jane71

Moving In December 09, Need Help, Tks

I have a 3 room flat at ghim moh, planning to move in december 2009. I have sub let out the room to some tenants.

my questions are

1) i am already serve them notice to move out by end october, which gives me one full month of november to do minor renovatios ( kitchen + kitchen flooring, maybe do conceal wiring..) I have not much decided on the extend of the renovations but it would be done to a minimum scale. does one full month of november is sufficient for a normal contractor to finished up their work??

if so, when do i have to start looking for a contractor? what is the lead time to engage a contrator and have them start work?

thank you for your help.

2) do i get the a single contractor to do all the reno works or get seperate specific contractors to do certain works for e,g electrical, cabinet..?

I have a 3 room flat at ghim moh, planning to move in december 2009. I have sub let out the room to some tenants.

my questions are

1) i am already serve them notice to move out by end october, which gives me one full month of november to do minor renovatios ( kitchen + kitchen flooring, maybe do conceal wiring..) I have not much decided on the extend of the renovations but it would be done to a minimum scale. does one full month of november is sufficient for a normal contractor to finished up their work??

if so, when do i have to start looking for a contractor? what is the lead time to engage a contrator and have them start work?

thank you for your help.

one month is usually enough, but you should start looking for contractor even now as they might end up fully booked by the time you're wanting to renovate... of course, if you have some time for ratifications, it will be good...

2) do i get the a single contractor to do all the reno works or get seperate specific contractors to do certain works for e,g electrical, cabinet..?

One is easier to coordinate but seperate might be cheaper and better work quality, it really depends on your contractor, who they sub-let to.

Jane, i think even with 1 full mth for doing u also dun compromise on quality becos if you rush the contractor, he rush his workers, then hor, the work will not be so good lor. you better have slightly more time for recitifications and defects etc. better make it at least 1 & a half months.