spearhawk

Gek Jin Package Price

1 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles for Living Room (600X600)mm

2 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles Skirting for Living Room

3 Bedroom Heavy Duty Laminate Floor/ or Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles (600x600)mm

4 Bedroom Heavy Duty Laminate Skirting/ or Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles

5 Construct Sink Support with Homogeneous Tiles

6 Construct Stove Support with Homogeneous Tiles

7 Construct Chopping Slab with Homogeneous Tiles

8 Construct 2" High Cabinet Base

9 Construct 2" High Fridge Base with Tiles

10 Construct 2" High Washing Machine Base with Tiles

11 Supply and Install Sink Support Sliding Door

12 Supply and Install Cooker Sliding Door

13 Conceal Sink Support Outlet Pipe

14 Conceal Washing Machine Outlet Pipe

15 Sink Support Connect Piping

16 Washing Machine Connect Piping

17 Living Room, Dining Room Simple Cornices

18 Kitchen Entrance 1 Pair of Simple Cornices

19 Plaster Living Room, Bedroom Grooving Line

20 Install 1 set Instant Heater

21 Install 1 set Aluminium Clother Hanger

22 Alter Main Door and Main Gate

23 Whole House Acid Washing

24 Supply Labour to Install Common Toilet Accessories

25 Supply Labour to Install Main Toilet Accessories

26 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles for Kitchen Floor

27 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles for 2 Toilet Floors

28 Water Proofing for Kitchen

29 Water Proofing for 2 Toilets

30 Master Toilet Bifold Door

31 Kitchen Toilet Bifold Door

32 Whole House Aluminium Grille

33 Whole House Aluminium Grille Add Round Edge

34 Bedroom Simple Cornices

35 Install Whole House Copper Piping

36 Whole House Painting (Wall and Ceiling)

37 Paint Gate and all Pipes

38 Paint Main Door, Room Doors and Door Frames

39 Install Bedroom Doors

40 Install 1 set 10ft Kitchen Cabinets

41 Install 1 set 10ft Kitchen Solid Work Top

42 Install ABS Trimming for Cabinets, 2 pieces of Glasses

43 Install 1 set Stainless Steel Dish Drainer

44 Install Stainless Steel Cabinet Handle

45 To Box Up Kitchen Main Pipe

46 Haulage Fee and Hacking

For all the above, the package will cost $11,888 for a 5 room HDB. Is it worth it?

Of cos, there will be additional stuff that needs to be added like electricity, kitchen + toilets wall tiles etc...

Tiling & Wet Work

Hacking & Dismantling?

1 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles for Living Room (600X600)mm

2 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles Skirting for Living Room

3 Bedroom Heavy Duty Laminate Floor/ or Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles (600x600)mm

4 Bedroom Heavy Duty Laminate Skirting/ or Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles

26 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles for Kitchen Floor

27 Heavy Duty Homogeneous Tiles for 2 Toilet Floors

28 Water Proofing for Kitchen

29 Water Proofing for 2 Toilets

5 Construct Sink Support with Homogeneous Tiles

6 Construct Stove Support with Homogeneous Tiles

7 Construct Chopping Slab with Homogeneous Tiles

8 Construct 2" High Cabinet Base

9 Construct 2" High Fridge Base with Tiles

10 Construct 2" High Washing Machine Base with Tiles

Door

11 Supply and Install Sink Support Sliding Door

12 Supply and Install Cooker Sliding Door

22 Alter Main Door and Main Gate

30 Master Toilet Bifold Door

31 Kitchen Toilet Bifold Door

39 Install Bedroom Doors

Plumbling Work

13 Conceal Sink Support Outlet Pipe

14 Conceal Washing Machine Outlet Pipe

15 Sink Support Connect Piping

16 Washing Machine Connect Piping

35 Install Whole House Copper Piping

Painting,Plastering&Cornices

17 Living Room, Dining Room Simple Cornices

18 Kitchen Entrance 1 Pair of Simple Cornices

34 Bedroom Simple Cornices

19 Plaster Living Room, Bedroom Grooving Line

36 Whole House Painting (Wall and Ceiling)

37 Paint Gate and all Pipes

38 Paint Main Door, Room Doors and Door Frames

Carpentry Work

40 Install 1 set 10ft Kitchen Cabinets

41 Install 1 set 10ft Kitchen Solid Work Top

42 Install ABS Trimming for Cabinets, 2 pieces of Glasses

43 Install 1 set Stainless Steel Dish Drainer

44 Install Stainless Steel Cabinet Handle

45 To Box Up Kitchen Main Pipe

Windows&grilles

32 Whole House Aluminium Grille

33 Whole House Aluminium Grille Add Round Edge

Misc Work

20 Install 1 set Instant Heater

21 Install 1 set Aluminium Clother Hanger

24 Supply Labour to Install Common Toilet Accessories

25 Supply Labour to Install Main Toilet Accessories

23 Whole House Acid Washing

46 Haulage Fee and Hacking

For all the above, the package will cost $11,888 for a 5 room HDB. Is it worth it?

Of cos, there will be additional stuff that needs to be added like electricity, kitchen + toilets wall tiles etc...

It's not that easy to comment whether is it worth or not as the price breakdown for each item. In total price it looks ok.

Let's see if after breakdown would it be ok. See my Query below.

1. From what i see from the quotation here i would assume that your 5room HDB is a New flat as i didn't see any hacking and dismantling done.

If there is no hacking and dismantling of stuff why would there be Haulage fee in the first place.

2. I never heard of "Heavy duty" Laminate floor/skirting. As to my knowledge the price for laminate is different from Heavy duty Homogenous tiles.

Homogenous Tiles is slightly more pricey.

3. How install bedroom doors, the quotation didn't specify how many doors. Which is important.

4. As for the plumbling work, it mentions "Install Whole House Copper Piping" so why is there other charges for "Washing Machine Connect Piping" &

"Sink Support Connect Piping"?

5. Are you sure u are going for copper piping rather than stainless steel piping? Stainless steel piping need not paint.

6. Regarding the Whole House Painting, Do make sure u check with your contractor regarding. "how many color for whole house", "what brand of paint".

7. Just curious about one thing. Constructing the sink support and stove support, is it your idea or the contractor idea? If it's your own idea i can't say anything. I believe if you browse thru the t-blog of the ppl in renotalk, you would more or less understand why i'm asking u this.

For me, I tried living with both concept before.

It's not wrong to have a sink and stove support, most resale flat tend to have their chute under the sink support. So every time when throwing things down the chute, you got to squad down thus bend your body & stretch your arm to open the chute then thrown the rubbish in. It could be tedious to do so.

8. Where's the corrugated paper? (Unless you dun mind having you flooring scratched by the contractor)

That's what i could comment after a quick browse. Furthermore you still have kitchen & Toilet wall tiling which is more expensive then the flooring and the electrical portion.

It's not that easy to comment whether is it worth or not as the price breakdown for each item. In total price it looks ok.

Let's see if after breakdown would it be ok. See my Query below.

1. From what i see from the quotation here i would assume that your 5room HDB is a New flat as i didn't see any hacking and dismantling done.

If there is no hacking and dismantling of stuff why would there be Haulage fee in the first place.

2. I never heard of "Heavy duty" Laminate floor/skirting. As to my knowledge the price for laminate is different from Heavy duty Homogenous tiles.

Homogenous Tiles is slightly more pricey.

3. How install bedroom doors, the quotation didn't specify how many doors. Which is important.

4. As for the plumbling work, it mentions "Install Whole House Copper Piping" so why is there other charges for "Washing Machine Connect Piping" &

"Sink Support Connect Piping"?

5. Are you sure u are going for copper piping rather than stainless steel piping? Stainless steel piping need not paint.

6. Regarding the Whole House Painting, Do make sure u check with your contractor regarding. "how many color for whole house", "what brand of paint".

7. Just curious about one thing. Constructing the sink support and stove support, is it your idea or the contractor idea? If it's your own idea i can't say anything. I believe if you browse thru the t-blog of the ppl in renotalk, you would more or less understand why i'm asking u this.

For me, I tried living with both concept before.

It's not wrong to have a sink and stove support, most resale flat tend to have their chute under the sink support. So every time when throwing things down the chute, you got to squad down thus bend your body & stretch your arm to open the chute then thrown the rubbish in. It could be tedious to do so.

8. Where's the corrugated paper? (Unless you dun mind having you flooring scratched by the contractor)

That's what i could comment after a quick browse. Furthermore you still have kitchen & Toilet wall tiling which is more expensive then the flooring and the electrical portion.

1) We are renovating a resale flat actually. Hacking is included under (46).

2) Will check what tiles are they offering.

3) I think they meant only effort to install the doors, not providing the doors. Anyway, will check too on this.

4) Actually, this is a package price as a whole that they are offering, so there is no breakdown.

5) Okie, will check if any extra charges to change to stainless steel.

6) Will check.

7) Like I said, this is a package price as a whole, so sink and stove support was included as default. Maybe I can check if can remove this and ask them to extend the kitchen cabinet. =)

8) Hmmmm....not sure what is corrugated paper for???

Thanks for the help!

Edited by spearhawk

1) We are renovating a resale flat actually. Hacking is included under (46).

2) Will check what tiles are they offering.

3) I think they meant only effort to install the doors, not providing the doors. Anyway, will check too on this.

4) Actually, this is a package price as a whole that they are offering, so there is no breakdown.

5) Okie, will check if any extra charges to change to stainless steel.

6) Will check.

7) Like I said, this is a package price as a whole, so sink and stove support was included as default. Maybe I can check if can remove this and ask them to extend the kitchen cabinet. =)

8) Hmmmm....not sure what is corrugated paper for???

Thanks for the help!

No Hard feeling spearhawk as my query is very straight-forward. (straight to the point)

Pardon me if u think my opinion is BIAS against them. Do keep your eyes and ears open when talking to them during final viewing of your house.

They would suggest you to do sink and stove support then conceal the outlet water piping of your kitchen sink alongside of the wall all the way to floortrap.

This is the only solution that they would come with, coz it is easier to do mah.

You can try to go against this idea and ask them to come up with other solution.

Solution 2 (i consider the above idea as Solution 1)

Sometimes they would even tell u not to conceal the outlet piping, leave it visible till the floor trap.

Excuses used: You can don't conceal the outlet pipe of your sink all the way to your floor trap, anyway only 2 or 3 of you staying here rite.

As long as you can live with it rite, it's ok mah.

Solution 3

End up if u have your own idea to conceal the piping. ie.below the tiles

Excuses used: they would tell you that it's against the HDB rules and regulations. blah blah blah...

asking for more $$ or worse come to worse they don't want to do it.

To be frank with you, I don't have a good impression of Gek Jin. During my search for renovation contractor, i did approach them

but their price is not cheap. Furthermore the design is really outdated.

Some of you may think that I'm asking too much out of Gek Jin. (eg. They are contractor what do u expect, designer style ah...)

As your question above asking me about corrugated paper. It is a cardboard type of material that comes in a big roll. When u lay the tiles or laminate already,

you don't want it to be scratch or stain while painting,plastering,tiling. You cover it on the floor to prevent damaging it.