natgw

3a Resale In Tampines

floor and wall tiles for MBR.. mosiac not up yet..

dsc01725.jpg

Hi natgw,

Your toilet wall tiles are very cool. Look like those egyptian symbols on the walls. Very interesting choice. :D

Hi natgw,

Your toilet wall tiles are very cool. Look like those egyptian symbols on the walls. Very interesting choice. :D

thanks Rasp. i hope overall would look ok once everything is done up though.. :)

hi all. first post here. =D

bought a resale 3A flat in Tampines in June with my mum. Will be going for a total overhaul.

heres the floorplan:

30960581.jpg

already confirmed ID and it will be Roy from Inzen.

yet to receive 3D drawings but today just went to choose tiles for living/dining rm, bedrooms, kitchen and toilets.

forgot to take pics of the house in its current situation. but i can tell u its BAD. haha.

price quoted by ID is $39500.

Wah so expensive sia they charge u...

i guess its depending on what you're doing. i've posted the breakdown of the charges as well. alot of carpentary works..

1 x 12ft wardrobe.

1 x 7th wardrobe.

false ceiling for living and MBR.

7ft shoe cabinet.

30ft top/btm kitchen cabinet

8.5ft full height storage cabinet

feature walls for living and MBR.

sliding glass door for kitchen/living

frosted glass door for MBR toilet

white powder coated windows for whole house.

anyways i dun mind paying if its quality stuff and after-sales service i get in return. cheers.

huh?!untill now your store room not yet approved ah?

But i think store room is essential to stroage items that rarely use.

U actually want to re-locate the store room ah?

Funny that its not a bomb shelter why cannot approved?

hmm.. :unsure:

not gonna relocate it.. i want it to be gone for good... will be making a full height storage cabinet instead for storing of rarely used items...

Hi, we are also facing the same problem. Our is blk 2++ in Tampines. Didn't know it is pre-fab until one of the shortlisted IDs check for us. Our agent didn't tell us!!!

Initially i got so excited want to hack kitchen wall and storeroom, now looks like cannot. the mentioned ID called HDB and they said "can try to ask PE to check". If it's like your case (which i higher suspected so) then i shall just change my plan now since i haven't gotten my key and haven't confirmed my design. Sigh.

Edited by wywy219

ultimate sian now... but i am thinking... if PE deem its ok to hack off the storeroom. HDB shld approve it ma... :bangwall:

hi Natgw

IMHO, before you consult a PE to try, at which level is your unit? if you are at the higher floor, chances of approval will be higer. Any beams at this area? well if you can part with a little money, think you should give it a try.

gorilla

hi Natgw

IMHO, before you consult a PE to try, at which level is your unit? if you are at the higher floor, chances of approval will be higer. Any beams at this area? well if you can part with a little money, think you should give it a try.

gorilla

mine is located on level 6. the flat has 12 levels.

and my unit is located in the middle. so its like the middle of the middle. i dun mind spending the $3-4k for a PE to evalute, calculate and endorse HDB approval for hacking. but problem is whether HDB is willing to approve with all these documents.

your quote - hacking tile is cheap. $750 to hack off partial wall tiles is it expensive or reasonable. Our floorplan same as you except mine storeroom already hack away. Building a full height cabinet (laminate finish & ABS trimmings doors, internal carcass white pvc, storage shelves) 10.5ft L x 8ft HT at $3080++

Dear Mr Tan

Please refer to your e-mail of 27 Aug 2009 to my CEO, regarding your appeal to hack/demolish the store room walls of your above flat.

2 To safeguard the structural integrity of HDB flats and the safety of residents, all load-bearing reinforced concrete (RC) walls for prefabricated flats cannot be tampered with. We would like to explain as your block is a prefabricated block and the store room walls which you have requested to hack/demolish are load-bearing RC walls, we regret that your appeal cannot be acceded to. Kindly note that this renovation guideline is available in the HDB InfoWEB at www.hdb.gov.sg

under Home Owners>Renovating Your Home>HDB Renovation Guidelines>Examples of Renovation Works Not Allowed

3 Under current renovation guidelines, flat owner can only submit an application (through their HDB registered renovation contractor) if the wall proposed to be hack/demolished is a non-load bearing RC walls and subject to the engagement of a Professional Engineer (PE) to inspect and supervise the works. However, for the demolition of load bearing RC walls as in your case, the request would not be approved even if you have engaged a PE to submit application for the proposed demolition works due to safety reasons.

4 We seek your understanding on the matter. If you need any clarifications, please call Mr Tan Kok Lam, Head of Tampines Branch at Tel: 63477201 or his Principal Technical Officer, Mr Teo Soo Thye at Tel: 63477270. I can also be reached on Tel: 64902281.

Yours sincerely,

(signed)

HO SEIN YEAN

DEPUTY DIRECTOR (HOUSING MAINTENANCE)

for DIRECTOR (HOUSING ADMINISTRATION)

cc Mr Tan Kok Lam

Head of Tampines Branch Office

guess its time to call him tml morning and make some noise.

Edited by natgw

Dear Mr Tan

Please refer to your e-mail of 27 Aug 2009 to my CEO, regarding your appeal to hack/demolish the store room walls of your above flat.

2 To safeguard the structural integrity of HDB flats and the safety of residents, all load-bearing reinforced concrete (RC) walls for prefabricated flats cannot be tampered with. We would like to explain as your block is a prefabricated block and the store room walls which you have requested to hack/demolish are load-bearing RC walls, we regret that your appeal cannot be acceded to. Kindly note that this renovation guideline is available in the HDB InfoWEB at www.hdb.gov.sg

under Home Owners>Renovating Your Home>HDB Renovation Guidelines>Examples of Renovation Works Not Allowed

3 Under current renovation guidelines, flat owner can only submit an application (through their HDB registered renovation contractor) if the wall proposed to be hack/demolished is a non-load bearing RC walls and subject to the engagement of a Professional Engineer (PE) to inspect and supervise the works. However, for the demolition of load bearing RC walls as in your case, the request would not be approved even if you have engaged a PE to submit application for the proposed demolition works due to safety reasons.

4 We seek your understanding on the matter. If you need any clarifications, please call Mr Tan Kok Lam, Head of Tampines Branch at Tel: 63477201 or his Principal Technical Officer, Mr Teo Soo Thye at Tel: 63477270. I can also be reached on Tel: 64902281.

Yours sincerely,

(signed)

HO SEIN YEAN

DEPUTY DIRECTOR (HOUSING MAINTENANCE)

for DIRECTOR (HOUSING ADMINISTRATION)

cc Mr Tan Kok Lam

Head of Tampines Branch Office

hi natgw

sorry to hear about your unsuccessful appeal. but to my understanding, any load barring walls or col should be highlighted in CLEAR BLACK BOLD line in your floor plan instead of just fine line.

well wish your ID can come out with some great ideas (and please share) to make the space looks better...happy reno ok...

gorilla

guess its time to call him tml morning and make some noise.

Hi natgw,

Seems like HDB is quite firm on this. You might want to get your id to try to design around it.

On another note, actually having a store is quite good, can keep those bulky stuff which cant be hidden in cabinet, such as mahjong table, bed frames, foldable table and those plastic stackable stools. We're also building a tiny store as my previous owner had hacked it off. :D

hey natgw, if u do go ahead to engage a PE, they have the authority to refer to the building blueprints from HDB, subject to your approval.

based on our experience, we were given a letter of authorization to sign, stating that in the event tt HDB did not allow our beam to be hacked, the PE could refer to those blueprints.

our appeal went up all the way to the Building Quality Department, because the demolitian was initially approved, then revoked. so if u really wanna go ahead and try, do ensure that the PE ur ID engages does all the necessary groundwork, and that they do provide the relevant documentation

below is the exerpt from the rejection letter they sent us: (:( sad)

"We were informed that HDB's position is that there was a RC beam of 150x500 above the balcony and this beam, is not a normal hanger and is not

allowed to be hacked."

"We attach the plan to show the detail of the beam for your record. In brief, all work submitted by the contractor will proceed accordingly except this beam CANNOT be hacked."