elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 so i can't ask him for deduction liao right? 2k+ for more than 1 mth effort leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 so i can't ask him for deduction liao right? 2k+ for more than 1 mth effort leh.. Still can ask for deduction or more freebies la...1 project he earn $2K...imagine he doing 3 or more projects at the same time... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 erm i want him to deduct because of the wood thing leh..is it mean? and how much should i ask? you got guideline for me? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 erm i want him to deduct because of the wood thing leh..is it mean? and how much should i ask? you got guideline for me? Hold on to the last 20% payment...let him complete your reno first..if not he cut corner on other area that u don't know then it become more worse...your other carpentry works completed? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 he will collect 50% from me on friday cos he will complete all carpentry by then. then remaining 20% is after the rest of the barangs: rectifications/mirros/backsplash etc are completed. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 he will collect 50% from me on friday cos he will complete all carpentry by then. then remaining 20% is after the rest of the barangs: rectifications/mirros/backsplash etc are completed. Wait till the carpentry works completed...then u c what u short of...like feature wall.. ...c he can give free not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 lolx..dun wan anything to delay HO..my things all plan swee swee liao..anyway suan le. for this 2k, he has a hard time to entertain me. i will tell him abt the wood and see what's he gonna say. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beany0811 1 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 he will collect 50% from me on friday cos he will complete all carpentry by then. then remaining 20% is after the rest of the barangs: rectifications/mirros/backsplash etc are completed. 20% for the final payment is not too bad already... our remaining payment is only 5% holding power has effectively reduced the moment 95% of the total cost was made.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 actually it depends what you are doing. for me, my reno figure was small and the no of items were not alot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 haha..actually i only paid 30%, so there is still an outstanding of 70%. i didn't do any feature wall, those wood pic that i post are from my kitchen cabinets. (the plywood pic is taken from someone T-blog) My TV will be mount to the wall directly. frankly, my ID is a nice guy, giving me freebies like back splash, 3 mirrors (1 at MBR toilet, 1 at dressing room, 1 at shoes cabinet). The freebies were requested only after i sign the agreement and paid the 30%. So he can actually reject me. by giving these freebies, he is alrdy making less profit. so i dunno how to open my mouth to ask to deduct..i felt that my ID should demand discount from the carpenter and return the $$ to me. the carpenter DARE TO SAY THAT BLOCKBOARD IS MORE EXPENSIVE THAN PLYWOOD and ask me to call up other manufacturers to check. Hehe, I took that plywood pic - it was a sample made by my carpenter for the joinery works in the house. Reading jaskel's informative post on wood [in another forum], it only makes sense that blockboard is NOT 'more expensive than plywood'. Jaskel is right for you to get some form of deduction since the initial contract is for you to get solid plywood. Getting warranty does not serve a better purpose here. If the cabinets are not going through heavy usage [water/heavy weights], they can outlast the warranty period. Meanwhile, it affects our mind knowing that the wood used are not durable enough. Hope things will settle in your favour, elane. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 will see what he say lor, i also dunno how much should i ask.. anyway i just text him to ask his painter to varnish/lacquer my doors..and he said ok. i think all in all, it's the carpenter rubbish, and i should demand my ID to get his carpenter to refund us. 1k? or 2k? Reiki i'm so envy that you are living in such a beautiful perfect house. Really thanks to your post abt plywood then i know i am getting a stupid blockboard..wahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 something for my hubby since he is not in town now.. what's missing now is the ORANGEY BACKSPLASH. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 need all of your opinion..the electrician fix the light in the middle of the living room, which is not above my dining table nor sofa. i think it looks weird, but my mum said it's ok? if need to shift, i have to ensure they shift else painting start tomorrow. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 (edited) uncomplete dressing table *missing glass top* the dressing room wardrobe - supposed to be a whole straight row of purple colored glass but ID change to zig-zag pattern, which is the same as Guest room..Zig-zag pattern looks confusing, don't you think so? and this is VERY UGLY. i dunno what makes them think that i will accept this. Edited September 9, 2009 by elane1311 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 the electrician called me 1 day before and said the pt is not centralised enough and i didn't expect the centralised is this kind leh..i think this is easy to solve, i can get them to chg tml. we never communicate abt this lighting pt because it was originally fixed by HDB and the electrician chg it. huh, the zig-zag CMI, then how? how to change the door? the L-shape pole i will definitely get to chg, luckily haven pay 50% to my ID else pay liao, hard to get them change man! boo~~~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites