Just want to vent out.

Got a female tenant. Started off quite good as her ex-boyfriend helps to keep the room clean and the common area tidy. But after they broke up and the bf went off, she is quite bad. She did still sweep her room but stop after realised someone will sweep & mop the house.

She has a few bad habits - on the lights at night without switching them off when she left the house, on the lights the whole night (3am, still on..... 5am still on). Will wash half load of clothes. Inviting friends over without informing the owner. Never come back to sleep also never inform the owner. Best: when she went back home in Malaysia, also never inform the owner.

So was glad when she moved out but then the last month utility bill never pay, plus her rental, plus the damaged item in the house. Plus she left a mess behind when she moved. Walls were dirty, never clean. Her furniture was dusty. Plus she took some of our small stuffs too like the clothes hanger, shelves, etc.

Isn't she a very bad tenant?

I thought when you rent your common room, u should have came up with a set of house rule for her to follow.

plus u should still holding up her 1 month rental deposit. Before she moved out, both of u need to do a inspection of the room.

Next time draft a list of the item in the room and charge her accordingly.

If very dirty in the room wall, u could deduct from the deposit. Then the utility bill also deduct from the deposit.

Sometimes deposit won't be enough also.

Deposit don't return her so fast. If she make up excuses saying she would be leaving to malaysia or china (blah blah) and ask for her deposit.

Took out the last 3 month PUB bill and count the average usage. From there calculate out the amt she should be paying.

Things like wall and furniture dirty and dusty. You could deduct from deposit saying you need find ppl to clean the mess up or even buy paint to repaint the room coz the condition too jialat. In the end she might only take back $50 - $100 from the deposit depend on how kind are u going to treat her.

I thought when you rent your common room, u should have came up with a set of house rule for her to follow.

plus u should still holding up her 1 month rental deposit. Before she moved out, both of u need to do a inspection of the room.

Next time draft a list of the item in the room and charge her accordingly.

If very dirty in the room wall, u could deduct from the deposit. Then the utility bill also deduct from the deposit.

Sometimes deposit won't be enough also.

Deposit don't return her so fast. If she make up excuses saying she would be leaving to malaysia or china (blah blah) and ask for her deposit.

Took out the last 3 month PUB bill and count the average usage. From there calculate out the amt she should be paying.

Things like wall and furniture dirty and dusty. You could deduct from deposit saying you need find ppl to clean the mess up or even buy paint to repaint the room coz the condition too jialat. In the end she might only take back $50 - $100 from the deposit depend on how kind are u going to treat her.

She bypass all the step becos she is a friend (girlfriend) of our current roommate ma. After they broke up, she stayed on, he moved on. At that point, heartbroken and all. Where got mood and heart to do all these to her. Somemore all alone in foregin country. Who know, less than 6 month find new boyfriend (or air ticket). So now moved in with him.

The condition not so jia lat, just need to work to clean it off. But hate it when she took our stuff, use and break. Eg. took our umbrella (my fav. one somemore), came back in 2 pcs. A few days later bot a new one for her use, when moved also bring along. Then what abt my fav. one? In the dustbin already. But these are small $$ matter lor. Just fustrated with her attitude.

Forget about inspection, like I say go back home never say. Now moved out date should be month end never moved out. extend a few day till sat, then clear her stuffs. Never inform.

Edited by raincole

Sometimes that is the frustration of renting to tenants..

but got to be strict and enforce rules...

sometimes my tenant dirty the kitchen or what.. 2nd time we saw it.. my hubby will go straight to him

tell him nicely, to help keep the place clean.

Other than that .. we cant help much.. if he dirty elsewhere

cuz we have the mentality, rent to other, cant really expect them to take care of stuffs

but misc item, like umbrella n hanger.. we never share

whatever we have.. all keep inside our room

Talking about tenant, anyone rents out your room without the help of agent? What should we have in our contract & should anyone breaks the rules, can this contract be served as evidence & bring to court? (touch wood)

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10323p.nsf/w/...om?OpenDocument

Guidelines for Renting Out Rooms

Your subtenants comply with all the covenants in the lease and the provisions of the Housing & Development Act and that you are responsible for all infringements, if any, committed by them.

A sample HDB tenancy agreement contract if you would like to rent out your property. This agreement has been drafted by CASE.

http://renotalk.com/main/Property/rentalfo...del_tenancy.pdf

I remember I read somewhere sometime ago.

Lawyer mention if the TA is not STAMP. It might or might not be treat as an official doc.

This need to be confirm with lawyer, don't quote me hor

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10323p.nsf/w/...om?OpenDocument

Guidelines for Renting Out Rooms

Your subtenants comply with all the covenants in the lease and the provisions of the Housing & Development Act and that you are responsible for all infringements, if any, committed by them.

A sample HDB tenancy agreement contract if you would like to rent out your property. This agreement has been drafted by CASE.

http://renotalk.com/main/Property/rentalfo...del_tenancy.pdf

I remember I read somewhere sometime ago.

Lawyer mention if the TA is not STAMP. It might or might not be treat as an official doc.

This need to be confirm with lawyer, don't quote me hor

therat, just a slight question, do you have any sample of Tenancy Agreement in word? Thanks

don't have.

I'm not property agent lah.

ngunadi

I have an example of a TA in Word format, do PM me if you'd like to have it. It's a copy that I got from my housing agent when I rented out my apt.

Stamping of TA

It is true that stamping of TA is necessary to validate the tenancy. If you don't stamp the TA, it is useless and cannot be used in court or to claim for damages from the tenant. If I'm not mistaken, housing agents & lawyers are able to obtain the facility to do e-stamping on IRAS website. If you are renting out the room and doing all the paperwork yourself, you may need to go down personally to IRAS to do the stamping

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=8994

Do take note that there is a penalty for late stamping too.

ngunadi

I have an example of a TA in Word format, do PM me if you'd like to have it. It's a copy that I got from my housing agent when I rented out my apt.

Stamping of TA

It is true that stamping of TA is necessary to validate the tenancy. If you don't stamp the TA, it is useless and cannot be used in court or to claim for damages from the tenant. If I'm not mistaken, housing agents & lawyers are able to obtain the facility to do e-stamping on IRAS website. If you are renting out the room and doing all the paperwork yourself, you may need to go down personally to IRAS to do the stamping

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=8994

Do take note that there is a penalty for late stamping too.

I am only planning to sublet 1 room. Do I still need to e-stamp the TA? I presume so.

However, I don't think it's very useful if your tenant is non-singaporean/PR.

Imagine if they go back to their own country after destroying your furniture? How to pursue?

Even, if they are singaporean/PR but the damages are "little", would you still want to spend effort to sue them?

I guess in subletting a room/unit, there are some risks that landlord should take.

I am only planning to sublet 1 room. Do I still need to e-stamp the TA? I presume so.

However, I don't think it's very useful if your tenant is non-singaporean/PR.

Imagine if they go back to their own country after destroying your furniture? How to pursue?

Even, if they are singaporean/PR but the damages are "little", would you still want to spend effort to sue them?

I guess in subletting a room/unit, there are some risks that landlord should take.

Whether you are renting out the whole house or 1 room, you can collect a deposit. Make sure it is indicated in the TA that the deposit cannot be used to offset the rental (e.g. of the last month) before their lease expires. In that way, you can use the deposit to offset any damages to the furniture.

I am not familiar with room rentals and how much deposit is collected. But for whole (private) apt rentals, it is typically 1 month deposit for 1 yr lease, and 2 months deposit for a 2 yr lease. You only return the deposit on the last day when they vacate the place, and you can check the place before you refund it to them.

When I rented out my apt, I took photos of the furniture and included it as part of the inventory of the TA. With photos, it's harder to dispute when something is badly damaged. Otherwise, (if the tenant is nasty) they can say that the furniture was not in a good condition to begin with.

Good luck!

if guy tenant never come back, is he consider bad tenant?

I personally don't bother about the tenants' whereabouts, they are free to stay out late as they please. :P

I only mind about the PUB bills. Jialat 1 of my tenants switch on the aircon from 5pm to the next day 1pm, that's 20 hours! She doesn't buy a fan like the other tenant. I think I'll buy her a fan later, I'm worried about my PUB bill hitting $500. :(

I personally don't bother about the tenants' whereabouts, they are free to stay out late as they please. :P

I only mind about the PUB bills. Jialat 1 of my tenants switch on the aircon from 5pm to the next day 11am, that's 18 hours everyday! She doesn't buy a fan like the other tenant. I think I'll buy her a fan later, I'm worried about my PUB bill hitting $500. :(

my friend's tenant on the aircon every day, somemore master room furnished 2 pax only $680. Thanks to her HSR Agents.

agreement can also mention if pub hits $130, tenant need to pay additional?

Edited by dean

my friend's tenant on the aircon every day, somemore master room furnished 2 pax only $680. Thanks to her HSR Agents.

agreement can also mention if pub hits $130, tenant need to pay additional?

Your friend's tenant on the aircon only at night or 24 hours? It's definitely unacceptable if they on the aircon for 24 hours. I'm alright for my tenants to on their aircons at night until next day's morning everyday. The weather is very hot these days.

My hubby and I paid $600 to rent a master bedroom without aircon last time.