stainless steel bracket (Model: CU-2C18EKH) Kong Tai Electrical Trading 18/12/09 - Super gd price! - Mitsubishi Fridge (Model: MR-F42U Gold) - Electrolux Washer (Model: EWF8576) - Turbo Gas Stove (Model: 703VTSC LPG Black) - Turbo Cooker Hood (Model: TC2-90SS) - Panasonic 37" LCD TV (Model: TH-L37X10) - 707 Water Heater (Model: Compact) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites