gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 ok lah.. i already have 2 down lights over my dining area. about 1m from the light to the kitchen wall. should be able to illuminate that area. more lights = more $$. maybe your ID can deliver faster. 2 downlight should be sufficient. But because i intend to do my work at the dining table very often, so a hanging light may be more appropriate... I certainly hope so... once my partion wall is up and painting done... then only i can bring in my bedroom laminate flooring and grills theni can see light at the end of the tunnel. Having the kitchen cabinet is a bonus to me now. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
seashell 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 New windows are up. Plastering to start next week. hi u got very nice views there!! is it on quite high floor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2010 hi u got very nice views there!! is it on quite high floor? thanks.. yah provided they dun build something in the open patch in front. i'm staying on the 2nd highest floor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 11, 2010 Actually the 1-2 inches lower portion area u can convert it to cove lighting. I thoughy thru a few possibilities to make it less ugly. My Contractor (i shall stop labelling him as a DESIGNER) but decide to give it a miss. Maybe paint that area using a different colour, so it becomes a feature wall alike. aybe it helps. If wat u say is true, then confirmi have to move in without a kitchen cabinet in my house liao.... :-S do what i do, buy bottom kitchen cabinets from ikea, rest source from outside usually pipes run above (near ceiling) so custom made top cabinets will make more sense. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 (edited) today supposed to be air con installation by gain city. appt was 930 and they only came at 12pm and still installation cannot be done today. postponed till tomorrow. so pissed off. they did not call me to inform me that they will be later. i called them 3 times and no one followed up till the 3rd call. really disappointed and just sent them a complain email. hope tomorrow will be less drama. Edited January 12, 2010 by alamak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 today supposed to be air con installation by gain city. appt was 930 and they only came at 12pm and still installation cannot be done today. postponed till tomorrow. so pissed off. they did not call me to inform me that they will be later. i called them 3 times and no one followed up till the 3rd call. really disappointed and just sent them a complain email. hope tomorrow will be less drama. wah so bad ah, i thought mine was bad already i arranged 12noon, they called me the day before say come at 1pm, i ask them 12.30 come the day itself, 12.30 they haven't come, i call them say 1.30 i need to go already they came at 1.30, discuss with me till 2pm, then i left already when i came back at 6pm, they were almost done with the trunking, finished at about 6.30pm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 do what i do, buy bottom kitchen cabinets from ikea, rest source from outside usually pipes run above (near ceiling) so custom made top cabinets will make more sense. Cannot take the item out of the contract now... anyway i just checked, the carpentry work already started. But Ikea kitchen cabinet not exactly cheap also right? I remembered cos i did a comparison... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 today supposed to be air con installation by gain city. appt was 930 and they only came at 12pm and still installation cannot be done today. postponed till tomorrow. so pissed off. they did not call me to inform me that they will be later. i called them 3 times and no one followed up till the 3rd call. really disappointed and just sent them a complain email. hope tomorrow will be less drama. Tomorrow is my aircon installation. Just now noon time a lady called me to confirm the time again. I hope mine is not as drama as yours, coz i already drama once liao.... :-S Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 wah so bad ah, i thought mine was bad already i arranged 12noon, they called me the day before say come at 1pm, i ask them 12.30 come the day itself, 12.30 they haven't come, i call them say 1.30 i need to go already they came at 1.30, discuss with me till 2pm, then i left already when i came back at 6pm, they were almost done with the trunking, finished at about 6.30pm your's still not too bad compared to mine. Tomorrow is my aircon installation. Just now noon time a lady called me to confirm the time again. I hope mine is not as drama as yours, coz i already drama once liao.... :-S good luck. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 wah so bad ah, i thought mine was bad already i arranged 12noon, they called me the day before say come at 1pm, i ask them 12.30 come the day itself, 12.30 they haven't come, i call them say 1.30 i need to go already they came at 1.30, discuss with me till 2pm, then i left already when i came back at 6pm, they were almost done with the trunking, finished at about 6.30pm Bro, Which wall did you mount the aircon for master bedroom? During first visit by gain city, the technician say so much until i dun quite understand but they proposed a trunking route that penetrates into my storeroom from guest room then out to the other side to master bedroom. Not quite comfortable coz they are damaging my plastered wall.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 (edited) Bro, Which wall did you mount the aircon for master bedroom? During first visit by gain city, the technician say so much until i dun quite understand but they proposed a trunking route that penetrates into my storeroom from guest room then out to the other side to master bedroom. Not quite comfortable coz they are damaging my plastered wall.. all your walls are plastered right? so no matter where u hack will also damage the plastered wall. u can ask your contractor to help you patch back before you start your painting. i assume painting has not started. Edited January 12, 2010 by alamak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CJREDDEVIL 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 Day 34. Tiling all done. False ceiling all done. living room door steps new rubbish chute mbr, wiw and storeroom kitchen Electrical partially done. Meeting carpenter tomorrow. Aircon, painting and plumbing next week. Hopefully our doors will come too followed by our new gate and window grilles. Lastly the room laminate flooring and wardrobe. 3 more weeks to the end of the month and HO date. Hope everything can go on smoothly. hey alamak, stoping by at your RT blog... ..reno progress looking smooth n good yeh !!!.....awaiting for you full tranformation. cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 hey alamak, stoping by at your RT blog... ..reno progress looking smooth n good yeh !!!.....awaiting for you full tranformation. cheers! hey thanks thanks. me too!! been really busy these couple of weeks with the reno and my upcoming rom. can't wait for the reno to complete and then settle in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2010 all your walls are plastered right? so no matter where u hack will also damage the plastered wall. u can ask your contractor to help you patch back before you start your painting. i assume painting has not started. Actually if the trunking is to go via above the bedroom doorway (from guest room, pass the recessed area in fron of the storeroom to master room), no hacking of walls are needed... Notsure if u can catch what i say cos yr unit is slightly different from mine, yours is corner right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 13, 2010 (edited) Cannot take the item out of the contract now... anyway i just checked, the carpentry work already started. But Ikea kitchen cabinet not exactly cheap also right? I remembered cos i did a comparison... ikea cabinets are not cheap if you buy drawers. if you buy shelves and cheap door, sure very cheap for me, i want all drawers, so all my kitchen have drawers. ikea uses blum sliding tracks, very good but the worktop is very cheap, only $55 for my 126cm worktop (about 4ft). cheap means that replacement will not have heart pain. my double bowl sink costs about $500. The 12ft bottom cabinets +worktop cost about $1300 in total. Total bill for 12ft bottom kitchen cabinets+worktop inclusive of 80cm double bowl sink costs $1828. All cabinets have drawers except for sink cabinet. If you consider cabinets alone, it's about $100pfr. Worktop is about $14 pfr. Very cheap, imho Bro, Which wall did you mount the aircon for master bedroom? During first visit by gain city, the technician say so much until i dun quite understand but they proposed a trunking route that penetrates into my storeroom from guest room then out to the other side to master bedroom. Not quite comfortable coz they are damaging my plastered wall.. I mount my MBR aircon on the beam that is above the door, 60cm away from the wall that will be my wardrobe area, the wall between bedroom 1 and bedroom 2. When my aircon people drill hole into my walls, i asked them to use the plaster powder to patch the hole back. Make sure they don't seal the hole with silicone as it will change colour over time. I still have quite a bit of plaster powder left over for future works like patching the hole in my wall due to change of plumbing inlet. For my house, the aircon people only drilled a hole in the top corner part of my wall between bedroom 1 and bedroom 2, see the following pictures. Picture taken from bedroom 2 Closeup Picture taken from inside MBR Edited January 13, 2010 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites