Lise 0 Report post Posted September 5, 2009 you overlay the toilet? ya lor but the tile supplier sent the wrong tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 7, 2009 hope this time the 'wood picture' is clearer.. solid top is up last Sat And a 'dot knock' on my solid top - it's definitely not DUST Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 7, 2009 hope this time the 'wood picture' is clearer.. solid top is up last Sat And a 'dot knock' on my solid top - it's definitely not DUST Both the wood pic shown above are plywood with blockboard. It was the previous pic that u shown that I'm more doubted on. Using blockboard is more lightweight, cheaper and easier for the screws to screw on compare to plywood. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 hmm, i dunno where to find that piece of wood liao..anyway all the carpentry should be up by today. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
beany0811 1 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 Both the wood pic shown above are plywood with blockboard. It was the previous pic that u shown that I'm more doubted on. Using blockboard is more lightweight, cheaper and easier for the screws to screw on compare to plywood. hi jaskel, how do you tell? which is the blockwood portion, and which is the plywood portion? we were also scratching our heads over it when the carpentry was delivered; cos some looked abit funny. our carpentry is already up, but still interested to know. elan1311, sorry to hijack ur thread, but this topic is of interest to us too! don't wanna to kenna chopped by our ID/contractors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 it's ok..i wana studied too.. blockboard is the centre potion, which is sandwich by 2 plywoods. so it consider as cheaper alternatives to carpenter but not definitely not us! you should insist them using plywood, but i was chatting with my aunty and she knocked some sense to me as i'm paying 100pfr so i can't expect a plywood quality. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 it's ok..i wana studied too.. blockboard is the centre potion, which is sandwich by 2 plywoods. so it consider as cheaper alternatives to carpenter but not definitely not us! you should insist them using plywood, but i was chatting with my aunty and she knocked some sense to me as i'm paying 100pfr so i can't expect a plywood quality. $100pfr should be plywood quality. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 (edited) hi jaskel, how do you tell? which is the blockwood portion, and which is the plywood portion? we were also scratching our heads over it when the carpentry was delivered; cos some looked abit funny. our carpentry is already up, but still interested to know. elan1311, sorry to hijack ur thread, but this topic is of interest to us too! don't wanna to kenna chopped by our ID/contractors. If u want to know more about carpentry...u can visit this thread, where I written on about. www. myhometown .sg/Forum/tabid/84/forumid/22/postid/152671/view/topic/Default.aspx (delete the space between the .) Edited September 8, 2009 by jaskel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dyleen 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 those with layers one, are chipboard or plywood? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 Layered should be plywood. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tuababy 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 Elane, these are solid plywood. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dyleen 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 Layered should be plywood. thanks. means my id din cheat me. Initially I have doubts about the wood my id use for my TV feature wall. but when the TV guy came and mount and drill, say the wood was very hard, and claim my ID uses solid wood, I kinda feel relieved. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 8, 2009 unfortunately, i wasn't given solid wood. I was given blockboard. I went up to check the carpentry last night and spoke to the workers..in the start they dun wish to comment abt the wood, then i kept probing and was told it was blockboard. The workers then add on that the wood is getting more expensive so they have to replace solid wood with blockboard.. i was unhappy but i dunno what to say..maybe i should ask them to give me a 5yrs warranty.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 unfortunately, i wasn't given solid wood. I was given blockboard. I went up to check the carpentry last night and spoke to the workers..in the start they dun wish to comment abt the wood, then i kept probing and was told it was blockboard. The workers then add on that the wood is getting more expensive so they have to replace solid wood with blockboard.. i was unhappy but i dunno what to say..maybe i should ask them to give me a 5yrs warranty.. Deduct some $ from your ID, giving u warranty is of no use. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2009 hmm..you mean inform him now or after completion of reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites