ossify 1 Report post Posted November 7, 2009 hihi... i have similar questions running thru' my mind too. Skeptical about overlaying without hacking. Other than the possibility of feeling 'elevated' because you do overlay (for me is tiles over existing tiles for my living room), not sure if there is other side effect, in the years to come (by then usually warranty is over). If you are getting your own tiles, you need to know how many tiles are needed, guess you have to consult your ID. By doing so they may earn less because i think they also mark up a little on the tiles if you get it from them. When they earn less, they may not be happy and they may compromise on quality by using inferior materials on other areas? I dunno..... sometimes i feel this kind of thing we as customers a bit on the losing end. Just some of my thoughts although i also scrutinize a lot on my ID's quotations. for my case, laminate on vinyl would be better than laminate on cement as the vinyl is non-porous while the cement screed is porous. vinyl tile is very thin 2mm so won't elevate much. as for number of tiles, just consult the contractor and ask about wastage. i presume they will use the cheapest material they can get anyway so can't get cheaper than that. any thing i should be wary of? eg. fake paint, fake plaster, fake hollow block $2k is alot man... for me i think Eubiq is helpful for areas where potentially u may need lots of powerpoints for many stuffs, for e.g the tv console area... it is neat to have just 1 strip across... but... as long as you are happy and think it is worth it how much are you spending on rewiring? should be around there For tile.. Go to the TILE warehouse @ Jurong near IMM.. SOON BEE HUAT TRADING PTE LTD,one of the largest tiles supplier in Singapore,located at NO.3.A TOH GUAN ROAD EAST(behind IMM BUILDING) or TANJONG KATONG ROAD..they got the large showroom/displays thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 7, 2009 My renovation is over! I wanted the Eubiq system because it looks so cool, but then to be frank with you, I would have little to no use for it since I don't shift my electronics around (or cook often for that matter). It's a very neat idea, but I'm not quite sure I would want to spend so much on a cool gadget like that. Eubiq certainly has very practical usages though, I hope you enjoy yours! hee you should only get it if you need it. if you don't need it, save the $ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Goobii Report post Posted November 8, 2009 Bro... Take note that Alpha baby fan colourful (254), cannot help much if the room is too big. My bedroom 1 is shrinked down to 80% size and using it as my office cum baby room. Tat is why I bought this colourfull fan for my baby to see the apple and fruits on the fan before I switch it on to enjoy gentle breeze while turning on my aircon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 8, 2009 (edited) For tile.. Go to the TILE warehouse @ Jurong near IMM.. SOON BEE HUAT TRADING PTE LTD,one of the largest tiles supplier in Singapore,located at NO.3.A TOH GUAN ROAD EAST(behind IMM BUILDING) or TANJONG KATONG ROAD..they got the large showroom/displays went to soon bee huat, saw some 50% off tiles. may go back again to check. wife likes tiles that are $5-6 psf no discounts for direct buyers Bro... Take note that Alpha baby fan colourful (254), cannot help much if the room is too big. My bedroom 1 is shrinked down to 80% size and using it as my office cum baby room. Tat is why I bought this colourfull fan for my baby to see the apple and fruits on the fan before I switch it on to enjoy gentle breeze while turning on my aircon. the Alpha baby fan is for a small space that is about 5m2 Edited November 8, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 went to choo chiang www.ccm.sg decided with wife to get this range about $6.50 for 1-gang Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 went to choo chiang www.ccm.sg decided with wife to get this range about $6.50 for 1-gang nice switches. but altho it's flat, still need base plate right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 nice switches. but altho it's flat, still need base plate right? fixed onto cabinets where possible Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JandG 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 went to choo chiang www.ccm.sg decided with wife to get this range about $6.50 for 1-gang Just remember that you will be running Eubiq through-out the house so you don't need power-points switches.. Here's the price of the bronze Zencelo switches before GST. All without LED. Do note that I got these prices a while ago, it might have increased by now.. 1 gang - 6.30 2 gang - 9.90 3 gang - 15.15 SCV - 13.50 Tel - 15.50 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 Just remember that you will be running Eubiq through-out the house so you don't need power-points switches.. Here's the price of the bronze Zencelo switches before GST. All without LED. Do note that I got these prices a while ago, it might have increased by now.. 1 gang - 6.30 2 gang - 9.90 3 gang - 15.15 SCV - 13.50 Tel - 15.50 Yeah, thanks for remembering You mean you got charged GST? I probably need heater switch too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JandG 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 Yeah, thanks for remembering You mean you got charged GST? I probably need heater switch too. My electrician got the switches for me and I just paid him accordingly from the price-list I got from choo chiang, so no, i didn't get charged for GST. But if you walk-in and buy those switches they might charge GST depending on how good your bargaining skills are.. Heater switch would be the 20A switch, it comes with LED. I wrote the price down somewhere before but just can't seem to find it so if i remember correctly it's around 20+ per switch.. Do note that 2 way switches doesn't come with the orange "Ondicator", so there will be no indication whether the switch is in the "Off" or "On" position. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Goobii Report post Posted November 9, 2009 Nice switch ~! I am using it too ~! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 10, 2009 My electrician got the switches for me and I just paid him accordingly from the price-list I got from choo chiang, so no, i didn't get charged for GST. But if you walk-in and buy those switches they might charge GST depending on how good your bargaining skills are.. Heater switch would be the 20A switch, it comes with LED. I wrote the price down somewhere before but just can't seem to find it so if i remember correctly it's around 20+ per switch.. Do note that 2 way switches doesn't come with the orange "Ondicator", so there will be no indication whether the switch is in the "Off" or "On" position. I see, I will get them to waive off the GST hopefully some discount on bulk purchase too I won't be using any 2 way switches since my house is so small Nice switch ~! I am using it too ~! Great! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 10, 2009 I have a question about tiles. I went to Soon Bee Huat and saw so many tiles. I intend to get 300x300 for my kitchen and toilet floor tiles and 300x600 (1st choice) or 300x300 (2nd choice) for my toilet wall tiles. Now the question is... Expensive tiles or cheap tiles? I see homogenous tiles from Italy/Spain/Portugal selling at about $5-6 psf. I also see homogenous tiles from China selling at about $2.5-3 psf. Which should I get and why? Pricing aside (most likely due to difference in import costs), what's the difference in quality? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted November 10, 2009 (edited) My compilation of Tile shops and available discounts. Soon Bee Huat: no discount for direct buyers, generally $2.5-3 for china tiles, $5-6 for euro tiles; 50% sale on tiles with limited quantity Hafary: 20% discount for direct buyers. Hup Kiong: 20-30% discount for direct buyers. I want to start a compilation of the rates for experienced tilers and their contacts. Anyone can share with me? Edited November 10, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Goobii Report post Posted November 10, 2009 (edited) My compilation of Tile shops and available discounts. Soon Bee Huat: no discount for direct buyers, generally $2.5-3 for china tiles, $5-6 for euro tiles; 50% sale on tiles with limited quantity Ask your contractor to deal with them usually they can get trader price deduct another 5% discount. Hafary: 20% discount for direct buyers. You compare china brand or thailand / malaysia brand of course cheaper somehow... have to see where the tile origin... Hup Kiong: 20-30% discount for direct buyers. Same as above... see where the tiles origin.... I want to start a compilation of the rates for experienced tilers and their contacts. Anyone can share with me? What I can share is... U chose the best 3 tiles you want and compare it with other... I bought mine @ Soon Bee Huat as they are the main distributor for alot of others small company and even for those HDB house. If you want design... just chose the best and confirm your choice later... If you want cheap... just get those china tiles... but take note of future cracks or chip off which is quite possible... If you want durablity... can try thailand or malaysia tiles, at least is made for asia and the weather is the same so don't crack or chip easily. Final choice... all depends on what you really want.... as for me... I wanted condo style renovation so my kitchen totally no tiles as I using the easy wash paint so tat I can change my setup easily... Edited November 10, 2009 by Goobii Share this post Link to post Share on other sites