ossify

My Cosy Home In Holland

Day 23

2 men came today, continued with toilet floor tiles and painting oil sealer, electrician came to do trunking

Toilet floor tiles done

wcfloor.jpg

Vanity area in toilet

wcvanity.jpg

Electrician doing trunking

trunking.jpg

Trunkings across the living room

trunking3.jpg

Concealed socket through my MBR wall

concealed.jpg

Total cost for the day's work: $200

Hacking 50ft walls and clearing of debris: $1000

Accumulated cost for labour: $4700 (including clearing of debris)

Accumulated cost for raw materials: $2340.21

Total reno bill as of now: $8040.21

My electrician told me my plumbing costs is changed. He wants $1000, instead of the agreed $900. I decided not to let his plumber friend do plumbing. He shall focus on electrical works.

Another plumber quoted me a price, which is lower, but subjected to change. I asked him to come again for site visit next week.

Also decided not to let the workers do painting anymore. 4 days to paint just the base coat of oil sealer seems too slow to me. I will have to source alternative painter. My 3rm required 20L (or 4 cans) of oil sealer base coat. I think they painted 2 or 3 coats of oil sealer. Seems rather overkill :D

Edited by ossify

Went to buy some sanitary items today

RAF concealed single lever shower (no display item and forgot to take pictures) from Poh Joo $90 (for my MBR shower)

TA83_tn.png

RAF kitchen sink tap from Poh Joo $120 (for my 80cm kitchen sink)

rafsinktap.jpg

Square bidet tap from GR Link $10 (for my toilet)

bidettap.jpg

Bought a tap for my sink from GR Link $39 (looks like this but forgot to take pic)

tappr.jpg

WC I am interested to buy from GR Link $200 (but delivery add $25)

59939008.jpg

Tried to get 707 Compact but prices were all above $170. Rather disappointed.

Edited by ossify

Went to buy some sanitary items today

Tried to get 707 Compact but prices were all above $170. Rather disappointed.

where's the lowest price you found? me also looking for 707 compact.

Day 23

2 men came today, continued with toilet floor tiles and painting oil sealer, electrician came to do trunking

Hey ossify,

for ur 2nd pic in this post, i thought dat maybe u could have aligned the floor tiles with the wall tiles.. cus they looked to be of the same size, or was the floor tile continued from left and right dats why cannot align?

but anyways, ur progress is good toooo! :D

where's the lowest price you found? me also looking for 707 compact.

$170 nett but not confirmed yet.

Then how the plumbers drill holes when doing those water pipings?

Plumber tell tiler size and position, tiler drill hole before tiling.

Hey ossify,

for ur 2nd pic in this post, i thought dat maybe u could have aligned the floor tiles with the wall tiles.. cus they looked to be of the same size, or was the floor tile continued from left and right dats why cannot align?

but anyways, ur progress is good toooo! :D

The tiler aligned from the other side. Should I ask him to redo? :D

Edited by ossify

which shop? thanks

Some places they sell cheaper i think because they give the shower head is those plastic cheapo kind. I got mine at $170 together with basins, WCs and stuffs and after some negotiation. Initially quoted to me is $190.

IMM got one 707 shop selling at $180 i think. If it is near yr place, can get it, cos u travel far just to get it at $170 also not much difference....

The tiler aligned from the other side. Should I ask him to redo? :D

If ur toilet bowl is sitting in the middle of this space, then maybe no need, cus now its all empty space, dats why it sticks out.

and for me, we specifically told the tiler to tile in alignment.... so i will notice....

but if ure rushing, and can live with this not very big mistake, den dun redo lor.. ;)

If ur toilet bowl is sitting in the middle of this space, then maybe no need, cus now its all empty space, dats why it sticks out.

and for me, we specifically told the tiler to tile in alignment.... so i will notice....

but if ure rushing, and can live with this not very big mistake, den dun redo lor.. ;)

My tiler say he do this way to save tiles. As my sink area is about 62cm, he already told me that the wall tiles will have a gap at left and right side. If I align my bottom tiles similarly, it will mean that I will have a gap at both ends, which is disastrous. He will also need to use 3 tiles instead of 2.

He also told me that once the grouting is done, I will not be able to see the lines :D I guess my multi colour grouting will help.

Anyway, that big empty space will be covered by my cupboard below the basin.

Edited by ossify

My tiler say he do this way to save tiles. As my sink area is about 62cm, he already told me that the wall tiles will have a gap at left and right side. If I align my bottom tiles similarly, it will mean that I will have a gap at both ends, which is disastrous. He will also need to use 3 tiles instead of 2.

He also told me that once the grouting is done, I will not be able to see the lines :D I guess my multi colour grouting will help.

Anyway, that big empty space will be covered by my cupboard below the basin.

ok la, den cannot see the difference in tiling liao ma.. ;)

Day 23

Total cost for the day's work: $200

Hacking 50ft walls and clearing of debris: $1000

Accumulated cost for labour: $4700 (including clearing of debris)

Accumulated cost for raw materials: $2340.21

Total reno bill as of now: $8040.21

My electrician told me my plumbing costs is changed. He wants $1000, instead of the agreed $900. I decided not to let his plumber friend do plumbing. He shall focus on electrical works.

Another plumber quoted me a price, which is lower, but subjected to change. I asked him to come again for site visit next week.

Also decided not to let the workers do painting anymore. 4 days to paint just the base coat of oil sealer seems too slow to me. I will have to source alternative painter. My 3rm required 20L (or 4 cans) of oil sealer base coat. I think they painted 2 or 3 coats of oil sealer. Seems rather overkill :D

Hi Ossify, do you know the colour of the oil sealer, i am not sure if my contractor is going to put the base coat for me...

Hi ossify,

just want to ask, your hacking finished and cleared on the 3rd day. but your 2nd contractor continued with hacking of kitchen floor tiles after that as per your post on day 5? what about wall tiles? a bit confused as to who is actually doing the hacking...1st or 2nd contractor... thought hdb only limit hacking to 3 days?

Hi ossify,

just want to ask, your hacking finished and cleared on the 3rd day. but your 2nd contractor continued with hacking of kitchen floor tiles after that as per your post on day 5? what about wall tiles? a bit confused as to who is actually doing the hacking...1st or 2nd contractor... thought hdb only limit hacking to 3 days?

Cannot finish so carry on hacking? :)