alamak

Finally... Our Home

Hi alamak,

Missing out a lot on yr blog. Congrats on work commencement!

Yr bedrooms already got laminated flooring left by prev owner?

I was quoted about $180 for bedroom door frame, maybe u can gauge from here for your main entrance door frame.

For the price of main door, i remembered it is around $550, solid naytoh solid door.

For your reference :) Let me know if i am being 'chop-carrot' ok?

Hi alamak,

Missing out a lot on yr blog. Congrats on work commencement!

Yr bedrooms already got laminated flooring left by prev owner?

I was quoted about $180 for bedroom door frame, maybe u can gauge from here for your main entrance door frame.

For the price of main door, i remembered it is around $550, solid naytoh solid door.

For your reference :) Let me know if i am being 'chop-carrot' ok?

hi, thanks thanks.

no lah, those are not laminates. the previous owner just bought vinyl sheets to cover the original hdb cement flooring. 30 years liao. :D going to remove those sheets and overlay with kronotex laminates.

thanks for the pricing. my contractor quoted me $300 for the main door frame as it's thicker and $580 for solid veneer main door. i think should be ok. :)

now headache over changing windows and grille. more and more things to change.

Edited by alamak

hi, thanks thanks.

no lah, those are not laminates. the previous owner just bought vinyl sheets to cover the original hdb cement flooring. 30 years liao. :D going to remove those sheets and overlay with kronotex laminates.

thanks for the pricing. my contractor quoted me $300 for the main door frame as it's thicker and $580 for solid veneer main door. i think should be ok. :)

now headache over changing windows and grille. more and more things to change.

If you have budget constraint:

If the frames are still ok: then dun change it lo... but the main door must change la (at least for me) cos my flat like yours, nearly 30 years, the main door is still the original one from HDB 30 years ago.

I am also thinking whether to change to windows and grill a not because it cost over $2k to change all. Exisiting condition still quite good, just that i dun like the colour :rolleyes:

If you have budget constraint:

If the frames are still ok: then dun change it lo... but the main door must change la (at least for me) cos my flat like yours, nearly 30 years, the main door is still the original one from HDB 30 years ago.

I am also thinking whether to change to windows and grill a not because it cost over $2k to change all. Exisiting condition still quite good, just that i dun like the colour :rolleyes:

main door frame in quite bad condition cos 30 years liao. main door still acceptable but if change door frame, might as well change the door.

i just got a quotation from a direct contractor for replacing my house's windows, grille and toilet windows. silver colored double hollow grille, sliding window with blue tinted glass will set me back $1.8k. headache.

Edited by alamak

change our 1 1/2 bowl kitchen sink to this single bowl granite sink today. nv used granite sink before, don't know good anot. :D

sink.jpg

also confirmed our windows contractor but can only change the windows next Friday. Dunno will delay my reno anot.

Edited by alamak

main door frame in quite bad condition cos 30 years liao. main door still acceptable but if change door frame, might as well change the door.

i just got a quotation from a direct contractor for replacing my house's windows, grille and toilet windows. silver colored double hollow grille, sliding window with blue tinted glass will set me back $1.8k. headache.

Hi Alamak,

Can PM me yr window contractor contacts. i wanna give a try to call them for a quote. Thanks.

change our 1 1/2 bowl kitchen sink to this single bowl granite sink today. nv used granite sink before, don't know good anot. :D

sink.jpg

also confirmed our windows contractor but can only change the windows next Friday. Dunno will delay my reno anot.

Single bowl is good! Big and deep, wash wok also easy :-)

Edited by gantan88

Single bowl is good! Big and deep, wash wok also easy :-)

actually not that big, 600mm only. the max that I can allow w/o blocking the rubbish chute. :D

Hi Alamak,

Can PM me yr window contractor contacts. i wanna give a try to call them for a quote. Thanks.

PMed you.

Edited by alamak

actually not that big, 600mm only. the max that I can allow w/o blocking the rubbish chute. :D

PMed you.

Thanks Bro.

Where is your rubbish chute? Block?

Thanks Bro.

Where is your rubbish chute? Block?

np.

my sink area is at the rubbish chute area, i am not doing L-shape kitchen cabinet. therefore, if sink is too big, the piping will block the rubbish chute.

np.

my sink area is at the rubbish chute area, i am not doing L-shape kitchen cabinet. therefore, if sink is too big, the piping will block the rubbish chute.

Oh now i understand. I assume you are doing L-shape. Curious why aren't you doing L-shape? Then there will be nothing to block the chute...

dunno leh.. nv really tot of doing l-shape. maybe b'cos my parents and my wife's parents all doing sink above rubbish chute so naturally we din tot of doing it some other ways. also since our FS already confirmed, lazy to change also. :D

Ic... I used to stay in a 3 room last time and it is basin above sink too... so this time go for a change to do L shape... :)

but now rubbish chute exposed, do must be more particular abt cleanliness :D

sian, reno going to be delayed a few days due to our last min need to change the windows and the windows guy can only do it late next week. hopefully still can make it by the end Jan.

meeting one of the hdb recommended contractor for our spalling ceiling on monday. hope he can give me a fair price.

Edited by alamak