trevorcantona 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 Hi all!!!! Some people know me from my PMs and comments (including one whom I have cursed at cos you totally deserved it!!!!). Generally, I am a happy go lucky person and so for my flat I have decided to do it my style, but I must say it is quite an expensive one! Suppose to start Reno today and i shall be charting my progress in this blog. For a starter, here is my floor plan: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eno33 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 your master bedroom no attached toilet? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
trevorcantona 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 (edited) Before I appointed Uncle as my contractor, I went through several other contractors. These are my experiences and comments about them: ***** - Overcharge and Bad Design. For what they are charging, I expected better seriously. City Design - Very honest and reliable. Gave me many good ideas and service was excellent. Earnest Interior - Very honest and has 100% integrity in pricing. fair and reasonable, good service and advice given too. The rest of the IDs did not reply (I guess my house is jus too complicated lah!!!) These are the pics of my place before I took over: From the pics you can see how 70's the place is and seriously, I have NO IDEA how the previous owners stayed here!!! The toilet door is corrugated iron, can you believe that? And 2 weeks ago, when my previous owner really came over to take back his old water heater that they have used for 10 years to reuse in their new place, i almost fainted!!! Edited August 19, 2009 by trevorcantona Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
trevorcantona 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 (edited) your master bedroom no attached toilet? Exactly!!! I was like what the ****!!!! The toilet is so small that my fat *** has problems fitting into the doorway man!!! I was like what's wrong with the 70's buildings man! But for the price I am paying and the location, I have no complaints hahaha!!!! Edited August 19, 2009 by trevorcantona Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
trevorcantona 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 (edited) As my block is currently undergoing HDB toilet upgrading, I decided to use the current HDB contractor to do the hacking! trust me, It was a BAD decision. These are the hacking pics: Anyhow, Uncle has said that he will help me to make the walls better, but they will be a bit hollow!!! Sigh, what to do man!!! The wall in the second pic is so ****ing flimsy that UNcle said that he can jus karate kick and the whole wall will collapse! As for the stupid kitchen walls in the 4th pic, the holes are so deep that uncle commented that if he drilled any deeper, we can jus walk through to my neighbour's house!!!! Edited August 19, 2009 by trevorcantona Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eno33 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 The hacked walls got so many holes, what happen? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 hi trevorcantona~ Welcome! So you went with Uncle Soon then? or another Uncle? haha seems like quite a few Uncles these days Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leechaorui 2 Report post Posted August 19, 2009 Hi trevorcantona, congratulations to you on your new home. The 70s home are more spacious and serious renovation put into it can transform the place. Cheers. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Planfor2 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 Yoz...look forward to your reno progress sia. Welcome.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 Hi trevorcantona, Welcome!! Hee.. I used to think that the hacking job can be done by anyone. After seeing your hacking pictures, I think it does need some skill to do the proper hacking. Look forward to your flat transformation~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
trevorcantona 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 The hacked walls got so many holes, what happen? According to uncle, the HDB contractor used cheap labour so they are not so skilled. Apparently, they used a sharp drill to hack the walls resulting in so many holes! Also, my place is old, so a lot of hollow blocks are used to build the house, thus when they hack, more holes!!!! hi trevorcantona~ Welcome! So you went with Uncle Soon then? or another Uncle? haha seems like quite a few Uncles these days Hi pink!!! It is Uncle Soon, but he is really very busy and he flew my aeroplanes many times! None the less, i managed to sign with him, now waiting for him to start work hee... How's have you been? Hi trevorcantona, congratulations to you on your new home. The 70s home are more spacious and serious renovation put into it can transform the place. Cheers. Yup, that is why i got an older flat! The new ones opposite my place costs >500k and are smaller than my current house! But that said, the toilet is really small and I am trying to make it more spacious! Yoz...look forward to your reno progress sia. Welcome.. Hi Plan, if you wanna check out my place to see uncle's work, feel free to do so Hi trevorcantona, Welcome!! Hee.. I used to think that the hacking job can be done by anyone. After seeing your hacking pictures, I think it does need some skill to do the proper hacking. Look forward to your flat transformation~ I tot so too, especially as Jesslyn's Hubby did a good job hacking too, I tot anyone can do liao! But apparently, Uncle says that ONLY those experienced workers can hack the walls properly without tearing down the whole house!!! I was rather shocked at the way the HDB contractor hacked my place as they were appointed by HDB and i tot that our govt got some standard. But judging from this, sometimes, HDB also fail QC, no wonder they dun dare to apply for ISO!!!! Sure fail!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 wah trevor u hero leh. dispite me trying to scare you away from using uncle u still "dare dare" sign up huh?? hahaha. my "long HO, miss calls, aeroplanes, NJDs, plaster work not so good, painting lines crooked, carpentry depending on group of workers" etc poison arrows still didn't kill your keen-ness in getting ah soon ah? very good lah u! I warn u liao hor! dun later say I didn't tell u hor!! and dun later complain complain when u can't get hold of him hor. now that u are in it, put on ur safety belt, hold tight and be prepared for a bumpy ride. hahahahha so for your carpentry u using ah wei huh? and ehhhh still doing those ark?? mai do lah! :x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 Hi Trevor, Welcome to another Cantona fan! Nice to see you managed to find a nice 70's TPY unit. Somehow those layouts are really unique and rare. The floor plan also 70's cos' its still using imperial measurement of inches and feet! Which lorong is your flat located at? The picture of the toilet really brought back memories of my weekends at my parents' place at Lorong 6 TPY! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 Hi Hi welcome welcome Wah it's been a long time since I've seen this kind of layout. Bathing and WC is different. Now hard to find leh.... anyway why don't you hack the wall between the toilet and bathing to make a big big toilet ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blackcar 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2009 Hi all!!!! Some people know me from my PMs and comments (including one whom I have cursed at cos you totally deserved it!!!!). Generally, I am a happy go lucky person and so for my flat I have decided to do it my style, but I must say it is quite an expensive one! Congras, can't wait to see yr expensive style reno with Ah Soon!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites