blackcar

My Cheapo Reno By Ah Soon

DIY

2) Installation steps :

a) clean the area and spray the wetting solution on the glass surface.

b) make sure yr decal total area larger by 2 mm at least, u can trim it off after installaton.

c) peel off the decal and spray it with wetting solution on the adhesive.

d) starts from the top, then used the plastic scraper to push out the bubbles. For stubborn bubbling, no worries, just give a small cut on the area, push out the air inside.

e) remove the excess with the super sharp cutter.

Enjoy DIYing!!!

CIMG0641.jpg

CIMG0643-1.jpg

CIMG0645.jpg

CIMG0639-1.jpg

Edited by blackcar

Blackcar - you certainly walk the IKEA talk which is "You don't need to be rich to be clever!" You have such great deco ideas w/o having to buy a huge hole in the pocket. Love the decal DIY idea.

I have a question on doing this. Sorry if the Q sounds silly but I'm NOT a DIY person and my husband is even worse with his hands. In fact, all the drilling I do....sigh.....

Reading your instructions on sticking the decal....if I spray the wetting solution (which I presume is the soapy water?) onto the adhesive part of the decal, how come it still can stick? Also, what sort of soapy water to use?

Blackcar - you certainly walk the IKEA talk which is "You don't need to be rich to be clever!" You have such great deco ideas w/o having to buy a huge hole in the pocket. Love the decal DIY idea.

I have a question on doing this. Sorry if the Q sounds silly but I'm NOT a DIY person and my husband is even worse with his hands. In fact, all the drilling I do....sigh.....

Reading your instructions on sticking the decal....if I spray the wetting solution (which I presume is the soapy water?) onto the adhesive part of the decal, how come it still can stick? Also, what sort of soapy water to use?

Hi, glad that u like it. Hmm u r the one doing all the drilling ah? Wow!!! I salute u!!

The wetting solution refers to the soapy water. Yes, spray it mildly onto the adhesive part of the decal, why it still stick, errr no idea. By spraying the soaping water will result the adhesive to be less effective. In this way u will able to make slight adjustment during the process.

enjoy DIYing ya!!!

Wow blackcar, my turn to salute u. U really loves diy decals a lot. But u turn boring piece of glass into something nice, esp with the floral designs, I LIKE!

Now u make me urgh to go Ikea & Daiso shopping lor.

Edited by pbtgal

Wow blackcar, my turn to salute u. U really loves diy decals a lot. But u turn boring piece of glass into something nice, esp with the floral designs, I LIKE!

Now u make me urgh to go Ikea & Daiso shopping lor.

Thanks thanks!!! If u like DIY decal go for it. Is quite simple and fun too and most importantly cheap and nice.

all your floral decals makes me go Wow. :wub:

Peifu u, u really have the time and patience to do it!

I never knew IKEA got sell decals. which IKEA u went? how much is it?

all your floral decals makes me go Wow. :wub:

Peifu u, u really have the time and patience to do it!

I never knew IKEA got sell decals. which IKEA u went? how much is it?

Thanks, is quite easy to do it actually. If i can do it, u can do it too, what i find most difficult part on the decal DIY is ....peeling the sticker off!!! lolz

I got the florals decal from Alexandra Ikea, damage is $29.

Thanks, is quite easy to do it actually. If i can do it, u can do it too, what i find most difficult part on the decal DIY is ....peeling the sticker off!!! lolz

I got the florals decal from Alexandra Ikea, damage is $29.

no no i tink i am different from you, i cannot do anything right for ART. esp the bubbles part, where i find it the most tricky. envy your nimble fingers! $29.00 still quite okay leh, its just that u need loads of patience to do it. i also got 1 floral decals on my wall, am wondering if i peel it off, dunno the paint will come out together with it or not leh

hmm i doubt it will damage the paint on the wall, if u peel it off slowly. Forgot to mention that the decal from Ikea, comes in 4 pcs of the identical floral pictures and not as what u see that i had posted. In this way, u can do yr own design, as for my design, I copy from Ikea, lolz.

Thanks blackcar for the instructions. Will try it when I move to my new place. By the way, I live near Rivervale Mall in Sengkang and there is a hardware shop that sells wall decals/stickers, they have a good range too. Prices from $10 to $20. I am thinking of buying but afraid I dunt have deft hands to stick them well..............hmmmmm......

Oh, just to clarify, when I said I do the drilling, I actually meant like drill the door hinges type of drilling!!! ha!ha! sekali you think I so "handyman".....NOT..........hope my DIYing will be as successful as yours!

Hi, glad that u like it. Hmm u r the one doing all the drilling ah? Wow!!! I salute u!!

The wetting solution refers to the soapy water. Yes, spray it mildly onto the adhesive part of the decal, why it still stick, errr no idea. By spraying the soaping water will result the adhesive to be less effective. In this way u will able to make slight adjustment during the process.

enjoy DIYing ya!!!

Thanks blackcar for the instructions. Will try it when I move to my new place. By the way, I live near Rivervale Mall in Sengkang and there is a hardware shop that sells wall decals/stickers, they have a good range too. Prices from $10 to $20. I am thinking of buying but afraid I dunt have deft hands to stick them well..............hmmmmm......

Oh, just to clarify, when I said I do the drilling, I actually meant like drill the door hinges type of drilling!!! ha!ha! sekali you think I so "handyman".....NOT..........hope my DIYing will be as successful as yours!

Oh i thought when u mentioned drilling, as in drill a hole onto a concrete wall. Anyway, not bad lah, at least u willingly to do it. As for the decal, i would suggest u get it from Daiso instead to try out, reason is simple, cheap cheap cheap, before u buy better quality and expensive decal. Remember to post pics after DIYing ya. If you need more infro on the DIYing, do shout out.

Good luck!!