ossify

My Cosy Home In Holland

ossify, any particular theme to your home? I think I saw the 2nd fan in other t-blog also. It looks gd!

Personally, I think if you want ppl to focus on your ceiling, then 1st choice. If you want a cool color ceiling, then 2nd design I think will be more suitable. 1st choice will be gd if your living room is not vibrant in color term. The bold red will help to inject some character into the living space.

But after so much nagging, I will go for the 1st one. Unique!

my theme is just white. i'll stick with the 2nd one unless i have a strong reason to get the 1st one. 2nd seems more timeless.

but then again, my sofa is red. wonder how long that sofa will last though :D

my theme is just white. i'll stick with the 2nd one unless i have a strong reason to get the 1st one. 2nd seems more timeless.

The white one looks like a sunflower design to me. If your sofa is red, either fan will match it. 2nd seems more timeless to me also. But a red ceiling fan will draw a relationship with the red sofa. :)

if the sofa is replaced, then gone case :D

One thing for sure, from the picture, the first one looks easier to clean :D

But if you are into fengshui and stuff, it is not too good to have many red things in your house, because red represent 'fiery', may affect one's mood and may cause disharmony.

But it matches your sofa. For the price u r paying for the sofa, dun think so much liao, spoil just change! :)

met a sales rep from Panggiap today, decided to get a $280 top-hung silver bi-fold door with white acrylic panels for my common door toilet and a $380 silver swing door with grey acrylic panel for my mbr door. sales rep says that we must finish doing the finishing before we can do site measurement, oh well, won't be done by next week :D

met a electrician to discuss on my wiring, was quoted $1200 for labour charge (i supply wires, casing, db box, switches, etc) to install 9 lights, 5 ceiling fan, 1 db box, 1 scv, 2 internet rj45, 2 phone rj22, 1 aircon 15A, 6 double socket 13A, 1 3-gang, 3 2-gang, 2 1-gang, 2 heater.

FIVE ceiling fans...???

are you sure you are staying in a 3rm flat?

Day 12

2 men came today, did waterproofing 2nd and 3rd layer, pvc cornering and cement screeding

waterproofing 2nd and 3rd layer, did some more pvc cornering with cement screed

pvcdone.jpg

boxup of gas pipes with air entrained concrete with a removable panel for easy access to the gas pipe

boxup.jpg

cement screeding of kitchen beam tiles, with pvc cornering

cementscreed.jpg

Total cost for the day's work: $200

Hacking 50ft walls and clearing of debris: $1000

Accumulated cost for labour: $1950 (including clearing of debris)

Accumulated cost for raw materials: $1338.5

Total reno bill as of now: $4288.5

ps. also invited a plumber and a plumber/electrician to quote me on my water/electrical works

Edited by ossify

hi ossify

did ms tiang call u already ? :)

u need direct electrician contact.. let me know if u need! :) (pm me)

haven't. where is ms tiang? can't find her

i already asked 2 direct electricians. but if yours is excellent workmanshjp and cheaper than $1200 for labour only, i want the contact

Guest Goobii

Bro, I feels the end result is a much much smaller kitchen.... Mine already I feels is quite small... now you did such a MAJOR expansion for the room. The kitchen will be very narrow, just like those OLD MODEL 3S HDB @ commonwealth cres or tanglin halt.

I have been reading much from this forum and would like to join in as a t-blogger :)

Attached is my floorplan

floorplan.jpg

Attached is my latest design from floorplanner.com. The circular things on top are alpha v6 white/black ceiling fans.

finalni.jpg

baby%20fan%20white1_500.jpg

The following are my past designs.

This would be the big space version of the house for the next 10 years. The sliding door is a 4-panel sliding door. This picture shows how it would look like when you open up the room. Oops I realized the flooring for the kitchen and bathroom is wrong. Bathroom should be pebbled black (i don't like grout, hard to maintain). Kitchen should be matt white homo tiles (i don't like glossy tiles, too reflective).

bigspacebeta.jpg

The future renovation would change the house to accommodate 3 kids, renovation to be done in 10 years time.

beta.jpg

Comments/advice welcomed :)

hi Ossify,

i can see why are you guys are doing up a cozy couple suite with minimum or no cooking therefore the shrink kitchen.

I really take my hat off u even foresee ya future layout plan liaoz,btw did u do the space planning on ya own?

Edited by kiven78

Bro, I feels the end result is a much much smaller kitchen.... Mine already I feels is quite small... now you did such a MAJOR expansion for the room. The kitchen will be very narrow, just like those OLD MODEL 3S HDB @ commonwealth cres or tanglin halt.

i have 2 kitchen cabinets. space between them for walking is about 85cm. about 1 door frame's width :D

hi Ossify,

i can see why are you guys are doing up a cozy couple suite with minimum or no cooking therefore the shrink kitchen.

I really take my hat off u even foresee ya future layout plan liaoz,btw did u do the space planning on ya own?

yes i did :D floorplanner.com

Hi Ossify,

can check with you, ikea delivery charge is $50? If my purchase exceed certain amount, will they give free delivery?

I maybe buying a sofa and 2 wardrobes.... will these be delivered in parts and i have to pay then installation charges also?

Hi Ossify,

can check with you, ikea delivery charge is $50? If my purchase exceed certain amount, will they give free delivery?

I maybe buying a sofa and 2 wardrobes.... will these be delivered in parts and i have to pay then installation charges also?

$50 for under $300 purchase, $55 for above $300 purchase. No free delivery (unless they damage your items :D)

if all items are available at the time of purchase, you can lump them together for delivery. if some items not available, then very troublesome already. installation charges is 6% of the sales price, if i remember correctly.

Day 13

4 men came today, did cement screeding of walls, flooring, scrapping of wall paint, door shaping

cement screeding of door frame with laser line (very professional)

laserscreed.jpg

scrapping of paint in mbr

scrapping.jpg

shaping my mbr door frame

doorm.jpg

concrete boxup of my bathroom pipes

mbrbathroom.jpg

levelling of my toilet floor

toiletentrance.jpg

Total cost for the day's work: $400

Hacking 50ft walls and clearing of debris: $1000

Accumulated cost for labour: $2350 (including clearing of debris)

Accumulated cost for raw materials: $1338.5

Total reno bill as of now: $4688.5

i wonder if my reno will cost more than 10k?

Edited by ossify