born_again

The Baking Clubby

hi ladies (and any gents out there), I will be celebrating my fiancee's bday real soon and our renovation to our new place is nearing. Hence im hoping to get her a "starter kit" for baking as a surprise because i know she has always wanted to try baking. Can any guru's guide me to what to buy (equipment) wise for someone who is just learning how to bake? Equipment to get her started will be ideal and any help is greatly appreciated! I have already installed a built in oven for her as a surprise (becos she hasnt been up to the new place for a couple of weeks) so an equipment list to get started baking will be really helpful to me.

CY

Edited by gfac

for ingredients, try phoon huat

for hardware (not the machines though), try Tott store

hmm, but i find tott a bit high end.

for ingredients, I don't really like some products at phoon huat - find their things not so good grade. For me, since going to add so much calories, must put in "good" ones :)

hi ladies (and any gents out there), I will be celebrating my fiancee's bday real soon and our renovation to our new place is nearing. Hence im hoping to get her a "starter kit" for baking as a surprise because i know she has always wanted to try baking. Can any guru's guide me to what to buy (equipment) wise for someone who is just learning how to bake? Equipment to get her started will be ideal and any help is greatly appreciated! I have already installed a built in oven for her as a surprise (becos she hasnt been up to the new place for a couple of weeks) so an equipment list to get started baking will be really helpful to me.

CY

that's so sweet of you!

we were just discussing this in my thread - on the basic tools to get started.

but before that, may be good to know what she already has?

that's so sweet of you!

we were just discussing this in my thread - on the basic tools to get started.

but before that, may be good to know what she already has?

haha...froggy... well... she has nothing to begin with cos its a new place. That may possibly explain the oreo cheese cake that was rock hard when she baked one for my bday last year. I will need perhaps recommendation of mixer (if one is needed) and some tools that will be essential (esp to help the next cake she makes be softer). =P

Edited by gfac

Wah! A baking club... my wife luvs to bake and one of the reason we moved house was becos she wanted a bigger kitchen!

Wanna take this opportunity to try to sell an unused 5QT Kitchenaid bowl (K5ASBP)... bought online the wrong one as we actually need a wide bowl.

SNC00211.jpg

SNC00210.jpg

any baker interested?

wah, reading RT so long but never realise got this thread. Marsh, you are very good in digging up info!

why not try phoon huat? they have most of the tools, very reasonably priced too. they also run demo and hands on classes at sims drive if you are keen n have the time.

when i started coming to RT, this thread was still alive... LOL :lol:

was checking Phoon Huat website... they used to have an outlet in Jurong East with demo class... why oh why of all the branches they must close this one............ :bangwall:

now nearest one is.... Clementi~ :P

CY

That so sweet of you!! :) built-in oven as a surprise for her! wow!!

hee you asked the same question as me too... maybe i should copy the list in froggy's t-blog here :) i have edited a little based on my own research, all baking gurus please feel free to correct me! :)

Must have:

Spatular - wooden & silicone

Mixing bowl

Measuring cup

Measuring spoon

Sieve

Baking tins

Baking paper

Kitchen weighing scale

Hand whisk

Mittens - for obvious safety reason

Cake round pan (ranging from 6" to 9"? correct?)

Electrical hand mixer (i'm still going thru some internal debate on whether this is absolutely necessary. i do know pple who bake but don't own any form of electrical tools at all)

Really good to have:

Electrical mixer

Oven thermometer

Wire racks

Muffin tins

bakingtool.jpg

Edited by marshmallow

i didnt know this blog still "alive" after soooo long,haha...

Glad that everyone love baking keeping it up!

I baked 2 Christmas cake few weeks ago too.

And it turn out to be quite nice.

orange favour and top with Strawberry,

Call it a fruity xmas cake. :P

hey hey rondy! you are the crowned baking king in RT, you must help to keep it up too~ :lol:

:dribble:

7-1.jpg

6-1.jpg

By the way, for those staying/hanging around Jurong East area, NTUC at JE is having promotion:

Glad baking paper + many other Glad products (cling wrap, ziplock bags etc) - offer till 12 Jan

Baking soda, baking powder, vanilla extract, and some misc baking ingredients... - offer till 31 Jan

;)

when i started coming to RT, this thread was still alive... LOL :lol:

was checking Phoon Huat website... they used to have an outlet in Jurong East with demo class... why oh why of all the branches they must close this one............ :bangwall:

now nearest one is.... Clementi~ :P

ya lor, I used to attend the demo at hougang, but the demo there also closed liao. Heard that it's bc of the fire case where two kids were burnt

That so sweet of you!! :) built-in oven as a surprise for her! wow!!

hee you asked the same question as me too... maybe i should copy the list in froggy's t-blog here :) i have edited a little based on my own research, all baking gurus please feel free to correct me! :)

Must have:

Spatular - wooden & silicone why must have wooden one?

Mixing bowl at least 2

Measuring cup

Measuring spoon

Sieve

Baking tins tins got so many sizes and shapes, I started with a small round one, always half the recipe. Or if starting with cupcakes and muffins, can use those hard paper cases, then don't even need to buy tin yet

Baking paper

Kitchen weighing scale if budget allows, best to get digital, esp if baking cakes

Hand whisk

Mittens - for obvious safety reason

Cake round pan

Electrical hand mixer (i'm still going thru some internal debate on whether this is absolutely necessary. i do know pple who bake but don't own any form of electrical tools at all)

Really good to have:

Electrical mixer ya, this one is optional, but really good to have (to save time and aching muscle) :D . Sometimes for smaller amounts, I also lazy to wash machine, so just use hand. For some things like muffin etc, just use hand whisk can liao.

Oven thermometer I did not get this until recently, bc my oven seems not to be behaving and there are cakes that I can bake with the old oven, which now I can't. Still testing out things now. So, imo, not a must unless keep failing .. oops .. but then again, you can get one less than $20

Wire racks

Muffin tins

is there a one stop place to get all these equipment?

think froggy mentioned Phoon Huat... got a number of outlets. pick one that is convenient for you :lol:

http://www.phoonhuat.com/

she also suggested that Ikea got quite a lot of baking stuff. if you are going there for furniture shopping, can "shun bian" take a look ;)

Thanks for your praising,i feels shy lei..haha..

I get most of the baking stuffs from Daiso.

Phoon huat is quite expensive right?

As for the colouring,vanilla essences etc i get it from JB!

Half Price at all time! :sport-smiley-004:

Daiso?? Serious??

i'll make a trip to Daiso this weekend!! :lol::yeah:

I want to learn to bake!!! Hopefully my new kitchen will be more user friendly for baking. Any tips in kitchen design that is good for baking??

marshmellow

last night very funny - I couldn't sleep - kept thinking about baking etc, and then I remembered a very important tool - skewers - to test doneness of cake. Remember to buy this also ah