ossify

My Cosy Home In Holland

Btw I got one burning question (no pun intended. :P)

Why did you choose a mobile induction cooker hob? Are there any pros and cons over those that are in built? what about your hood?

Guest Goobii

wah!!!!

HACKED so many walls...

Normally such will cost up to $1500 to $2000 for hacking and clearing deris ...

Yours at $1000 ????

Tat's DIRT cheap~!

Update us your final invoice for hacking and clearing deris later... mine overall cost me $1700

Serious, there is quite fair bit of hacking work. HDB still approved. :)

But what happen to the brown doorway frame? It is like... hacked halfway?

I only paid for hacking of walls. The brown arch was in the way of a wall that was to be hacked. I was quoted $1k for hacking and removal of all wood items in my house (arch, 7m feature wall, wall cabinets, build-in wardrobes. I don't feel it's worth paying $1k for hacking wood so I decided to just pay for wall hacking only.

Btw I got one burning question (no pun intended. :P)

Why did you choose a mobile induction cooker hob? Are there any pros and cons over those that are in built? what about your hood?

A mobile induction cooker hob is 1) easily replaceable 2) mobile 3) portable 4) uses less electricity 5) about 90% cheaper ($78 compared to $1000) 6) raised for easier cooking 7) uses normal 13A power sockets instead of 15A sockets

as for the hood, i am strongly considering not getting one as 1) not deep-frying 2) waste of space 3) expensive 4) uses electricity 5) requires maintenance

wah!!!!

HACKED so many walls...

Normally such will cost up to $1500 to $2000 for hacking and clearing deris ...

Yours at $1000 ????

Tat's DIRT cheap~!

Update us your final invoice for hacking and clearing deris later... mine overall cost me $1700

yes, my other quote for hacking of walls only was $1600.

that's my final invoice for hacking and clearing debris. $1000.

Edited by ossify

Hi macbart, yes I've got them as cabinet doors. The doors are expensive, so I waited for the doors then buy the cabinet.

Cost-saving, unless no hurry la. I'll dropby Alexandra Ikea once a while for a drink :drunk:

Hi ossify, I'm excited to see your home transformation. Back then, I had similar idea to open up the house.

Due to much constraint, & my "conservative" contractor, my home is oso very "conservative" now. haha!

I can't agreed more with the hood. Depends on your usage, I had it as a piece of decor to lightup my stove area only.

I should've exchange the hood for a good steam oven instead :furious:

Hi macbart, yes I've got them as cabinet doors. The doors are expensive, so I waited for the doors then buy the cabinet.

Cost-saving, unless no hurry la. I'll dropby Alexandra Ikea once a while for a drink :drunk:

Hi ossify, I'm excited to see your home transformation. Back then, I had similar idea to open up the house.

Due to much constraint, & my "conservative" contractor, my home is oso very "conservative" now. haha!

I can't agreed more with the hood. Depends on your usage, I had it as a piece of decor to lightup my stove area only.

I should've exchange the hood for a good steam oven instead :furious:

The doors are expensive because they are solid :P but i agree, if can wait, it pays to wait :P I am looking for ELGA mirror door, but so far haven't smelled it yet. Also sold out, so can't buy even if i want to. Help me look out for it if you pop by :D

Not having a hood is another incentive to use less oil, more healthy :D

I only paid for hacking of walls. The brown arch was in the way of a wall that was to be hacked. I was quoted $1k for hacking and removal of all wood items in my house (arch, 7m feature wall, wall cabinets, build-in wardrobes. I don't feel it's worth paying $1k for hacking wood so I decided to just pay for wall hacking only.

So who is going to hack the wooden arch for you? Or you have plan to re-use it?

Hi chipee, that sounds like a smart way to buy. Now that my wife and I are moving to the general area, we could try the same thing. :)

if i DIY hacking, will only cost me at most $400. but too bad i don't have HDB license :angry2:

There are just too many rules about what we can't do without a license that "D-I-Y culture", even for simple stuff that doesn't require a license, is stifled.

Ossify, yours is one t-blog I check daily. If I were wearing a hat, I'd take it off to you. If I had more time and if my renovation weren't nearing completion, I'd wanna try what you're doing (inspired by you, of course). :)

Keep the updates coming. Here's to a smooth and painless renovation of your place. :good:

What do people do if they dont have a hood?

You know, I never use a hood before, even if deep frying. There is a hood in my current place, but hey, that hood is spoilt but good cos it blocks the steam/oil from hitting the cabinet above.

People in renotalk always talk about hood like its a must-have and I never really considered otherwise.

You know, I never use a hood before, even if deep frying. There is a hood in my current place, but hey, that hood is spoilt but good cos it blocks the steam/oil from hitting the cabinet above.

People in renotalk always talk about hood like its a must-have and I never really considered otherwise.

u don't really need a hood. it really boils down to your own cooking habits. if u are only doing light cooking, then don't need. if u have a steam oven, u can use it to steam anything. u can use a normal oven to bake rather than deep fry chicken wings for example. u can cook a lot of stuffs just by using oven alone. :)

So who is going to hack the wooden arch for you? Or you have plan to re-use it?

I can hack it, no need permit ;) But we shall see.

Besides using a spoilt hood to block steam/oil, one can use any material that is not damaged by heat, moisture and oil. I am considering acrylic or glass, probably acrylic.

As I am using induction, steam/oil vapors would be minimized. Those using gas hobs would have more steam/oil vapors and heat.

For me, it's not a must-have. But if you operate a home restaurant, it's a must-have :D

u don't really need a hood. it really boils down to your own cooking habits. if u are only doing light cooking, then don't need. if u have a steam oven, u can use it to steam anything. u can use a normal oven to bake rather than deep fry chicken wings for example. u can cook a lot of stuffs just by using oven alone. :)

Besides not having a hood, I am also considering not having an oven. I can steam with induction, it's more efficient. Haven't baked before either. It's a lifestyle preference. Some need it, I don't.

Update: MIL giving us a convection oven. Hope it's useful, otherwise waste of space :D

Edited by ossify

Oh oh do you have a steam oven? I am tinking of getting a steam oven. I love technology. Heard that steam oven can bake, microwave and steam wor! Steady right!!

The panasonic one is very costly though.. $1,500 I saw at Best Denki.

Day 3

All hacked by noon. Handed over from 1st contractor after last payment.

noont.jpg

Closeup of the MBR and bathroom

closeupe.jpg

Kitchen exposed

kitchenn.jpg

My furniture waiting to be installed

furniture.jpg

My Living room

living.jpg

All in all, very satisfied with 1st contractor's efficiency in hacking and resolving problem. 50ft of wall hacked and cleared within 3 days (could have been 2 if hacker didn't forget to hack one part). Highly recommended.

Edited by ossify

bought some scented candles, tealight holder, cups from Ikea AS-IS today, all half priced :D would be useful in the future. $14.05 in total, inclusive of 5c plastic bag.

dsc06450v.jpg

Edited by ossify

update on this: after investigation, i was given 2 options, cash refund of the delivery charges in full or replacement of damaged parts (but need to wait for unspecified time)

i think i'll just take the $$. don't know how long they'll take to replace my parts.

update: decided on taking back the money. fully compensated for the full delivery charges. ie. free delivery. splendid :D my 2nd experience with ikea's delivery turned out to be positive in the end. will be expecting another delivery this friday, hope nothing goes wrong :D

Edited by ossify