othello 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2009 oh, this 3S layout exactly same as mine (only dimensions slightly diff) @ commonwealth .... maybe we can share ideas on reno Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2009 oh, this 3S layout exactly same as mine (only dimensions slightly diff) @ commonwealth .... maybe we can share ideas on reno Hi othello, so have u finish ur reno work liao or lk me still looking for ids or contractors? Np we can share ideals on reno... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohck 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2009 I haven look for uncle yet will go look for him in few days time. Haha! that is not a balcony lah is actually part of the kitchen... Hee hee i wish to have a balcony at my 3rm tho. Hmm... my hubby & i still cracking our head duno wat to do wif the utility rm. If make it to store rm will be too big & sai yang. Hee hee mayb u guys can gif some ideals? Hi PiggyBear, Convert the utility room into a store room lah. It is very useful for a smaller unit as you can squeeze everything you want out-of-sight into it. That way, your unit will not look so cluttered. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 12, 2009 Hi PiggyBear, Convert the utility room into a store room lah. It is very useful for a smaller unit as you can squeeze everything you want out-of-sight into it. That way, your unit will not look so cluttered. k will take note, thks sohck for ur ideal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 12, 2009 (edited) Lk to ask, normally wat questions do u ask when u first meet up wif the Ids/Contractors for quote? U guys got any gd & cheap mover cum storage to recommend? Edited July 12, 2009 by PiggyBear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sohck 0 Report post Posted July 12, 2009 Lk to ask, normally wat questions do u ask when u first meet up wif the Ids/Contractors for quote? U guys got any gd & cheap mover cum storage to recommend? For me, the first meeting with ID/contractor is to run through my requirement: tell him what you want in the living, kitchen, toilet, etc etc. Then get him to give you a quotation for consideration. Standard questions would be: got GST? how long it takes to complete (especially Ah Soon)? got HDB license? what max price for tiles? what brand of laminate? ho many colours can you pick for painting? got use sealer before painting? cabinet what material? Basically any questions you have you may just ask it. No questions is stupid. Main objective here is to gauge the comfort level you have with the ID/contractor. Price can negotiate later. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 yup i agreed with Sohck. pricing wise of course is very impt. but then the ID/Contractor must be able to give you quality works, good workmanship and main thing is to be honest. no point getting the cheapest cheapest ones, and then giving you lousy carpentry works rite"? you also do not want to sign on the dotted line, then to discover a lot of hidden items and have to pay for it? communication & comfort level is also very impt too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 For me, the first meeting with ID/contractor is to run through my requirement: tell him what you want in the living, kitchen, toilet, etc etc. Then get him to give you a quotation for consideration. Standard questions would be: got GST? how long it takes to complete (especially Ah Soon)? got HDB license? what max price for tiles? what brand of laminate? ho many colours can you pick for painting? got use sealer before painting? cabinet what material? Basically any questions you have you may just ask it. No questions is stupid. Main objective here is to gauge the comfort level you have with the ID/contractor. Price can negotiate later. sohck & Pinklady : Thks for both of ur help, atleast nw i know wat to ask when first meet IDs/Contractors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 Uncle soon is really hard to get him called him a few times nv pick up my calls, think he muz b very busy Hee hee but today i finally meet him in person at my place, will get his quotation in 2 days time. Yeah ~~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
symbian 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 For me, the first meeting with ID/contractor is to run through my requirement: tell him what you want in the living, kitchen, toilet, etc etc. Then get him to give you a quotation for consideration. Standard questions would be: got GST? how long it takes to complete (especially Ah Soon)? got HDB license? what max price for tiles? what brand of laminate? ho many colours can you pick for painting? got use sealer before painting? cabinet what material? Basically any questions you have you may just ask it. No questions is stupid. Main objective here is to gauge the comfort level you have with the ID/contractor. Price can negotiate later. Another point to add, ask them hows the payment terms like. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
othello 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 Hi othello, so have u finish ur reno work liao or lk me still looking for ids or contractors? Np we can share ideals on reno... Hi PB, I got my keys in late May, haven start yet cos I 'm letting my bro-in-law stay there for about 6 mths. But my ideas have been runninng wild !!!! My Place comes with : Full A/C for all 3 rooms, vinyl-tile floor for living + bedrooms. Ceramic for kitchen. My Plans : I'm going for abit industral look, so just going to remove vinyl tiles in living and polish/improve the cement floor. both bedrooms prob going for laminate flooring(still exploring DIY) kitchen may have to RE-DO, toilet's condition is ok, but the tiles !! dunno why HDB likes to use pink/blue for its toilets' tiles, so obiang !! Will not be doing any major works, all furniture will be bought off the rack (no customisation) My thoughts : intend to use uitlity as laundry area cum store. I will want to keep this room open all the time as it'll make the whole flat brighter. The toilet's location is **** not here not there, in the middle .... the kitchen's area is awkward, the previous owner already hacked off the 2 walls, so still got no idea on kitchen layout. I also intend to hack a small hole in the toilet's upper wall (if premitted) to improve ventilation. (ps. my toilet is even narrower than yours 990cm ) What are your plans ? do share with us the quotations ! I'll def find it super useful. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 Another point to add, ask them hows the payment terms like. Oh k, thks symbian. Will take note of that Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 Hello PIGGYBEAR I am staying in Jalan Membina, very near to you. Last time, stayed in blk 29. The layout is the same as you but without the utility room. Do post pic for us to see. Good luck! Happy Welcome PiggyBear. Congrats on your new home. I am moving to Delta Ave, just walking distance to where your house is. Let's keep in touch! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 Hi PB, I got my keys in late May, haven start yet cos I 'm letting my bro-in-law stay there for about 6 mths. But my ideas have been runninng wild !! !! My Place comes with : Full A/C for all 3 rooms, vinyl-tile floor for living + bedrooms. Ceramic for kitchen. My Plans : I'm going for abit industral look, so just going to remove vinyl tiles in living and polish/improve the cement floor. both bedrooms prob going for laminate flooring(still exploring DIY) kitchen may have to RE-DO, toilet's condition is ok, but the tiles !! dunno why HDB likes to use pink/blue for its toilets' tiles, so obiang !! Will not be doing any major works, all furniture will be bought off the rack (no customisation) My thoughts : intend to use uitlity as laundry area cum store. I will want to keep this room open all the time as it'll make the whole flat brighter. The toilet's location is **** not here not there, in the middle .... the kitchen's area is awkward, the previous owner already hacked off the 2 walls, so still got no idea on kitchen layout. I also intend to hack a small hole in the toilet's upper wall (if premitted) to improve ventilation. (ps. my toilet is even narrower than yours 990cm ) What are your plans ? do share with us the quotations ! I'll def find it super useful. Wow u very daring sia, doing some DIY works for ur flat. That time when doing upgrading by HDB i choose grey colour for my toilet's tiles. As for my utility rm planning to becoming a big store rm ba coz my 3rm flat dun c/w a store rm. I also dislike my toilet location... Ur toilet mayb narrower than mine but mayb longer than mine? Well my ideal plan will b simple, clean cut, black & white theme wif modern look. Heehee will share my quotation wif u guys when i got. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PiggyBear 0 Report post Posted July 13, 2009 Hello PIGGYBEAR I am staying in Jalan Membina, very near to you. Last time, stayed in blk 29. The layout is the same as you but without the utility room. Do post pic for us to see. Good luck! Happy Hi, wow u stay near me, i got a cousin also staying in Jalan Membina too Urs is a 3rm flat too? Hmm... will post some pics sfter i finish packing my messy hse... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites