trevorcantona

The Bling Effect

Hi Fini

According to the tilers, my place is to start plastering tml!!! Then next monday the tilers will return!!! Then my air con people will come in the following week!

Oh you better chase them to do so cos i heard uncle can drag at that stage!!

Heard from my tilers that they are going to some other place tml to start work!??! your place?!??!

U mus chase more!!!!

Trev

Yo Trev

gd 4 u ! next wk start tiling. :good: ... dun let up ... u continue chasing too..

ya lor ... draggin over at my side, spot on man u ,,,

wil lagi chase more now... :horse: giddy-uppppp.....

... supposed to b 2day clear debris.... 2moro tiles in but___________but

but went up stil see 1 kitchen wall not hacked & of course debris stil there

uh oh ....

2moro meet him dunno he MIA again or not... is he meetg u ?

when he meetg u ?.... mus track his where-abts

best of luck trev

dun let up

Yo Trev

gd 4 u ! next wk start tiling. :good: ... dun let up ... u continue chasing too..

ya lor ... draggin over at my side, spot on man u ,,,

wil lagi chase more now... :horse: giddy-uppppp.....

... supposed to b 2day clear debris.... 2moro tiles in but___________but

but went up stil see 1 kitchen wall not hacked & of course debris stil there

uh oh ....

2moro meet him dunno he MIA again or not... is he meetg u ?

when he meetg u ?.... mus track his where-abts

best of luck trev

dun let up

Yo Fini :rolleyes:

I predict that Uncle will clear debris next week!!! Tiles in end of week!!!

He is dragging my side too! He say plastering next week.... hmmm, so i reminded him air con person come the following week!!!

THe tilers have yet to complete my side too!! In fact today like you, NJD!!! So i chased him and i think will continue tml!!!

We mus both chase!!! So you got meet him!??!

Trev

Yo Fini :rolleyes:

I predict that Uncle will clear debris next week!!! Tiles in end of week!!!

He is dragging my side too! He say plastering next week.... hmmm, so i reminded him air con person come the following week!!!

THe tilers have yet to complete my side too!! In fact today like you, NJD!!! So i chased him and i think will continue tml!!!

We mus both chase!!! So you got meet him!??!

Trev

Yo Trev

met him... but stil stuck at hack ( 1 more panel) & dispose stage...

when is your plumbing (b4 wiring rt?) & wiring starting?

did he give u any sort of timeline? he kinda told me e timeline 4 my plc but am stil confused.. hazy

read somewher ... plumbing b4 tiling as tilers more skilful at accomodating ' holes'

u double check....

fini

Yo Trev

met him... but stil stuck at hack ( 1 more panel) & dispose stage...

when is your plumbing (b4 wiring rt?) & wiring starting?

did he give u any sort of timeline? he kinda told me e timeline 4 my plc but am stil confused.. hazy

read somewher ... plumbing b4 tiling as tilers more skilful at accomodating ' holes'

u double check....

fini

Hi Fini!

Eh actually, the tilers has completed half of my toilet! The pipes have been run under the tiles, and the floor and most of the wall tiles are already up on my toilet!

I din ask for a timeline actually, but the tiler did roughly tell me, but i am not sure if uncle will follow cos he already postpone the plastering hmmmm....

My wiring for my toilet has not been run yet!!! I think i may have missed that and i will need to let the tilers know when they get back and see uncle!!!!

Hmmmm.... Actually, today also NJD, not sure if they will start work on my side on Mon!!!

Trev

Hi Fini!

Eh actually, the tilers has completed half of my toilet! The pipes have been run under the tiles, and the floor and most of the wall tiles are already up on my toilet!

I din ask for a timeline actually, but the tiler did roughly tell me, but i am not sure if uncle will follow cos he already postpone the plastering hmmmm....

My wiring for my toilet has not been run yet!!! I think i may have missed that and i will need to let the tilers know when they get back and see uncle!!!!

Hmmmm.... Actually, today also NJD, not sure if they will start work on my side on Mon!!!

Trev

Yo Trev

my side 20% progress , stil some debris left, quite slow-mo... eagarly awaiting ACTIOn on Monday....

btw how r u runnin' your a/c discharge pipe to flr trap? exposed or hidden under tiles????

new door- jambs also need to leave allowance, same as windows... trev ( correct me if i'm wrong)

does uncle visit your plc daily?

all e best !!!________!!!

fini

Yo Trev

my side 20% progress , stil some debris left, quite slow-mo... eagarly awaiting ACTIOn on Monday....

btw how r u runnin' your a/c discharge pipe to flr trap? exposed or hidden under tiles????

new door- jambs also need to leave allowance, same as windows... trev ( correct me if i'm wrong)

does uncle visit your plc daily?

all e best !!!________!!!

fini

Hi Fini,

I want to run it hidden, but dunno if now too late to do so!!! I will ask if they can hide it in the box ups!! I got several box up in my toilet so i can hide all these stuffs!!!

My windows are up already liao, dun ask me why so fast!! Uncle finish in 1 day!!!

I dun think he visit daily, think he is delaying both our sides, we mus push him!!!

I also realise that he did not apply for ANY permit for my side at all!!!

My hacking is done by another contractor, so that contractor got the hacking permit for me, BUT apparently, i heard that if building walls need to get permit too!!! Is that true?!?!? UNcle say no need but my other contractors say need!!!! Sigh....

Trev

Hi Fini,

I want to run it hidden, but dunno if now too late to do so!!! I will ask if they can hide it in the box ups!! I got several box up in my toilet so i can hide all these stuffs!!!

My windows are up already liao, dun ask me why so fast!! Uncle finish in 1 day!!!

I dun think he visit daily, think he is delaying both our sides, we mus push him!!!

My hacking is done by another contractor, so that contractor got the hacking permit for me, BUT apparently, i heard that if building walls need to get permit too!!! Is that true?!?!? UNcle say no need but my other contractors say need!!!! Sigh....

Trev

Trev pls go personally to HDB & check!! go 2moro!!

i remember hdb reno in progress... unit outside will paste some sort of permit fm hdb ... dunno if's only 4 hackin....

pls double- check

wah i read e hdb webbie but nvr specify wht kinda reno wk need permit....pls call hdb... sorie no help

i also dun think he visit my plc daily... i am quite sure he's delayin both our renos.....

2moro call him....

fini

trev

Do I need a permit to construct a base to support my kitchen cabinet?

[ Home Owners > HDB Renovation Guidelines > Renovation Works ]

A: You do not need a permit to construct a cement mortar base that does not exceed 50mm (1 - 50mm thick inclusive of finishes).

only found this 4 contsructg kitchen cement base .. nth abt new walls...

Hi Fini,

Trev

Hi Trev,

login to HDB portal? Usually, the approved permit will be in there under renovation...This is mine...hope it helps...athough I am not building any new walls. Maybe u can check with other forummers or call up HDB whether new walls needs permit....sorry can't help much....Another way....is to call the branch officer over your side...sometimes, they have the answer also..

Replacement of existing floor finishes with (a) HOMOGENEOUS, (b) HOMOGENEOUS, © HOMOGENEOUS, (d) HOMOGENEOUS, (e) HOMOGENEOUS, (f) HOMOGENEOUS, (g) HOMOGENEOUS and (h) HOMOGENEOUS floor finishes at (a) COMMON BATHROOM CUM TOILET, (b) DINING ROOM, © KITCHEN, (d) KITCHEN TOILET, (e) LIVING ROOM, (f) MASTER BATHROOM CUM TOILET, (g) SERVICE BALCONY and (h) STORE ROOM.

a. Maximum thickness including the tiles and screed must not exceed 50mm. b. To use the prepack mortar/waterproof screed and waterproofing membrane for wet areas such as bathroom/toilets before laying of new floor tiles. Membrane should be upturned (up to 150 mm) against the walls, kerbs and pipes.

2. Replacement of existing wall tiles with (a) HOMOGENEOUS, (b) HOMOGENEOUS, © HOMOGENEOUS and (d) HOMOGENEOUS wall tiles at (a) COMMON BATHROOM CUM TOILET, (b) KITCHEN, © KITCHEN TOILET and (d) MASTER BATHROOM CUM TOILET up to ceiling height.

3. Demolition of partition wall between Kitchen and Service Balcony

a. All the extended area including wall or kerb which were originally located, must be waterproofed with waterproof compound. b. All services within the extended area should not be tampered with. c. Construction of cooking stove and/or cooking are not allowed in the original service balcony area. d. Installation of exhaust fan is not allowed at the service balcony opening. All existing reinforced concrete structures are not allowed to be tampered with in the course of the works. The lessee shall be responsible for the proper installation, stability and safety of the proposed works. Demolition of internal brick/internal block wall is allowable up to the underside of the RC beam. Hacking of block/brick wall should commence from top down. Any encounter of steel bar during the course of the demolition work, the lessee is not allowed to proceed with the renovation work and to inform our Branch Office immediately.

Trev pls go personally to HDB & check!! go 2moro!!

i remember hdb reno in progress... unit outside will paste some sort of permit fm hdb ... dunno if's only 4 hackin....

pls double- check

wah i read e hdb webbie but nvr specify wht kinda reno wk need permit....pls call hdb... sorie no help

i also dun think he visit my plc daily... i am quite sure he's delayin both our renos.....

2moro call him....

fini

Hey Fini,

Talked to uncle today and he told me that he wanna do plastering, tiling, plumbing + rewiring by next week!!! And i was like WTF!?!??! I know he can't keep to schedule and i was hoping that he would give me a more realistic timeline, so i tot, i will have to chase him end of the week again!!!

Hmmmm has he been giving you such incredulous promises!??! But he really sounded like he is intent on finishing my place fast... i wonder why?!?!

Cos i only asked him about plastering, what has the others got to do with that?!? hmmmm....

Has he been promising you anything!??!

Trev

Hi Trev,

login to HDB portal? Usually, the approved permit will be in there under renovation...This is mine...hope it helps...athough I am not building any new walls. Maybe u can check with other forummers or call up HDB whether new walls needs permit....sorry can't help much....Another way....is to call the branch officer over your side...sometimes, they have the answer also..

Replacement of existing floor finishes with (a) HOMOGENEOUS, (b) HOMOGENEOUS, © HOMOGENEOUS, (d) HOMOGENEOUS, (e) HOMOGENEOUS, (f) HOMOGENEOUS, (g) HOMOGENEOUS and (h) HOMOGENEOUS floor finishes at (a) COMMON BATHROOM CUM TOILET, (b) DINING ROOM, © KITCHEN, (d) KITCHEN TOILET, (e) LIVING ROOM, (f) MASTER BATHROOM CUM TOILET, (g) SERVICE BALCONY and (h) STORE ROOM.

a. Maximum thickness including the tiles and screed must not exceed 50mm. b. To use the prepack mortar/waterproof screed and waterproofing membrane for wet areas such as bathroom/toilets before laying of new floor tiles. Membrane should be upturned (up to 150 mm) against the walls, kerbs and pipes.

2. Replacement of existing wall tiles with (a) HOMOGENEOUS, (b) HOMOGENEOUS, © HOMOGENEOUS and (d) HOMOGENEOUS wall tiles at (a) COMMON BATHROOM CUM TOILET, (b) KITCHEN, © KITCHEN TOILET and (d) MASTER BATHROOM CUM TOILET up to ceiling height.

3. Demolition of partition wall between Kitchen and Service Balcony

a. All the extended area including wall or kerb which were originally located, must be waterproofed with waterproof compound. b. All services within the extended area should not be tampered with. c. Construction of cooking stove and/or cooking are not allowed in the original service balcony area. d. Installation of exhaust fan is not allowed at the service balcony opening. All existing reinforced concrete structures are not allowed to be tampered with in the course of the works. The lessee shall be responsible for the proper installation, stability and safety of the proposed works. Demolition of internal brick/internal block wall is allowable up to the underside of the RC beam. Hacking of block/brick wall should commence from top down. Any encounter of steel bar during the course of the demolition work, the lessee is not allowed to proceed with the renovation work and to inform our Branch Office immediately.

Hi red devil,

I think that uncle is trying to smoke me, hmmm... cos maybe too leh chey to get permit?!??!

Was wondering if I could apply for him instead!!! Cos i am quite free actually, will have to run down to HDB to ask man!!!

Thanks for sharing your permit, cos i dun have any for the tiles, but they have already been placed on my walls and floor liao sigh....

Sure kanna scolded by HDB one!!!

Trev

Hi Fini,

Trev

Hi Trev,

Our reno includes both hacking of walls as well as building several walls (hollow block kind). Just to share, before the reno start, my contractor applied the HDB permit indicating all the work that will be executed.. especially for those hacking and building of walls (need to submit drawing). Afterwhich, when the permit is approved, both the contractor and owners will received a stack of papers from HDB indicating every single items that my contractor had applied for and whether they are approved (by post).

The reason for the HDB permit is to hold the contractor responsible in the event of any mishap after the reno is completed (e.g. the new wall come down, floor leakage etc).

About the constructing of walls, we learnt from several contractors during our id search that wall building is subjected to HDB approval as they are heavy to the building structure. In addition, HDB will also check on the distance from the furthest point to entrance etc. Several Ids suggested that we used glysum board but we didnt want to. Luckily, we managed to get the permit for the walls.

By the way, the windows also need permit. We got outsourced our windows and our contractor reminded us to get the window installer to apply for the permit. When we check with the installer, they are awared of the permit stuff. They told us that because of the permit thingy, alot of windows companies are taking the installation more seriously as if the window drops, they will be held liable for it.

Do check with your contractors.

just logged into hdb portal to check on the reno permits submitted - hacking of walls, replacement of wall tiles, replacement of window panes/grilles, and toilet windows have to have permits submitted

there were none for the hollow block walls we built due to changed entrances of our toilets and one room - probably because they were not "additional" walls built in the house.

just logged into hdb portal to check on the reno permits submitted - hacking of walls, replacement of wall tiles, replacement of window panes/grilles, and toilet windows have to have permits submitted

there were none for the hollow block walls we built due to changed entrances of our toilets and one room - probably because they were not "additional" walls built in the house.

Hee.. didnt know we can get soft copies from the hdb portal. I just log in to play with it. Thanks for sharing beany!

Here's a sample of mine for building and hacking:

7. To create NEW STORE by erecting full height wall with 63mm hollow blocks and entrance (900mm width x 2100mm height) see C-C and marked blue on plan

01/07/2009

SE: (1) All existing reinforced concrete structures are not allowed to be tampered with in the course of the works.

(2) The lessee shall be responsible for the proper installation, stability and safety of the proposed works.

(3) Only one layer of 63mm hollow blocks is allowed to be erected for the proposed works.

(4) For proposed opening of width up to 1200mm, a 150mm deep RC lintol reinforced with 2 no. of 10mm diameter high yield steel bars with R6 - 150 links should be provided above the proposed opening. This can be omitted if the opening abuts the soffit of the existing RC slab/beam..

8. COMMON TOILET: To reposition entrance by hacking new entrance (900mm width x 2100mm height) see F-F marked red on plan). To seal up existing entrance with 63mm hollow blocks (see E-E marked blue on plan)

01/07/2009

SE: (1) All existing reinforced concrete structures are not allowed to be tampered with in the course of the works.

(2) The lessee shall be responsible for the proper installation, stability and safety of the proposed works.

(3) Demolition of internal brick/internal block wall is allowable up to the underside of the RC BEAM only.

(4) Hacking of block/brick wall should commence from top down.

(5) For the removal of block/brick wall, waterproofing membrane must be applied to the affected area.

(6) Lessee shall be responsible for any subsequent leakage or seepage which may arise due to the proposed work.

(7) For proposed opening of width up to 1200mm, a 150mm deep RC lintol reinforced with 2 no. of 10mm diameter high yield steel bars with R6 - 150 links should be provided above the proposed opening. This can be omitted if the opening abuts the soffit of the existing RC slab/beam.

(8) Only one layer of 63mm hollow blocks is allowed to be erected for the proposed works.

(9) Any encounter of steel bar during the course of the demolition work, the lessee is not allowed to proceed with the renovation work and should immediately inform the Branch Office for advice..

Hi Trev,

Our reno includes both hacking of walls as well as building several walls (hollow block kind). Just to share, before the reno start, my contractor applied the HDB permit indicating all the work that will be executed.. especially for those hacking and building of walls (need to submit drawing). Afterwhich, when the permit is approved, both the contractor and owners will received a stack of papers from HDB indicating every single items that my contractor had applied for and whether they are approved (by post).

The reason for the HDB permit is to hold the contractor responsible in the event of any mishap after the reno is completed (e.g. the new wall come down, floor leakage etc).

About the constructing of walls, we learnt from several contractors during our id search that wall building is subjected to HDB approval as they are heavy to the building structure. In addition, HDB will also check on the distance from the furthest point to entrance etc. Several Ids suggested that we used glysum board but we didnt want to. Luckily, we managed to get the permit for the walls.

By the way, the windows also need permit. We got outsourced our windows and our contractor reminded us to get the window installer to apply for the permit. When we check with the installer, they are awared of the permit stuff. They told us that because of the permit thingy, alot of windows companies are taking the installation more seriously as if the window drops, they will be held liable for it.

Do check with your contractors.

Hi Rasp,

I got a permit for my windows, but not for the tiles nor the walls hmmmm...

I have 2 walls changed! The first is at the toilet and second between the masterbed room and guest room!!! I shifted them out slightly, for the toilet, i added 0.6m square as in HDB regulations! The second wall cos very wierd, so i made it straight! hmmm...

Maybe I should get uncle to apply for permit!

Hee.. didnt know we can get soft copies from the hdb portal. I just log in to play with it. Thanks for sharing beany!

Here's a sample of mine for building and hacking:

7. To create NEW STORE by erecting full height wall with 63mm hollow blocks and entrance (900mm width x 2100mm height) see C-C and marked blue on plan

01/07/2009

(3) Only one layer of 63mm hollow blocks is allowed to be erected for the proposed works.

(4) For proposed opening of width up to 1200mm, a 150mm deep RC lintol reinforced with 2 no. of 10mm diameter high yield steel bars with R6 - 150 links should be provided above the proposed opening. This can be omitted if the opening abuts the soffit of the existing RC slab/beam..

8. COMMON TOILET: To reposition entrance by hacking new entrance (900mm width x 2100mm height) see F-F marked red on plan). To seal up existing entrance with 63mm hollow blocks (see E-E marked blue on plan)

01/07/2009

(3) Demolition of internal brick/internal block wall is allowable up to the underside of the RC BEAM only.

(4) Hacking of block/brick wall should commence from top down.

(5) For the removal of block/brick wall, waterproofing membrane must be applied to the affected area.

(6) Lessee shall be responsible for any subsequent leakage or seepage which may arise due to the proposed work.

(7) For proposed opening of width up to 1200mm, a 150mm deep RC lintol reinforced with 2 no. of 10mm diameter high yield steel bars with R6 - 150 links should be provided above the proposed opening. This can be omitted if the opening abuts the soffit of the existing RC slab/beam.

(8) Only one layer of 63mm hollow blocks is allowed to be erected for the proposed works.

(9) Any encounter of steel bar during the course of the demolition work, the lessee is not allowed to proceed with the renovation work and should immediately inform the Branch Office for advice..

I have the hacking permit too, jus not for the tiling and construction!!!

sigh.... Wo De Ming hao ku hahaha

Hi Rasp,

I got a permit for my windows, but not for the tiles nor the walls hmmmm...

I have 2 walls changed! The first is at the toilet and second between the masterbed room and guest room!!! I shifted them out slightly, for the toilet, i added 0.6m square as in HDB regulations! The second wall cos very wierd, so i made it straight! hmmm...

Maybe I should get uncle to apply for permit!

I have the hacking permit too, jus not for the tiling and construction!!!

sigh.... Wo De Ming hao ku hahaha

Go appply!!!!