Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 7, 2009 Hehe .... mine is 10am in the morning... Oh ok, we'll just miss each other then cos I heard 2nd appt very fast. Anyway, probably may commence reno work on the same day if possible. So how's ur search for contractor coming to? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 10, 2009 Finally confirmed on my contractor, keeping reno budget at $10k. Hoping to start work immediately after I get the keys. Now looking around for rainshower set. I will be using back the seller's instant heater cos contractor say good quality one, can use for my rainshower. So I just need to go get the head for him to install. Anyone got any recommendation on which shop to go? And what is the price that I am looking at for it? Can't wait to get the keys and start the reno, so that I have more time to move in before 7th lunar month. So many things to do. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 Yesterday received a call from Lorenzo saying that the colour that I chose for my sofa has been discontinued! Quite pissed with the fact that they told me one month after i chose the colour..I mean why is it that they took so long. Luckily I haven bought my carpet yet else not matching liao...still got to go down and select again. Must prss them to give me some freebies as compensation. 2weeks more before i take keys...eagerly awaiting that day. Gonna snap pics of the empty house before I start my reno. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 yeah that Lorenzo huh, u should scold them. must get some cushion covers or free carpet lor, since its their fault Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 Finally confirmed on my contractor, keeping reno budget at $10k. Hoping to start work immediately after I get the keys. Now looking around for rainshower set. I will be using back the seller's instant heater cos contractor say good quality one, can use for my rainshower. So I just need to go get the head for him to install. Anyone got any recommendation on which shop to go? And what is the price that I am looking at for it? Can't wait to get the keys and start the reno, so that I have more time to move in before 7th lunar month. So many things to do. what's the condition of the unit? $10k only?! wow, beat me on my price... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 mmm just fyi... Overlaying is definitely cheaper and is a viable option if the old tiles are stable and in good condition. if the old tiles were of poorer quality or not laid properly they might pop or crack, damaging the new tiles laid on top of them. Also overlaying wall tiles.. if not done properly will cause the new tiles to slip cos it's much harder for the cement mixture to stick to tiles then a rough wall. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 mmm just fyi... Overlaying is definitely cheaper and is a viable option if the old tiles are stable and in good condition. if the old tiles were of poorer quality or not laid properly they might pop or crack, damaging the new tiles laid on top of them. Also overlaying wall tiles.. if not done properly will cause the new tiles to slip cos it's much harder for the cement mixture to stick to tiles then a rough wall. Ok thanks for the info. Eventually we are only overlaying the MBR toilet wall, while the walls of the kitchen and kitchen toilet will remain. Cos abit hard to overlay kitchen without knocking away the cabinets which we intend to keep. Also, we reckon that there is no need to do the kitchen toilet so nice since rarely will people use it. So save some money lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 yeah that Lorenzo huh, u should scold them. must get some cushion covers or free carpet lor, since its their fault Ya lor, muz try to squeeze something out from them. I still recommend Lorenzo to others , now they let me down liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted July 16, 2009 actually last time i also considered Lorenzo also. but meet up with a very hard sales person. we were quite pissed with that guy somemore, the range is out of our budget to us, so we decided to give it a miss. you went to the showroom at Sims Drive huh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spoiltbabe 0 Report post Posted July 16, 2009 nice house! so envy you can fit in a 7pc-dining set... dun think mine have tat space more pics please! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 16, 2009 actually last time i also considered Lorenzo also. but meet up with a very hard sales person. we were quite pissed with that guy somemore, the range is out of our budget to us, so we decided to give it a miss. you went to the showroom at Sims Drive huh? Oh is it? I went to both the Sims drive & furniture mall branches, both the sales persons not pushy so was quite pleased with the process. Plus they gave a lot of advice on the different types of sofas avaliable and which one may be suitable for us. Just went down today to select a new colour for my sofa, but the salesperson who happens to be the showroom manager in charged of the furniture mall branch was not around. But we voiced our displeasure still at the poor salesgirl, just to make sure we get compensated somehow. She says she will ask the manager to call me tomorrow on it. See how again lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 16, 2009 nice house! so envy you can fit in a 7pc-dining set... dun think mine have tat space more pics please! Mine is also just nice only also lah, the rest of the areas my house is not much bigger than yours. But we all live within constraints lor...important is we are happy with our beloved right? More pics will come 2 weeks later when i collect the keys. Really looking forward to it...in a month's time i will be staying there liao! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 28, 2009 Just went for final inspection before 2nd appt tom morning. Good to see that my seller cleared everything sui sui and even cleaned up the place. So everything set, tom morning 830am i will get my keys and then go meet my contractor take measurements & select tiles, cos reno going to start later this week. Finally! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
forkie 0 Report post Posted July 28, 2009 Just went for final inspection before 2nd appt tom morning. Good to see that my seller cleared everything sui sui and even cleaned up the place. So everything set, tom morning 830am i will get my keys and then go meet my contractor take measurements & select tiles, cos reno going to start later this week. Finally! Great ! Been waiting ages for new updates and pictures ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2009 Finally collected my keys! Here are some pics of the empty living room My sofa will be here: My dining table will be here: This is the Mitsubishi Starmex inverter that the seller left behind. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites