Sue79

Tiles..laminates..hack..overlay?help!

Hi Renotalkers, need your opinions on the following ideas which I have in mind. Does it cut cost significantly? Or issit better just to hack everything & replace with new ones? Any pros & cons of the following actions?

Pls..do gimme ur advice big or small..If you have better ideas or alternatives, I'll be more than glad to heed wherever possible...All will be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot..

* Mine is a 5rm resale unit of abt 8yrs old and I am thinking of redoing the whole wall & floor tiles. As I have a budget to work with, I really need to plan my reno works esp. with the floorings and such...

1) Living - Hack & replace with homo tiles

2) Dining - To construct platform, so no hacking

3) 3 Bedrooms - Overlay with laminates

4) Kitchen

a) Flooring - Hack & replace with homo tiles ( Unsure if can just overlay?)

b) Wall - Hack & re-tile (Unsure if can just overlay?)

5) 2 Bathrooms

Really appreciate your advice...Thanks many²...

from what i know, hdb flat would allow overlay once (not exceeding 50mm thickness). however, personally i would prefer to hack and relay. generally cost for hacking and disposal is about $1 to $1.5 psf. hence, the additional cost to hack would be quite minimal.

Hi Renotalkers, need your opinions on the following ideas which I have in mind. Does it cut cost significantly? Or issit better just to hack everything & replace with new ones? Any pros & cons of the following actions?

Pls..do gimme ur advice big or small..If you have better ideas or alternatives, I'll be more than glad to heed wherever possible...All will be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot..

* Mine is a 5rm resale unit of abt 8yrs old and I am thinking of redoing the whole wall & floor tiles. As I have a budget to work with, I really need to plan my reno works esp. with the floorings and such...

1) Living - Hack & replace with homo tiles

2) Dining - To construct platform, so no hacking

3) 3 Bedrooms - Overlay with laminates

4) Kitchen

5) 2 Bathrooms

Really appreciate your advice...Thanks many²...

an experienced contractor wil b able to see if can overlay by checking the base tiles for hollow-ness etc...mine went for overlay...and the HDB when approving your reno permit will also review can overlay anot....but seriously if u r staying for long term, i will suggest hack and re-lay for 100% ease of mind... cheers...

from what i know, hdb flat would allow overlay once (not exceeding 50mm thickness). however, personally i would prefer to hack and relay. generally cost for hacking and disposal is about $1 to $1.5 psf. hence, the additional cost to hack would be quite minimal.

an experienced contractor wil b able to see if can overlay by checking the base tiles for hollow-ness etc...mine went for overlay...and the HDB when approving your reno permit will also review can overlay anot....but seriously if u r staying for long term, i will suggest hack and re-lay for 100% ease of mind... cheers...

Thanks Santav & Eiffel76. Yeah....I guess so its much safer to hack & relay the tiles back. I went to ask around quite a no. of Id firms & contractors and was advised to do so...especially for the kitchens & toilets... :( So I guess, no choice oredi...

Yes, you should hack and replace with new ones.

Your 5 rms will probably cost your about 2k to 2.5k hacking fee. But this $$ cannot save have to spend.

Yeah...yeah...save now then later gotta pay double to repair the 'trouble'!...Thks chronograph!... :D

For me hor , I hack my living , toilet and kitchen floor and retile

But for the kitchen and toilet wall I overlay . (cos i feel that wall usually wouldn't have much problem)

bedroom i do laminate wood

For me hor , I hack my living , toilet and kitchen floor and retile

But for the kitchen and toilet wall I overlay . (cos i feel that wall usually wouldn't have much problem)

bedroom i do laminate wood

Yeah...I asked one Id liao..but they say...if overlay walls, make the bathroom look smaller...so I dunno how significant it would be leh..but I was thinking..couldn't be so much smaller rite..how thick can the tiles be mah...hmm... :unsure:

For me, I chose to overlay the floor and wall for my 2 toilets. Mine is also a resale flat, about 6 years old. I thought at least I keep the original hdb tiling. At least if there is any problem with water seepage next time, I prob won't kana 100% of the repair work for the water seepage by HDB, I don't know lei.