trevorcantona

The Bling Effect

I know this is rather out of topic, but rather than focus on all the negativity and pessimism, I have decided to post on what I have learnt and gained from this AH Soon saga :D

1. I have designed my whole house by MYSELF and the concepts are mostly mine.

2. I have learnt to look for many things and the many rulings that a house needs to adhere to.

3. Most invaluable i think, is that I now know roughly how much the services and materials cost, and thus the amount of profit that Ah Soon and other IDs make :D Perhaps even how much the subcons make!

4. I have learnt to be more patient (NOT necessarily for my students) when dealing with people.

5. I have learnt to put myself in others' shoes more often now.

6. I have learnt that while there are many people who are nice, caring and offer sincere advice and help, there are perhaps slightly less or the same number of people who are mean and are happily goading the victims.

7. I have learnt how to deal with money and learnt when to make payment.

8. I have made some friends, though there have been some unpleasant experiences, but mostly, it was positive. My most memorable moment was having durian in JB with Mr. Seashell :D

9. I have seen many loopholes in the HDB rulings, how the govt play superb taichi and how the rules all favours the banks!

10. I have learnt where to get the best deals and products for my house!

11. Last but not least i ENJOYED the whole renovation process. I know i sound insane (and probably the only one who has thoroughly enjoyed it) but I really do (you can ask my cousin seriously!!!)! I have enjoyed the entire shopping for the same theme but must be functional and reasonably priced household items, equipments, building materials etc.... I have also ENJOYED how I had to start reading many design magazines, websites and visit many interior companies to get ideas for my house.

This is the second house I have renovated, but seriously, it is the MOST enjoyable to date. There was drama, lessons learnt, frens made, money lost, lotsa knowledge gained.

These I would NEVER have gained from simply just employing an ID. I am thankful in a way that I have employed a contractor, cos in the future, I will never engage another ID or contractor. I will simply do ala carte and DIY from now on.

Trev :D

Just wan i tot i could add pictures, i was told by my permit guy that he would not help me get a permit if i did not hack one of my "illegal" walls.

As a result, though i am ONLY 6 days away from the day when Ah Wei will put up my carpentry work, I need to finish hacking that wall, "beautify" the surrounding tiles, and finish rectifying some of my floor tiles, and my door frame!

However, I am optimistic that I WILL get the look that I wan my house to have ==>> BLING + COLOURFUL!!!

hahahaha...

Anyway, i have told uncle to go fly kite at the Marina Barrage as he is useless and only create more problems when he 'runs' things for my house! Thus, all sooners, please get ready for the big bang, which should come next week! Already turned down 1 interview from newpaper!!!

And oh all who wanna join me for the "big Bang", do PM me!!!!

Trev

P/S: Will be away in KL for 4 days!!!

merry xmas my friend!

hope ur xmas is a wonderful one and your bling bling reno HO real soon!

Oops, sorry for this reply!!!

Never see hahaha...

Happy Chinese New Year to you!!! ;)

Hi all readers!!!

I am getting ready to move in liao, very busy so din really get to post pics!

Also, i dun like to post pics of half done places! I will rather post pics when more or less completed :D

I will thus be posting i think this coming weekend as I will move this coming sunday!

Will post places which are already ready liao first!!!! so keep a look out!!

Trev

Hi all readers!!!

I am getting ready to move in liao, very busy so din really get to post pics!

Also, i dun like to post pics of half done places! I will rather post pics when more or less completed :D

I will thus be posting i think this coming weekend as I will move this coming sunday!

Will post places which are already ready liao first!!!! so keep a look out!!

Trev

I will! But going on reservist liao. :P

very anxious to see @@ photos!!!!!!!!!!

the bling is fantastic... before enter house already very impressed with the main door...

haha...