elane1311

A Small Flat For 2 Happy Persons

uncomplete dressing table *missing glass top*

P1020659.jpg

P1020658.jpg

the dressing room wardrobe - supposed to be a whole straight row of purple colored glass but ID change to zig-zag pattern, which is the same as Guest room..Zig-zag pattern looks confusing, don't you think so?

P1020661.jpg

and this is VERY UGLY. i dunno what makes them think that i will accept this.

P1020664-1.jpg

Agree with Rondy, glass is more expensive, so maybe to earn more profit, your ID changed it...or your ID and the carpenter had mis-communicated on the wardrobe design. Check with him and ask him to change back to glass..

The poles for the L-shape is really ugly...it was a lazy way to do it.

need all of your opinion..the electrician fix the light in the middle of the living room, which is not above my dining table nor sofa. i think it looks weird, but my mum said it's ok? if need to shift, i have to ensure they shift else painting start tomorrow.

P1020653.jpg

P1020654.jpg

As for the lighting...u sure u want to put the lighting in the middle of the room...it really..out...neither here or there...

my 2 cents worth...i feel the lighting position very out....really neither here nor there...

and if the wardrobe doors should be glass, they should not change it without consulting you....the poles really cmi liao....very ugly....

P1020661.jpg
Versus
0812blk438afernvile21-337wardrobe.jpg

it's not a whole piece of glass door, but it's a mixture of white laminate with purple colored glass..the glass supposed to lay as 1 straight row, but now became zig zag pattern.

actually i think my ID forget that we dun want the zig zag design, and we prefer the original design. i dunno who should bear the consequence but do you know how they gonna rectify? dismantle the door and redo it? or can use something to cover up?

Agree with Rondy, glass is more expensive, so maybe to earn more profit, your ID changed it...or your ID and the carpenter had mis-communicated on the wardrobe design. Check with him and ask him to change back to glass..

The poles for the L-shape is really ugly...it was a lazy way to do it.

if the zig-zag pattern is laminate - it can be pasted over isn't it? but then, there will be ugly joint lines... agree with rondy and jaskel - do get him to change the entire door according to the original design.

actually i think my ID forget that we dun want the zig zag design, and we prefer the original design. i dunno who should bear the consequence but do you know how they gonna rectify? dismantle the door and redo it? or can use something to cover up?

Rectification depends on the relationship between your ID and the carpenter. I feel there will be cost argument and, hehe, you should stay away when ID settling this issue. On your part, just stick on that ID had forgotten the initial arrangement.

The most practical way correcting the problem is for the carpenter to strip off the laminate and re-apply.

The purpose of installing hanging lights is to create an ambience for specific area, to brighten up and making that area warmth and cozy.

Should this lighting was purchased for the living room, guess it would be nicer to shift it to that area. Likewise, it should shift to the dining area if you have bought it for that purpose.

Really need to do it before paintings are done.

i agree with the rest.

You should insist to have the wardrobe door change and be firm that you did told him your preference.

However, the ID may insist that you wanted the zig-zag, since there's no proof of your preference. But Just insist you want them to change and simply dislike the zigzag.

Share with you my experience, I have a partition done up to 85cm in height. But when delievered, the ID did a 1m, and insist it was agreed to be 1 m between she and my hubby. But of cos, both of us insist that 1m is way too high which we can't possibly wanted it, and was very firm that it must be 85cm. so ID did the change lor. of cos the unhappy is the carpenter, but I can't blame carpenter cos ID gave wrong instructions. And Im glad I insist the change, cos the result is much pleasing to the eye.

As for the lighting, was the lighting point originally given by HDB? did you ask to relocate?

If no, the perhaps check with your ID is there anyway to rectify and get the light more centred in the Living area or Dining area. cos being in the middle of no where, when you place your furnishing, it will be rather difficult cos there's no centre point. Then this nice light will lose its purpose - meaning when you chose this light, it is suppose to be part of the focus , yet now, it is out of focus le.

If mahjong tabe is place right below this light,then its ON FOCUS again! :P

:dancingqueen: ...super focus on the '4 legs' also... :dancingqueen:

folks..thanks for all of your opinions! i felt so lost to handle all these by myself but i told hubby it's a relief that i got a bunch of helpers in forum!!

well, i took half day leave and went up my flat just now..painting has already started before the electrician could adjust the light but i told my ID i want the light to be at the TV area and thus he said no issue and he can get the painter to come and touch up tomorrow.. well if it is patchy, then i will tell the painter to re-paint the ceiling again..

for the wardrobe, my ID reminded me that i actually accept the design over the phone, as he was telling me that the previous design was not possible due to the box-up on top of my wardrobe, plus there will be visible gaps btw the whole row of colored glass due to the wardrobe door.

he told me trust him with the staggered design and now it looks ugly because the colored glass was not up yet. But i told him what if the design looks complicated, because i want a simple, clean look wardrobe. His reply was if i am not pleased after the colored glass is up, he will do the changes. I was in a dilemma situation but somehow i got to TRUST him since i engaged him for the job. So i take the BET and see the final result.

as for the wood, i told him that i have proof that plywood is better than blockboard and i dun expect an answer from his carpenter but instead a refund (discount). :D

as of now, i am still satisfied with major stuffs. BUT the corner hanging bar, it's a MUST to change and i can't accept this UGLY pole in my wardrobe..lolx

ron:you reminded me of the MJ table..but my living is too small to put a permanenet MJ table under the light la..gonna do MJ in my dressing room!! lolx..and you are right MJ is the FOCUS in my hubby and my life!! :dancingqueen:

Hi Elane,

must ask the ID to change if u are really uncomfy...cos i guess end day things may in his opinion be nice...but may not be yr taste...i suggest u be firm about it....Hope all will turn well..:)

ron:you reminded me of the MJ table..but my living is too small to put a permanenet MJ table under the light la..gonna do MJ in my dressing room!! lolx..and you are right MJ is the FOCUS in my hubby and my life!! :dancingqueen:

Should find one day after your reno and play mj together.. :D