gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 8, 2009 Found some nice top hung bi-fold doors I want to use for my common toilet, copy here for personal reference. wonder if i can get cheaper prices Ossify, have you personally see and touch one after it is installed? Any idea if it shakes a lot because there is no bottom track... I dun like the bottom track because it traps dirt and is hard to clean.... imagine moisture with dirt... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dmay 0 Report post Posted December 8, 2009 (edited) Ossify, have you personally see and touch one after it is installed? Any idea if it shakes a lot because there is no bottom track... I dun like the bottom track because it traps dirt and is hard to clean.... imagine moisture with dirt... My personal experience, since I've got 2 sets of top-hung bi-fold door now... The 1st set of bi-fold door is very sturdy, easy to slide, the only problem is... I don't like how the handle was done. Thus, the 2nd set of bi-fold door (this pix not mine, but it looks exactly the same). This looks really nice, but it's a little shaky, not as sturdy as the 1st one. I think the uncle who came and install our 2nd set of door commented that the 1st door better (he kind of agree that the material used for the 1st set is better as compare to the 2nd set) BTW, they are from 2 different company. So now, I've got a brand new, sturdy, quite nice bi-fold door sitting inside my master toilet (actually 2 sets, cos I got 2 doors for my master toilet ) and I don't know what to do with it.... Edited December 8, 2009 by dmay Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Goobii Report post Posted December 8, 2009 just want to update, confirmed my hacking contractor, Designer House. $1000 for hacking of 52 ft of wall, inclusive of HDB permit (they are pretty fast on the application of HDB permit too, at least for me) and clearing of debris. also want to share something i am interested to add to my house.. an Air-tight rubbish chute hopper! MAXDEN manufactures a patented Air-Tight Rubbish Chute Hoppers The most common complaint about rubbish chute hoppers is that cockroaches and foul odours could infiltrate into the residential apartments, thus contaminating it with germs, mold, bacteria and other invisible undesirables. MAXDEN has solved this problem! It has incorporated a patented, self-sealing, magnetic-pneumatic gasket into its hopper design. This Air-Tight rubbish chute hopper will shut out cockroaches. Guaranteed! Features PSB - approved 1/2 hr fire-rating - Tested to Singapore standard ISO 3008: 1976, BS 476 part 22:1987 - Stainless steel hairline finish - Air-tight, self-closing - 3 years warrantly - MAXDEN 1 Normanton Park #02-157 Singapore 118998 Tel : +65 6278 3552 Fax : +65 6377 0284 Email : enquiry@maxden.com.sg Bro... you can just DIY yourself and paste some rubber or styloform at the side... can buy the rubber @ the HOMEFIX. save the money .. no need to spend extra... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 8, 2009 Ossify, have you personally see and touch one after it is installed? Any idea if it shakes a lot because there is no bottom track... I dun like the bottom track because it traps dirt and is hard to clean.... imagine moisture with dirt... personally never seen or touched. but shouldn't shake a lot. what are you worried about? but i think the top one (in my post) is cheaper and less sturdy than the bottom one ($380), imho. i think i'll get the bottom one ($380) My personal experience, since I've got 2 sets of top-hung bi-fold door now... The 1st set of bi-fold door is very sturdy, easy to slide, the only problem is... I don't like how the handle was done. Thus, the 2nd set of bi-fold door (this pix not mine, but it looks exactly the same). This looks really nice, but it's a little shaky, not as sturdy as the 1st one. I think the uncle who came and install our 2nd set of door commented that the 1st door better (he kind of agree that the material used for the 1st set is better as compare to the 2nd set) BTW, they are from 2 different company. So now, I've got a brand new, sturdy, quite nice bi-fold door sitting inside my master toilet (actually 2 sets, cos I got 2 doors for my master toilet ) and I don't know what to do with it.... i also don't like how the handle is done for the 1st set looks very difficult to close. how much did it cost you? Bro... you can just DIY yourself and paste some rubber or styloform at the side... can buy the rubber @ the HOMEFIX. save the money .. no need to spend extra... oh really is the rubber magnetic? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dmay 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 i also don't like how the handle is done for the 1st set looks very difficult to close. how much did it cost you? I have not look at the final bill yet, thing it's ard $300+ Anyway, the bi-fold part of the door is different. Hmm... you see, the 1st one it closes this way. As for the 2nd one, I don't hv a pix showing the fold, but if you realised, there is a centre pc (where the lock sits) which is fixed. Then the 2 panel will be 'tuck' into it... not sure if you understand what I mean, but think it's safer if there are young kids @ home. Will try to take a pix of it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 I have not look at the final bill yet, thing it's ard $300+ Anyway, the bi-fold part of the door is different. Hmm... you see, the 1st one it closes this way. As for the 2nd one, I don't hv a pix showing the fold, but if you realised, there is a centre pc (where the lock sits) which is fixed. Then the 2 panel will be 'tuck' into it... not sure if you understand what I mean, but think it's safer if there are young kids @ home. Will try to take a pix of it. Which one do you think is safer? 1st or 2nd? I think I prefer this one, seems sturdy and safe, $380. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 personally never seen or touched. but shouldn't shake a lot. what are you worried about? but i think the top one (in my post) is cheaper and less sturdy than the bottom one ($380), imho. i think i'll get the bottom one ($380) i also don't like how the handle is done for the 1st set looks very difficult to close. how much did it cost you? oh really is the rubber magnetic? For top mount track bi-fold, i actually dun have much worries, just that dunno whether the opening and closing will be smooth because the bottom of the doors are not guided by a track in that sense. It may be smooth in the beginning but after prolonged daily usage, dunno what will happey - robustness? For both top and bottom mount track bi-fold, the below track accumulate dirt and moisutre, so u'll see dirt (black colour one) clogged up at the corners and the only way to clean it is with, i dunno, a stick and cloth? Anyway if either one of the 2 tracks gone, the door also cannot open liao, so the bottom one to be is redundant, provided the top track has certain level of robustness. But i am also looking at a 3rd kind of door which is also bi-fold, but operates on hinges instead of tracks. You can see this commonly in newly built flats in the recent years, but it is wood. Kinda got used to it coz i had it last time, but the locking mechanism not so good la.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 I have not look at the final bill yet, thing it's ard $300+ Anyway, the bi-fold part of the door is different. Hmm... you see, the 1st one it closes this way. As for the 2nd one, I don't hv a pix showing the fold, but if you realised, there is a centre pc (where the lock sits) which is fixed. Then the 2 panel will be 'tuck' into it... not sure if you understand what I mean, but think it's safer if there are young kids @ home. Will try to take a pix of it. So the first one operates on hinges i see? The 2 'rings' there is for us to hold to pull/push the door isit? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chipee 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 Hi, I'm using top and bottom mount track bi-fold door. Maintenance is really tough as dirt gets in easily. Gotto clean & scrub weekly. Luckily got Mr. Muscle to help me. Regretted not using glass door last time for the bathroom Hi gantan88, my mum's using the pvc bi-fold from HDB upgrading. Work on hinges & easier to maintain, not nice though Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
necrosis 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 Yes Nec better ask when your time comes but from what i understand there should be a range in a catalog you can choose from yups....got the one like what ossify posted...uncle j got one book with grills/gates/bi-fold doors.... but i dunno abt hinges etc...!! just that one track at the top. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 Hi, I'm using top and bottom mount track bi-fold door. Maintenance is really tough as dirt gets in easily. Gotto clean & scrub weekly. Luckily got Mr. Muscle to help me. Regretted not using glass door last time for the bathroom Hi gantan88, my mum's using the pvc bi-fold from HDB upgrading. Work on hinges & easier to maintain, not nice though I guess this is the one that i am talking about. THe bi-fold door with hinges come standard with HDB. Not so nice, but with hinges, easier for maintenance.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dmay 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 Which one do you think is safer? 1st or 2nd? I think I prefer this one, seems sturdy and safe, $380. Ya, I would think this one is more sturdy. But I paid lesser then $380, and that's thru' contractor. I'm sure you can get it cheaper Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dmay 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 So the first one operates on hinges i see? The 2 'rings' there is for us to hold to pull/push the door isit? Hi, ya, the 2 'rings' are for pull/push. But this is also a top-hung door. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dmay 0 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 yups....got the one like what ossify posted...uncle j got one book with grills/gates/bi-fold doors.... but i dunno abt hinges etc...!! just that one track at the top. Hi, I got 2 different design of top-hung door and the material used very different. The 1st one very good to slide, smooth, think it's metal ball-bearing kind. The 2nd one not as smooth, look into the track can see something blue, not sure what material thot. My hubby say shd be ok after some lubrication, I hope so too... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 9, 2009 Ya, I would think this one is more sturdy. But I paid lesser then $380, and that's thru' contractor. I'm sure you can get it cheaper the $380 is made of aluminum and glass, yours is aluminum and acrylic the $380 don't have rings to pull, yours have Share this post Link to post Share on other sites