alamak 0 Report post Posted December 24, 2009 (edited) reno moving along slowly cos only 2 person in charge of the wet works. plastering almost done. no more 'bricks' on the wall. new kitchen wall erected. our 'common' common toilet wall tiles done. actually there's some design on the tiles but not visible with the flash on. MBR toilet wall partially done minus feature wall. meeting the electrician tomorrow to talk about the wiring. Edited December 24, 2009 by alamak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 24, 2009 me also following your blog closely. the area underneath the false ceiling will be lighted up by the down lights, i think should be ok. initially wanted to do a L-shaped so that above the dining table will have a whole stretch of false ceiling wall-to-wall but have to top up even more. so KIV. looking for something practical, lower cost and yet will not look too shabby. I am also asking my contractor to give me a quotation for the wall-to-wall false ceiling for dining area... before start work *sweat*. If dun do false ceiling for dining area, then another alternative will be to have the L-box extended all the way to cover the dining area also, so visually u get a very long.... living+dining area. But the old doorway ceiling beam will be there, very ugly.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted December 24, 2009 Wishing everyone a Merry Xmas and Happy Holidays!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 (edited) Day 34. Tiling all done. False ceiling all done. living room door steps new rubbish chute mbr, wiw and storeroom kitchen Electrical partially done. Meeting carpenter tomorrow. Aircon, painting and plumbing next week. Hopefully our doors will come too followed by our new gate and window grilles. Lastly the room laminate flooring and wardrobe. 3 more weeks to the end of the month and HO date. Hope everything can go on smoothly. Edited January 9, 2010 by alamak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ninja3101 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 Electrical partially done. Meeting carpenter tomorrow. Aircon, painting and plumbing next week. Hopefully our doors will come too followed by our new gate and window grilles. Lastly the room laminate flooring and wardrobe. 3 more weeks to the end of the month and HO date. Hope everything can go on smoothly. Hi alamak How much did your ID charge you for the new gate ? What type of bedroom doors will you be using ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 Hi alamak How much did your ID charge you for the new gate ? What type of bedroom doors will you be using ? i did not get the gate from my contractor, i got it from my window guy. price is $400 upwards depending on design. i am using solid classic for my bedroom doors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ninja3101 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 i did not get the gate from my contractor, i got it from my window guy. price is $400 upwards depending on design. i am using solid classic for my bedroom doors. My contractor charge me $460 for the gate, so his company will earn so $ and outsource the gate to those window's contractor. My bedroom door cost $310 for veneer door. U r smarter to get another contractor to do the windows and gate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted January 9, 2010 hi alamak, i think my reno will finish earlier than yours your contractor slacking ah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 hi alamak, i think my reno will finish earlier than yours your contractor slacking ah haha.. ok lah. I gave him a time line. if he can HO on the 31st Jan, I am ok. Hope to see your finished pics soon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 haha.. ok lah. I gave him a time line. if he can HO on the 31st Jan, I am ok. Hope to see your finished pics soon. Alamak, your work is moving even faster than mine. My contractor says most of his workers are held up at the IR jobsite. Haiz.... My intended HO is mid Jan. Nowi think cannot already. Maybe have to move infirst then the do my carpentry work. I am thinking worst case scenario, got lights got water i can stay liao. So you did your false ceiling for dining afterall... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 Alamak, your work is moving even faster than mine. My contractor says most of his workers are held up at the IR jobsite. Haiz.... My intended HO is mid Jan. Nowi think cannot already. Maybe have to move infirst then the do my carpentry work. I am thinking worst case scenario, got lights got water i can stay liao. So you did your false ceiling for dining afterall... my main worry is carpentry now, only took measurements today. if 2 weeks to make the cabinets, then i only have the last week of Jan to install it. Very tight for me also. The rest of the job should be ok. Keeping my fingers crossed and try to push my contractor as much as i can. So far, he has been quite ok. Hope your's will be on time also. Yah in the end did false ceiling from wall to wall. The kitchen ceiling which now joined the living ceiling, I just did a false ceiling to make it level with the living room false ceiling. That area now is too shallow to put any lights, aesthetic purpose only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 my main worry is carpentry now, only took measurements today. if 2 weeks to make the cabinets, then i only have the last week of Jan to install it. Very tight for me also. The rest of the job should be ok. Keeping my fingers crossed and try to push my contractor as much as i can. So far, he has been quite ok. Hope your's will be on time also. Yah in the end did false ceiling from wall to wall. The kitchen ceiling which now joined the living ceiling, I just did a false ceiling to make it level with the living room false ceiling. That area now is too shallow to put any lights, aesthetic purpose only. Too shallow to even put downlights? Did u take the measurement from floor to ceiling? I opt not to do the false ceiling cos i think it is money not well spent (~$400). No false ceiling = no downlights. So i decide to put a hanging light on top of the dining table only... so next time cannot shift my dining table (if i really need to). Why would cabinet take 2 weeks to complete? So long mah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 Too shallow to even put downlights? Did u take the measurement from floor to ceiling? I opt not to do the false ceiling cos i think it is money not well spent (~$400). No false ceiling = no downlights. So i decide to put a hanging light on top of the dining table only... so next time cannot shift my dining table (if i really need to). Why would cabinet take 2 weeks to complete? So long mah? yah... cos the original living room ceiling with the false ceiling is only about 1-2 inches lower than the kitchen ceiling. So the false ceiling over the kitchen ceiling is only to flush the ceiling to make it look even. height is about 2.4m so should be ok. agree is extra money spent but i dun want to regret not doing lor. well, now everyone will say year end rushing for CNY. 2 weeks is a conservative estimate, hopefully they can rush it out for me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 yah... cos the original living room ceiling with the false ceiling is only about 1-2 inches lower than the kitchen ceiling. So the false ceiling over the kitchen ceiling is only to flush the ceiling to make it look even. height is about 2.4m so should be ok. agree is extra money spent but i dun want to regret not doing lor. well, now everyone will say year end rushing for CNY. 2 weeks is a conservative estimate, hopefully they can rush it out for me. Actually the 1-2 inches lower portion area u can convert it to cove lighting. I thoughy thru a few possibilities to make it less ugly. My Contractor (i shall stop labelling him as a DESIGNER) but decide to give it a miss. Maybe paint that area using a different colour, so it becomes a feature wall alike. aybe it helps. If wat u say is true, then confirmi have to move in without a kitchen cabinet in my house liao.... :-S Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2010 Actually the 1-2 inches lower portion area u can convert it to cove lighting. I thoughy thru a few possibilities to make it less ugly. My Contractor (i shall stop labelling him as a DESIGNER) but decide to give it a miss. Maybe paint that area using a different colour, so it becomes a feature wall alike. aybe it helps. If wat u say is true, then confirmi have to move in without a kitchen cabinet in my house liao.... :-S ok lah.. i already have 2 down lights over my dining area. about 1m from the light to the kitchen wall. should be able to illuminate that area. more lights = more $$. maybe your ID can deliver faster. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites