ossify 1 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 considering getting this for my living room as HTPC, will cost $850. Black Chassis with 512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330 AMD Athlon X2 6850e Dual-Core Processor (1.8GHz, 512Kx2, 2C) Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit (English) 2GB (1X2GB) DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz Memory Dell Consumer Wireless Keyboard and Mouse Bundle 320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive with Native Command Queuing Single Drive: 8X DVD+/- RW Front Ports Two USB 2.0 connectors One headphone connector One 4-in-1 memory card reader Rear Ports One microphOne connector One line-out connector One VGA connector One RJ45 connector (10/100/1000) two USB 2.0-compliant connectors two eSATA connectors one HDMI connector Dimensions & Weight Height: 197.6mm (7.8") Width: 197.6mm (7.8") Depth: 89mm (3.4") Weight: 1.6kg (3.53lb) Power 65 W with UMA 75 W with MXM Graphics card Memory DIMM slots: 2 available bought together with Dell™ V313W Wireless All-In-One Inkjet total cost $848.16 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alamak 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2009 bought together with Dell™ V313W Wireless All-In-One Inkjet total cost $848.16 am also considering the zino or the mac mini. hope to see your review of the zino soon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 (edited) am also considering the zino or the mac mini. hope to see your review of the zino soon. er my review will only come next year my reno haven't even start hacking (hopefully start in 10 days time!!!) but i did read up on it before i decided what configurations to use see this link and this link Edited December 4, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 er my review will only come next year my reno haven't even start hacking (hopefully start in 10 days time!!!) but i did read up on it before i decided what configurations to use see this link Will it be on time for you to move in before CNY then? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 (edited) Will it be on time for you to move in before CNY then? i seriously hope so 14-21 dec : hacking. 21dec-21 jan : major reno. Edited December 4, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 i seriously hope so 14-21 dec : hacking. 21dec-21 jan : major reno. did you find a main con or you find individual contractors for your reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 did you find a main con or you find individual contractors for your reno? individual workers on a sidenote... Ikea delivery (PTC) didn't deliver as promised. Both the Ikea sales personnel and the PTC sales personnel assured me that my items would be properly wrapped in plastic before delivery but out of 4 items, only 1 item was partially wrapped to prevent the drawers from falling out while moving. This lack of protection caused damage to 1 item (from what I can see). I called them to resolve and they promised to call me back within 10 minutes but no response in the last 30 minutes. This is rather disappointing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 individual workers on a sidenote... Ikea delivery (PTC) didn't deliver as promised. Both the Ikea sales personnel and the PTC sales personnel assured me that my items would be properly wrapped in plastic before delivery but out of 4 items, only 1 item was partially wrapped to prevent the drawers from falling out while moving. This lack of protection caused damage to 1 item (from what I can see). I called them to resolve and they promised to call me back within 10 minutes but no response in the last 30 minutes. This is rather disappointing. if i am not wrong, you can refund your money within a period of time if you are unsatisfied with the ikea goods with no questions asked. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 4, 2009 if i am not wrong, you can refund your money within a period of time if you are unsatisfied with the ikea goods with no questions asked. thanks, i know about the 100-day return policy but these items are AS-IS, so no refunds. i'm not trying to refund, i want them to wrap the items (as promised) and to make good (whatever damages caused due to their fault) because to me, this seems like misrepresentation. manager just called me to say (paraphrased) : we did wrap the items at our side but before items were delivered, we unwrapped it and delivered it unwrapped my reply : it could be that the items were wrapped and delivered unwrapped, or that the items were not wrapped and were delivered unwrapped. either case, the item is damaged because the item was unwrapped, which is not as promised. i see it delivered unwrapped when i was promised wrapped, and i see damage, so that's a problem. shall see how it pans out. worst case situation is to relaminate Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 (edited) just want to update, confirmed my hacking contractor, Designer House. $1000 for hacking of 52 ft of wall, inclusive of HDB permit (they are pretty fast on the application of HDB permit too, at least for me) and clearing of debris. also want to share something i am interested to add to my house.. an Air-tight rubbish chute hopper! MAXDEN manufactures a patented Air-Tight Rubbish Chute Hoppers The most common complaint about rubbish chute hoppers is that cockroaches and foul odours could infiltrate into the residential apartments, thus contaminating it with germs, mold, bacteria and other invisible undesirables. MAXDEN has solved this problem! It has incorporated a patented, self-sealing, magnetic-pneumatic gasket into its hopper design. This Air-Tight rubbish chute hopper will shut out cockroaches. Guaranteed! Features PSB - approved 1/2 hr fire-rating - Tested to Singapore standard ISO 3008: 1976, BS 476 part 22:1987 - Stainless steel hairline finish - Air-tight, self-closing - 3 years warrantly - MAXDEN 1 Normanton Park #02-157 Singapore 118998 Tel : +65 6278 3552 Fax : +65 6377 0284 Email : enquiry@maxden.com.sg Edited December 6, 2009 by ossify Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SGBuzz 0 Report post Posted December 6, 2009 also want to share something i am interested to add to my house.. an Air-tight rubbish chute hopper! MAXDEN manufactures a patented Air-Tight Rubbish Chute Hoppers The most common complaint about rubbish chute hoppers is that cockroaches and foul odours could infiltrate into the residential apartments, thus contaminating it with germs, mold, bacteria and other invisible undesirables. MAXDEN has solved this problem! It has incorporated a patented, self-sealing, magnetic-pneumatic gasket into its hopper design. This Air-Tight rubbish chute hopper will shut out cockroaches. Guaranteed! Features PSB - approved 1/2 hr fire-rating - Tested to Singapore standard ISO 3008: 1976, BS 476 part 22:1987 - Stainless steel hairline finish - Air-tight, self-closing - 3 years warrantly - MAXDEN 1 Normanton Park #02-157 Singapore 118998 Tel : +65 6278 3552 Fax : +65 6377 0284 Email : enquiry@maxden.com.sg Interesting! How much ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Ossify, You are using Robina LF? Can share any thoughts on this brand? I am deciding btw Pergo Family or Robina... Lena from Floor Option quite friendly but after a while i haven confirm with her, no news from her liao :-p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
necrosis 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 if i am not wrong, you can refund your money within a period of time if you are unsatisfied with the ikea goods with no questions asked. not 100% true. they will question and very hesitant and give lots of excuses before refunding. even if it's fully wrapped, unopened etc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gantan88 0 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 for my case, laminate on vinyl would be better than laminate on cement as the vinyl is non-porous while the cement screed is porous. vinyl tile is very thin 2mm so won't elevate much. as for number of tiles, just consult the contractor and ask about wastage. i presume they will use the cheapest material they can get anyway so can't get cheaper than that. any thing i should be wary of? eg. fake paint, fake plaster, fake hollow block how much are you spending on rewiring? should be around there thanks! Paiseh i just saw this reply. Bro Ossify, You are right that vinyl is non-porous so laminate over vinyl see,s better :-) I am doing this to my 2 bedrooms. I hope there wun be any problem. Anyway bedroom so small, after u put in the bed, wardrobe, tables etc, not much walking space left... so cheaper option is to laminate over. I have come to the stage of rewiring yet... hopefully it does not exceed $1200.... any good elect contractor to recommend? If not i will just engage whatever contractor my I.D recommends. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted December 7, 2009 Ossify, You are using Robina LF? Can share any thoughts on this brand? I am deciding btw Pergo Family or Robina... Lena from Floor Option quite friendly but after a while i haven confirm with her, no news from her liao :-p Hmm I did share my thoughts on this already.. see here Paiseh i just saw this reply. Bro Ossify, You are right that vinyl is non-porous so laminate over vinyl see,s better :-) I am doing this to my 2 bedrooms. I hope there wun be any problem. Anyway bedroom so small, after u put in the bed, wardrobe, tables etc, not much walking space left... so cheaper option is to laminate over. I have come to the stage of rewiring yet... hopefully it does not exceed $1200.... any good elect contractor to recommend? If not i will just engage whatever contractor my I.D recommends. nope, but generally if you want less "responsibility", you use the one your ID recommends, but make sure the price is not overkill. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites