PiggyBear

Hm At Tiong Bahru C",)

piggybear u are renovating ur existing place? if that is the caes where u gonna stay and place ur stuffs?

My 2 cents suggestion, IF POSSIBLE!!! do false ceiling throughout including the toilet ceiling too if the height within the HDB specification. In my opinion, is beyong repair, most of the contractor will tell you is not an issue. Usually they will hack off the damage area and patch it back. After six months later or so, yellow stain will appear and it will starts to have crack and the affected area will bulge.

the proper way to do it is the have to hack around the rebars to expose the rusty part. even the top part.. sand away the oxidise part, probably need to apply a coat of chemical to protect the rebar then re-cement it back.

if they simply just use cement to patch back whatever drop off, very soon it'll drop off again.

Blackcar, if do false ceiling hor, if there are further spalling hor, will the concrete lumps that drop off hit the false ceiling and cause damage?

the proper way to do it is the have to hack around the rebars to expose the rusty part. even the top part.. sand away the oxidise part, probably need to apply a coat of chemical to protect the rebar then re-cement it back.

if they simply just use cement to patch back whatever drop off, very soon it'll drop off again.

Blackcar, if do false ceiling hor, if there are further spalling hor, will the concrete lumps that drop off hit the false ceiling and cause damage?

Wah Chim le :P

But I will not go for fales ceiling cause later if the real ceiling fall again it will land on the fales ceiling one day too heavy the fales ceiling maybe will drop too... I dun know but I think so

Wah Chim le :P

But I will not go for fales ceiling cause later if the real ceiling fall again it will land on the fales ceiling one day too heavy the fales ceiling maybe will drop too... I dun know but I think so

that's my concern also lor

Yr method of repairing is correct but is due to the water seepage which resulted spalling concrete. Meaning, u repair that area, water still manage to seep into another area and so fort. So is like never ending issue, as the ceiling is old.

My fren brought a resale flat, he stays on the highest floor and on top of it is the water tank. After staying there for less than two years, water starts to seep into their ceiling. HDB will come and repair for free and my freb shld be happy rite?

No, bcos almost every two years the water seepage will recurrence. The hse will be like having minor renovation every two years or so, is a nightmare.

Ivy, my suggestion to allow the spalling concrete falls onto the false ceiling if the problems cannot be resolved. The concrete and false ceiling height shld be less than 6 inches. Hence the drop will not have a major impact and will wont cause the collapse of the enitire ceiling board. Then again, this suggestion is like doing a cover up job and sweep the problems under the carpet. Frankly, i hope someone will come out and provides a solid solution here. I did patch up my spalling conrete for my old flat, as it is on top of my shower area. Its been 6 months or so, it is still holding up good but not too sure for how long its will holds up. Imagine, bathing half way thru, the concrete drops on yr head!! Is no joke hor!!!

Anway, before you install the false ceiling for the whole area, make sure yr contractors repairs all the spalling concrete area in the proper way and not just using cement to patch up. Usually the symptom of water seepage, will be peeling of paint coat. Then yellowish stain will appear and the affected area will starts to have small cracks and bulge out then finally, the entire affected area will collapse. Yes, usually due to the oxidise of the rebar!!!

Edited by blackcar

true also abt the recurring seepage coming out from elsewhere. I think we are scaring happybear. hahahah my in law house also same thing... spalled, repaired, spalled again..... then they gave up liao. just paint it over...

haha same here. For those who wanna see the real thing, can come and view my old hse before it being sold. lolz

The kitchen ceiling i repaint it and paid extra cost for the repair of the spalling concrete too. After two years, recurrence of the spalling concrete!!!

Anyway, happbear, be happy ya and good luck on yr reno!!! Sorry to cause u so much concern!!!

P/s: Ivy, so have u settled down with yr new hse? I still have tons of boxes unpacked!!! haiz.........

same fate.. cos i lazy to do cleaning type.. so taking the longest time to clean up my place.. unpacked only like 20%... boxes are everywhere!!!!!!!!!! we are trying very very hard to shift in by this weekend.... but seems like quite unlikely leh

ehhh share share ur pictures leh

Wah very ver old house you have. I see liao if dun reno I dun dare to stay in the house look creepy with everything blue :o

Looks like your toilet ceiling is leaking thats why go one big patch.

Yup, think the hse is more than 60 yrs le ba. Is the very first batch HDB build after kampong demolish...  :sport-smiley-018: As for the big ptach it patch b4 but nw the big patch is dropping down...

Wow looking at the ceiling, spalling concrete. Make sure yr contractors knows how make it good. From my knowledge, is not easy to resolve this problem.
Coz it's a very old hse so even patch up, few yrs later will nid to be repatch again... Lk my toilet ceiling even patch liao few yrs later also drop out...  :(

yah...it really look very old...

the ceiling part very tricky. Hope u can resolve it...

Yup is indeed very tricky, will ask uncle see hw to resolve it... Actually living & both bed rm's ceiling still ok but very bad condition at kitchen & toilet  :(

piggybear u are renovating ur existing place? if that is the caes where u gonna stay and place ur stuffs?

Ivy yes we will b renovating the whole hse, either we rent a rm or move to my MIL place. As for our stuffs, uncle Soon said to move to his warehse. But of coz there will b a fee lah  :P

Edited by PiggyBear

Haha no lah won't scare me de lah, juz that will b very headache if nid to repatch very few yrs or months?  :furious:

haha same here. For those who wanna see the real thing, can come and view my old hse before it being sold. lolz

The kitchen ceiling i repaint it and paid extra cost for the repair of the spalling concrete too. After two years, recurrence of the spalling concrete!!!

Anyway, happbear, be happy ya and good luck on yr reno!!! Sorry to cause u so much concern!!!

blackcar thks, will see hw uncle Soon do for the ceiling. Hopefully won't need to repatch very 6 months, ar bo really headache!!!   :bangwall: