tuababy 0 Report post Posted October 5, 2009 Wah tua eh Can help me pass it to BBtBB ? dinner at your place tonite, main dish is pig head curry hahahaha oh remember to jio elane and New along leh the head too big dun think we can finish hahahaha Eat at your place more appropriate cos it's a 2-storey coffee shop! Got better ambience and feel! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 5, 2009 Eat at your place more appropriate cos it's a 2-storey coffee shop! Got better ambience and feel! But mine not ready yet leh My 1st appt is this thur leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 Just checked with Citygas and was informed that my block is not equipped with government pipe gas therefore was contemplating to install induction hob instead. Firstly I never like the idea of having a tank of gas in my kitchen and secondly I would have to waste my cabinet space to store that tank below my hob. As I have never use induction hob b4 I was wondering if anyone of the expert here use it b4 and could kindly let me know the pro and cons of installing induction hob ? Thank in advance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 if u or family like zi char kind of cooking i think induction may not suitable cos cannot control fire. but if u are like me a hopeless cook and dun care what fire should be able to get by. ha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 if u or family like zi char kind of cooking i think induction may not suitable cos cannot control fire. but if u are like me a hopeless cook and dun care what fire should be able to get by. ha! Actually thats what i told my mum too since i scare they might not get used to it le moreover they're the one who will used the hob more often le so you using induction hob at home or gas de ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chip&dale 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 Actually thats what i told my mum too since i scare they might not get used to it le moreover they're the one who will used the hob more often le so you using induction hob at home or gas de ? my mum's place uses induction hob.. hmm.. wind blows.. flame gone... so everytime must close window then can cook in peace.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 Actually thats what i told my mum too since i scare they might not get used to it le moreover they're the one who will used the hob more often le so you using induction hob at home or gas de ? me still use gas de. cos preparing in case got good cook decide to perform at my place mah hahahha. my mum's place uses induction hob.. hmm.. wind blows.. flame gone... so everytime must close window then can cook in peace.. chip&dale now got those internal flame de, wind blow flame won't go off one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chip&dale 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 chip&dale now got those internal flame de, wind blow flame won't go off one maybe hers is the old type one bah.. =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 ehhh weird... induction hob should not have flame de mah. no? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 Actually thats what i told my mum too since i scare they might not get used to it le moreover they're the one who will used the hob more often le so you using induction hob at home or gas de ? Good Morning, Kopi We used induction for 2yrs before switching back to cylinder. To be frank, I also cant get use to induction cooker. The pan heats up very fast according to the heat that you set, unlike the old school cooking where the pan will slowly heat up. So the food get burned pretty easily. You might want to buy a portable induction cooker for your mum to try now. Think around 40ish.. can be use for steamboat at your dining table in future. Hee.. Another thing about induction is.. you might have to change all your pot and pans because induction is using electricity to produce the heat, so the pot base is actually magnetic. You can bring a small magnet to test when you buy the pots but usually there is the induction logo imprint at the underside of the pot. By the way, there is totally no flame when using induction. Because the heat is by electricity. You can even touch the hob while cooking cause the heat would only be transfer on the pot. Some people will put a layer of newpapers on the cooker while cooking so that any spills will be on the paper which can be discard after cooking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 ehhh weird... induction hob should not have flame de mah. no? Ya ya ya actually i also confused leh Induction hob is using electromagnetic wave to cook leh no flame and will only activate when it detect metal contact so cool to touch de Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 6, 2009 Good Morning, Kopi We used induction for 2yrs before switching back to cylinder. To be frank, I also cant get use to induction cooker. The pan heats up very fast according to the heat that you set, unlike the old school cooking where the pan will slowly heat up. So the food get burned pretty easily. You might want to buy a portable induction cooker for your mum to try now. Think around 40ish.. can be use for steamboat at your dining table in future. Hee.. Another thing about induction is.. you might have to change all your pot and pans because induction is using electricity to produce the heat, so the pot base is actually magnetic. You can bring a small magnet to test when you buy the pots but usually there is the induction logo imprint at the underside of the pot. By the way, there is totally no flame when using induction. Because the heat is by electricity. You can even touch the hob while cooking cause the heat would only be transfer on the pot. Some people will put a layer of newpapers on the cooker while cooking so that any spills will be on the paper which can be discard after cooking. Good morning Rasp Thanks for the explanation. So it means induction hob no good ? Wah like that means my pocket hole is getting bigger and bigger liao Btw is induction hob more expensive as compared convention hob ? But I still do not like the idea of wasting my cabinet space to place a cylinder. Sigh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 Good morning Rasp Thanks for the explanation. So it means induction hob no good ? Wah like that means my pocket hole is getting bigger and bigger liao Btw is induction hob more expensive as compared convention hob ? But I still do not like the idea of wasting my cabinet space to place a cylinder. Sigh I think it depends on individuals' preference. For me, Induction hob is good cause its easy to clean, look sleeker, nicer and make me feel better without the cylinder. The downside of Induction for me is, it heats up very fast and burns the food. I still cant really get use to it, even after 2yr of trying. Pricing wise, it depends on which brand you are looking at. Previously, we wanted to go for brandt or Ariston for the induction hob so their prices are higher compared to most convention ones. Hence, when we decide to change back to cylinder, I got quite some budget when picking convention one. The pots/pans for induction is actually not cheap. You might want to check out your current pots if they can be recycled, otherwise changing the whole set might be quite an amount also. Hee.. I also don't like to waste my cabinet space. Too bad, we didnt have govt. gas piping. By the way, its also my first time trying out cylinder gas, not sure if I can get use to it cause haven't move back yet. Same like you, I also scare scare about tank explosive etc... hee.. watched too much show. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 I think it depends on individuals' preference. For me, Induction hob is good cause its easy to clean, look sleeker, nicer and make me feel better without the cylinder. The downside of Induction for me is, it heats up very fast and burns the food. I still cant really get use to it, even after 2yr of trying. Pricing wise, it depends on which brand you are looking at. Previously, we wanted to go for brandt or Ariston for the induction hob so their prices are higher compared to most convention ones. Hence, when we decide to change back to cylinder, I got quite some budget when picking convention one. The pots/pans for induction is actually not cheap. You might want to check out your current pots if they can be recycled, otherwise changing the whole set might be quite an amount also. Hee.. I also don't like to waste my cabinet space. Too bad, we didnt have govt. gas piping. By the way, its also my first time trying out cylinder gas, not sure if I can get use to it cause haven't move back yet. Same like you, I also scare scare about tank explosive etc... hee.. watched too much show. Ya ya ya was impressed by the sleek look and the easy maintenance part actually the last time i use cylinder gas hor, it was like at least 15 yrs ago leh so seriously do not like the idea of ordering gas cylinder and wastage of space hehehehe hmm.....i saw the electrolux induction hob and was impressed by the sleekness..... aiya seriously dunno which one to get liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 (edited) I also use cylinder gas. Went through this thought process too, and sometimes still wish to have that extra cabinet space for my stuff (my baking stuff is slowly but surely increasing!!). But the bright side of this is that you'll save $$ on the electricity. Overall, using cylinder gas is cheaper. Both got good and bad lar. It's just more to your preference. Get the one who use the kitchen more to decide. Edited October 7, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites