red_devil

■ Our Humble & Simple Nest @ Yishun ■

Yes yes unlike solid top. Granite top std is 2 cm nia. My previous house granite top also 2 cm thickness nia, Used it for 5 yrs, got no problem at all so not to worry :)

Anyway if you like 4 cm, i'm sure you would have to top up leh cos they will have to custom made to your kitchen size in the factory b4 delivery so it's more troublesome. :)

Chip maybe we pester Jason together lah see if he can give us FOC or not :notti:

aiya, pester liao.. 4cm one.. is 4cm at the borders, but still 2cm in the internal area.

now got to think whether want solid surface or granite.

Yes yes unlike solid top. Granite top std is 2 cm nia. My previous house granite top also 2 cm thickness nia, Used it for 5 yrs, got no problem at all so not to worry :)

Anyway if you like 4 cm, i'm sure you would have to top up leh cos they will have to custom made to your kitchen size in the factory b4 delivery so it's more troublesome. :)

Chip maybe we pester Jason together lah see if he can give us FOC or not :notti:

Coffee_O

Count me in lah!!!

I am also trying to get Jason to give FOC too!!!

aiya, pester liao.. 4cm one.. is 4cm at the borders, but still 2cm in the internal area.

Oh is it ? hmm.....like that ah ?

me still prefer granite over solid top unless of cos the sold top is corian de but hor if corian top, it will be more ex than granite leh so in the end i would still end up with granite top hehehe :D

Coffee_O

Count me in lah!!!

I am also trying to get Jason to give FOC too!!!

Hahahaha

Ooops if all of us pester Jason to give FOC hor dunno if he will make losses or not hahaha :P

anyway so how's your reno ? it should be halfway done already right ? since you hope to HO your house by mid of this month ?

Edited by coffee_o

Hmm...u have to think carefully....4cm at the borders to me might seems weird...well...but depend on your color selection and kitchen layout also. I am not sure if 4cm which (I think mean customising) might result in having additional joint line. Granite joint line are much obvious than solid surface for sure. Hmm...any reason why u want 4 cm?

Hmm..if you are a heavy cooker; I suggest using granite...It would be better from my experience. But of course, if u want "mei mei"; solid surface have more color selection. :rolleyes:

Hmm...u have to think carefully....4cm at the borders to me might seems weird...well...but depend on your color selection and kitchen layout also. I am not sure if 4cm which (I think mean customising) might result in having additional joint line. Granite joint line are much obvious than solid surface for sure. Hmm...any reason why u want 4 cm?

Hmm..if you are a heavy cooker; I suggest using granite...It would be better from my experience. But of course, if u want "mei mei"; solid surface have more color selection. :rolleyes:

Me prefer 4 cm cos i think it look more chio leh or is it...hmm....cos my previous house already using 2 cm granite so time for a change hahahahaha :P

har...I thought you got special reason.. hahaha.. is more on chio thing har.. heehee.

I was visualising in the kitchen of a 4 cm.. personally la, look thick to me.. heehee.

Btw, bro...any idea where to get good and reasonable metal hanger for the kitchen...u know those for hanging knife and other stuffs.

I went to a shop in Orhard...very the expensive.. hahaha.

Ho Kee one...donno good a not.

har...I thought you got special reason.. hahaha.. is more on chio thing har.. heehee.

I was visualising in the kitchen of a 4 cm.. personally la, look thick to me.. heehee.

Btw, bro...any idea where to get good and reasonable metal hanger for the kitchen...u know those for hanging knife and other stuffs.

no le not really chio kind of thingy lah cost personal preference mah, just look at AJ's blog, his is 4 cm thick de looks okie to me leh sometimes ppl think 2 cm too thin dun look solid mah, 4 cm look more solid hahahaha

aiyah bro that kind of mental hanger thing hor no need to be gd de most importantly is cheap can liao

ikea also have mah why dun you go ikea and take a look ? last time i bought all my kitchen stuff from sim siang choon, very ex and in the end rust also mah so expensive doesnt mean good leh hahahaha

hey kopi and red devil; we have the 4cm from profile for our granite top; personally, think it looks better, doesn't make the granite top look too thin; one of my frens upgraded to a 3inch thick front profile! but that being said, red_devil is right - there will be a joint line, albeit not so obvious one... at least there is for ours. i was peering @ my fren's one, and hers is not as obvious as ours... prob our carpenter's workmanship leaves much to be desired.

for s/s accessories, get the song cho (welmi) ones, aka chicken brand. they r more expensive, but def more hardy and rust-resistant. our bathroom stuff fm hoe kee have already rusted abit (dunno if its cos the s/s is of poor grade, or the chemical washing by contractor spoilt it :( the wife had to scrub like a mad woman to remove the stains, and still not completely gone). spending abit for quality stuff and fuss free cleaning is better! trust us on tt, haha.

Edited by beany0811

no le not really chio kind of thingy lah cost personal preference mah, just look at AJ's blog, his is 4 cm thick de looks okie to me leh sometimes ppl think 2 cm too thin dun look solid mah, 4 cm look more solid hahahaha

aiyah bro that kind of mental hanger thing hor no need to be gd de most importantly is cheap can liao

ikea also have mah why dun you go ikea and take a look ? last time i bought all my kitchen stuff from sim siang choon, very ex and in the end rust also mah so expensive doesnt mean good leh hahahaha

ya hor....hmm....4cm not bad leh.....after seeing AJ's blog.. sob sob.....look like I have to live with it. sob sob.

hey kopi and red devil; we have the 4cm from profile for our granite top; personally, think it looks better, doesn't make the granite top look too thin; one of my frens upgraded to a 3inch thick front profile! but that being said, red_devil is right - there will be a joint line, albeit not so obvious one... at least there is for ours. i was peering @ my fren's one, and hers is not as obvious as ours... prob our carpenter's workmanship leaves much to be desired.

for s/s accessories, get the song cho (welmi) ones, aka chicken brand. they r more expensive, but def more hardy and rust-resistant. our bathroom stuff fm hoe kee have already rusted abit (dunno if its cos the s/s is of poor grade, or the chemical washing by contractor spoilt it :( the wife had to scrub like a mad woman to remove the stains, and still not completely gone). spending abit for quality stuff and fuss free cleaning is better! trust us on tt, haha.

I was looking at AJ's blog...look better leh...sob sob...nvm la..I will live with it till my next reno? heeheee.

Oh...song cho is it at Orchard?

I face the same problem as u beany...I got all the bathroom accessories from Ho Kee previously...end up....most of it are rusty now...sob sob. Till today, I hate to drill things in the bathroom...cause I have the feeling it will rust soon.

I was looking at AJ's blog...look better leh...sob sob...nvm la..I will live with it till my next reno? heeheee.

Oh...song cho is it at Orchard?

I face the same problem as u beany...I got all the bathroom accessories from Ho Kee previously...end up....most of it are rusty now...sob sob. Till today, I hate to drill things in the bathroom...cause I have the feeling it will rust soon.

i dunno how many song cho branches are there - there is one @ IMM, and one in AMK.

try www.songcho.com.sg and check?

then what did you do about those hoe kee stuff? we toyed with the idea of replacing all... but the replacement ones will need holes to be drilled too, and maybe @ different places fm the original, haizzzzz

i dunno how many song cho branches are there - there is one @ IMM, and one in AMK.

try www.songcho.com.sg and check?

then what did you do about those hoe kee stuff? we toyed with the idea of replacing all... but the replacement ones will need holes to be drilled too, and maybe @ different places fm the original, haizzzzz

Har...thanks... appreciate that. :D

Sad to say. We didn't do much about it. I did try to clean it...but it get worst... so I spray it with paint and use nail polisher and go over it... heehee.. it cover up the rust....but if u look carefully on it...it look ugly...haha..hmm...but if yours is those shiny type...no choice....need to replace. My parent end up replacing still after I paint it.. haha

then I realise chrome and stainless steel is very different. Which why, we see different prices in the market. Although, I remember! the guy in Ho Kee told me is stainless steel.. How could stainless steel rust ya? Doesn't make sense to me.

Talking abt that.. Mirror has the same problem... the side of the mirror has black spots as time goes by... so sad...

Har...thanks... appreciate that. :D

Sad to say. We didn't do much about it. I did try to clean it...but it get worst... so I spray it with paint and use nail polisher and go over it... heehee.. it cover up the rust....but if u look carefully on it...it look ugly...haha..hmm...but if yours is those shiny type...no choice....need to replace. My parent end up replacing still after I paint it.. haha

then I realise chrome and stainless steel is very different. Which why, we see different prices in the market. Although, I remember! the guy in Ho Kee told me is stainless steel.. How could stainless steel rust ya? Doesn't make sense to me.

Talking abt that.. Mirror has the same problem... the side of the mirror has black spots as time goes by... so sad...

s/s will have a coat of rust usually due to the chemical washing done by the workers. My previous house also the same, all rust even the screws also so in the end ask them to replace all for me hehe :D

and i bought mine at SSC leh