coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 oh...budgeted then ok lah!at least ur budget not burst yet. kopi.when u going to install open net? I wil lbe installing this sat! I've called them and was informed that my block installation date has passed so I will give it a miss. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Huh!?u cant ask them to install for u meh?quote that u are the new owner..just in case u need it in the future u need to pay for it lei! They told me that my installation date for my block has passed so even if i request now, i would have to pay. Anyway sort of expected it since garhmen related stuff are forever so inflexible, ppl working there can nvr think out of the box. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 They told me that my installation date for my block has passed so even if i request now, i would have to pay. Anyway sort of expected it since garhmen related stuff are forever so inflexible, ppl working there can nvr think out of the box. Can get service providers (eg. starhub, singtel) to install in the future if necessary. But I really think must have open net la, if not, I think most likely gdbye to mio tv or SCV cable channels liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Can get service providers (eg. starhub, singtel) to install in the future if necessary. But I really think must have open net la, if not, I think most likely gdbye to mio tv or SCV cable channels liao. Seriously sick and tired of the "service" provider here. Just take the upcoming world cup for example, increase the price more than 6 times as compared to 4 years ago and still got the cheek to tell us that it only cost slightly more than a cup of coffee. So can I pay them the price of "slightly more than a cup of coffee" for the matches that I've watched only ? :rolleyes: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 (edited) ya..when they are phase out then cant use liao! i headache!!donno where to install the box!!!currently my SCV and switch is hidden inside the TV console de!!!! For sure if they going to run in the existing cable trunking,then i need to repaint liao!!!! actually i'm quite skeptical of the date they will roll out the fibre and the cost of the subscription too. I seriously do not believe they will be able to roll out the open net within the coming 5 yrs. Just look at how long it takes the green pipe to change the set top box from the analog to digital. Dun be surprised that some household are still using the vintage analog box now. Moreover so what if the fibre is fast when the backbone is still share among the whole HDB block ? it will ultimately be the same lousy bandwidth with higher subscription fees nia :rolleyes: actually i prefer they improve the speed of mobile broadband so that we can have network connectivity whenever we go and do away with wired network at home. Edited May 12, 2010 by coffee_o Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 there are always sources to a cheaper way to watch the world cup!haha.. I know i already found alternative ways liao shhh..... LOL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 They told me that my installation date for my block has passed so even if i request now, i would have to pay. Anyway sort of expected it since garhmen related stuff are forever so inflexible, ppl working there can nvr think out of the box. i think my seller also missed the installation period... most likely i will encounter the same problem as you~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 i think my seller also missed the installation period... most likely i will encounter the same problem as you~ Eh even if the seller missed the installation period, your block might still be within the installation date, so no harm trying to call and ask them Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 there are always sources to a cheaper way to watch the world cup!haha.. got gd lobang must share share hor cos i am not subscribing to any of the 2 providers to watch WC too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 I know i already found alternative ways liao shhh..... LOL bro, pm me your lobang leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 not so open lah! yala, pm me leh if you have gd lobang... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 got gd lobang must share share hor cos i am not subscribing to any of the 2 providers to watch WC too. bro, pm me your lobang leh... not so open lah! yala, pm me leh if you have gd lobang... Ya la cannot be so open else lobang piza then all of us unable to watch world cup FOC liao LOL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 BROS! MUST let me know how to WATCH free world cup matches other than through RTM, Indonesia channels. Heehee. Thanks hor! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Eh even if the seller missed the installation period, your block might still be within the installation date, so no harm trying to call and ask them Thanks.. yea i think i will call them up and try my luck when was your installation period supposed to be? Just did a quick check on opennet website: My block: Dec 2009 to Feb 2010 The block on my right : Mar 2010 to Jun 2010 The block on my left : after 2012 They have very strange schedules... these blocks are just right next to each other Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 kopi,wonder ur lobang and mine the same not,haha Eh not sure leh I will be using the net to watch lor hehehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites