matchgirl 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2009 Hi Matchgirl, If your walls are pretty okay, then no need to plaster! you mean you got ask uncle to plaster? For me, several walls were hacked and rebuilt, and my flat was last plastered like 30 years ago, so i could not save on that and plastered the whole house! PLastering for the whole house can be done in less than 2 days. It all depends on HOW MANY people are assigned to your place! My plasterer assigned 5, so it took 2 days! I dun think he did water proofing for my kitchen!!! But doesnt matter cos i intend to keep my kitchen dry at all times! As for whether he did for you, you need to ask the tiler! now that the tiles are up, cant see liao!!!! If your walls are plastered, they will be VERY smooth and straight. If not, there will be some little old bumps. Why dun you take a pic and post online??! Trev Hi Trevor thanks for the info.. i went to my house today to check on my walls n i tink they did plaster it for me la..=DD my house is like 27 years le so my walls can still see the brick shapes when i bot it. so i dun tink i can stand tat if i stay in there.. as for the waterproofing, my hb said they put a thick layer of cement under my floor tiles. so i guess they did do smt ba but im not sure if tat is waterproofing... LOL.. hope ur house will be done soon too ya.. hope to see my pics..=D Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2009 Hi Trevor thanks for the info.. i went to my house today to check on my walls n i tink they did plaster it for me la..=DD my house is like 27 years le so my walls can still see the brick shapes when i bot it. so i dun tink i can stand tat if i stay in there.. as for the waterproofing, my hb said they put a thick layer of cement under my floor tiles. so i guess they did do smt ba but im not sure if tat is waterproofing... LOL.. hope ur house will be done soon too ya.. hope to see my pics..=D If waterproofing is done, u should receive a waterproofing report from your contractor/ID which is acknowledged/signed by your neighbours living below u that there is no water leaking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Chinchye 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2009 Dear Readers, There has been not much progress on my renovation and I am really pretty pissed off. It is D-Day tml and after that, seriously, uncle will have to face my wrath. Trust me, it is NOT pretty. As I await the inevitable, which I will explain to all, in due time. I hope to post pics next week (on a lighter note) Trev Hi Trevor, Cheer up.. hopefully everything works out fine for u.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Planfor2 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2009 Plan, you signed with uncle!?!? okay... you need a lot of blessings!!! Same here with the rest of us!!! Trev Sorry Trev... for e late reply. i signed with yeak. last week - hacking, this week - tiling work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 17, 2009 Hi Trevor thanks for the info.. i went to my house today to check on my walls n i tink they did plaster it for me la..=DD my house is like 27 years le so my walls can still see the brick shapes when i bot it. so i dun tink i can stand tat if i stay in there.. as for the waterproofing, my hb said they put a thick layer of cement under my floor tiles. so i guess they did do smt ba but im not sure if tat is waterproofing... LOL.. hope ur house will be done soon too ya.. hope to see my pics..=D cement is porous and water can go through. cement, no matter how thick, is not waterproofing. please don't be conned Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
happypie 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2009 hi trevor.. gosh, ur reno journey entails so much drama.. really on a emo roller-coaster even when i read it! hope ure able to get ur money back from uncle.. hang in there.. hope ur remaining reno journey will be smooth.. good luck! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2009 Sorry Trev... for e late reply. i signed with yeak. last week - hacking, this week - tiling work. ohhh another yeaker...set up a tblog and post pictures lei....how's the progress so far? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Planfor2 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2009 ohhh another yeaker...set up a tblog and post pictures lei....how's the progress so far? in the mid of shifting out from my old place to a rental place - everything in the mess. but i do take pic of my flat's daily progress. tblog.. i hv no time at this moment lar. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2009 in the mid of shifting out from my old place to a rental place - everything in the mess. but i do take pic of my flat's daily progress. tblog.. i hv no time at this moment lar. understand the mess....hopefully when things more settle, can post some photos.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted November 18, 2009 understand the mess....hopefully when things more settle, can post some photos.... PJ , I pm u yesterday , u bo reply me leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2009 PJ , I pm u yesterday , u bo reply me leh hehehe... paisei...i think I never see properly....go and see now.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matchgirl 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2009 cement is porous and water can go through. cement, no matter how thick, is not waterproofing. please don't be conned i tink they did do the waterproofing ba. if not it will not be approved by hdb de ba.. hahha.. but usually i will not splash whole bucket of water all over my kitchen. cos im too lazy to clean. LOL.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matchgirl 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2009 If waterproofing is done, u should receive a waterproofing report from your contractor/ID which is acknowledged/signed by your neighbours living below u that there is no water leaking. i dunno if they did ask the lower level neighbour to sign anything lei. but i doubt my neighbour noes i did my flooring ba. cos we didn hack all the way to their ceilings rite? LOL.. n my contractor didn pass me anything abt waterproofing.. hehe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted November 19, 2009 i also not at site when they are doing the water-proofing thingy!And i ask yeak about it and he said he usually do at least 2 times,sometimes 3 time to be double sure that it works.He don want any problem after handover...which is unfair to us. At least i got a gurantee from him. good to hear that....at least know that I'm safe too... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
seashell 0 Report post Posted November 30, 2009 trev, awaiting to see your bling bling house ok! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites