born_again

The Baking Clubby

2nd plate must be your kids creation!whoahahaha :sport-smiley-018:

can see hor....after i did first plate, then they want to "play" also....first plate my eldest son helped la...neater...second plate my eldest and second ones did it....at least they feel a sense of achievement....

ya mickey m, even my hubby say he very "li hai"

hehe part of the baking project completed...made 13 bags of cookies already...still got 17 to go tomorrow...

I would have finished doing evthing today but ran out of parchment paper...then hubby went to get but found out that it is all sold out! :o Chopped nuts also sold out...there were still quite a number of packets left yesterday when I went to get lor. Everyone must be in a baking frenzy lolz

So he bought back the ungreased one...caused my cookies to run and become thin...sigh...so bo bianz have to continue evthing tomorrow after I managed to find the same non-stick parchment paper that I have been using all along...

wah~ Looks good worldangel! Cookies and milk, great combi. Totally feel like reaching out and grab a couple of cookies. :D

Nice work...... :good: ....worldangel...!

No wonder my wifey nagging about her e-bakery business not so good.....hahahhahaha....tang boh chiat lieow...... :P ....becuz you guys are so good at DIY !!!

MERRY X'MAS to all !!

Hahahaha, got more "chen yi" to bake them ourselves mah. :) But there are lots of pple who wana give homemade stuff and dun have the time. So that's why ur wife comes in. :P

Baking Berries muffins for my family to celebrate christmas...

it's a last minute decision and it takes me less then an hour to bake these.....

Muffins look good. :D

WAH! your cookies look great, angel81.

So does rondy's muffins and worldangel's cookies. I'm salivating all over now. Sheesh this season sure going to pile up

on the Kilograms.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL!

Thanks BunBun! Hope u had a great xmas! :D Happy Boxing Day to all. :D

haha..i have stop baking for awhile liao,cos u are right!

it will make u fat!!surely u will eat it when u had bake! :P

Wahahahhaha! That's where having a hb/other half is good. I can dun eat and get him to taste for me. :P Esp since I dun eat choc and I need him to taste my choc butter cookies. :P

finally did some baking yesterday.....tried doing icing for the first time...heheh thanks angel for the recipe....the kids enjoyed it more than me...to them its like painting....after the baking and all i'm too tired to deco so let them do it....I really pei fu angel who did 14hrs straight...

today round two for cupcakes....

can see hor....after i did first plate, then they want to "play" also....first plate my eldest son helped la...neater...second plate my eldest and second ones did it....at least they feel a sense of achievement....

ya mickey m, even my hubby say he very "li hai"

Wah~ Looks like u guys had fun doing the cookies! :D One trick that I learnt is to draw the outline for the cookies b4 filling it. Then the icing wun run all over the place and it'll look neater. :P Yeah, I also felt a sense of achievement looking at the finished goodies. :D Very tired and body aching after that, but felt very happy. hehehhe. So who did u give the cookies to?

I baked more cookies again today, but it's choc chip cookies, not the sugar cookies. Wana give them to my frens during our gathering later on. :)

Edited by Angel81

haha..i have stop baking for awhile liao,cos u are right!

it will make u fat!!surely u will eat it when u had bake! :P

I am considering getting an exercise machine to put in my hse...otherwise no motivation to lose weight...

Worse is cos I haven't had my photoshoot + banquet yet...dun wan to look like a fat bride next year T_T

wah~ Looks good worldangel! Cookies and milk, great combi. Totally feel like reaching out and grab a couple of cookies. :D

Hehe...that glass of milk is for my hubby...he is in charge of packing the cookies...and while he is doing that the cookies kept 'disappearing' together with the milk... :D

cup cakes baking time....

7d782f81-ac0d-47b3-8067-a2d63516840.jpg

023c1a19-f529-4f77-b6d5-9f1b8880850.jpg

got a question to ask the experts why the center of the cupcakes like volcano eruption?

Hmm I read before it is cos of the baking powder? Too much baking powder or sth like that...but I am not expert so waiting for others to clafiry cos I got this prob wif my previous batch of muffins also haha :P

I remember Rondy post his picture of the volcano cake he made and I posted the link on possible causes why it became like that, in response. Have to look for the link if I remember where i posted that link in? :P

Anyway, one of the possible reason is the temperature, it could be too high. One other reason is, it could be due to the baking soda.

But I think it is pretty normal as not all cupcake recipes are for flat surface cupcakes.

Shortening is a semisolid fat used in food preparation, especially baked goods, and is so called because it promotes a "short" or crumbly texture (as in shortbread).Shortening is basically just fat or lard from an animal or vegetable. ...

while butter is a solid fat made from churning the fat from milk or cream until it solidifies. It is a water-in-oil emulsion, comprised of over 80% milkfat, but also containing water in the form of tiny droplets, perhaps some milk solids-not-fat, with or without salt (sweet butter

Shortening is 100% fat. Butter and margarine contain 80% fat. Hydrogenation produces trans fats, which are the unhealthy fats known to cause heart disease. The advantage of shortening over butter or margarine is its smoke point (higher temperature before burning). Another advantage is its has a higher melting temperature. During the baking process of cookies it helps dough hold its shape longer. This allows the flour and eggs to set, keeping the dough from spreading too much.

Butter is better - It contains many nutrients that protect us from heart disease & wins over shortening in the flavor department as Shortening has no taste so it varies. For eg; sweet pastries like cakes, cookies uses butter. Mooncake recipe uses shortening since the flavour added to skin (pingpi) & filling gives the mooncake that taste.

Hope it helps!

can anyone tell me what's the diff between shortening and butter? and which is better?also will icing harden on the cake or only fondant is the harden kind?

Bun bun thanks for the answers...at least i know what to look out for when doing my next baking....

the cup cake below looks nice...what favour is it?

And why u fill up only half of the cup!?

that's butter cupcakes with almonds in it....fill up half and did the chocolate mousse on top....

Yup I remember it. :P Very special also.

wow!u still remember my volcano cake ah?!

cake-1.jpg

Ya lor..too much baking soda and it erupted!whahahaha... :P

PJ, you're welcome. :) Just curious, wouldn't it be better to fill up to 2/3 for your cupcake?

Bun bun thanks for the answers...at least i know what to look out for when doing my next baking....

that's butter cupcakes with almonds in it....fill up half and did the chocolate mousse on top....

Yup I remember it. :P Very special also.

PJ, you're welcome. :) Just curious, wouldn't it be better to fill up to 2/3 for your cupcake?

gonna do that the next time round....i did another batch today with cream cheese frosting...and got the baking king to try it...he suggested the same thing to fill it 2/3.....

PC270320.jpg

PC270321.jpg

good to have all the experts to give advice....told rondy to post his lazy people meal recipes here....;)

Edited by preciousjam

Lucky Rondy to enjoy your cupcakes . :notti:

Actually you can fill 2/3 of the cups with an icecream scoop. 1 and a half scoop does the trick neatly and faster this way

gonna do that the next time round....i did another batch today with cream cheese frosting...and got the baking king to try it...he suggested the same thing to fill it 2/3.....

PC270320.jpg

PC270321.jpg

good to have all the experts to give advice....told rondy to post his lazy people meal recipes here....;)

One of my Hussle-free lazy meal-Fried carrot cake.

CIMG4079.jpg

boss ask you post recipes not just only pictures la.....

bun bun, never thought of using ice cream scoop....i use normal soup spoon...very slow and hard to measure how much to put in....thanks once again...

you say he lucky to try my cup cakes ar? think he must be thinking so SUAY, have to try my cup cakes....

Hehe...that glass of milk is for my hubby...he is in charge of packing the cookies...and while he is doing that the cookies kept 'disappearing' together with the milk... :D

Hahaha! I can imagine that will happen if I ask mine to pack too! :P

You're welcome. :) I used a normal spoon last time to dish out the batter into the cups but it was pretty slow, so can identify with you on this part. Then I got the ice-cream scoop after looking through alot of food blogs. I think it is definitely faster now with the ice-cream scoop, can also agar agar how much is the cup filled by then.

For the baking king, he can eat the pastries anytime FOC. :P

boss ask you post recipes not just only pictures la.....

bun bun, never thought of using ice cream scoop....i use normal soup spoon...very slow and hard to measure how much to put in....thanks once again...

you say he lucky to try my cup cakes ar? think he must be thinking so SUAY, have to try my cup cakes....