Marcussy 0 Report post Posted June 20, 2009 Hi guys, I am going to get my new resale house soon. Flat is less than 5yr old but owner applied for sale and got approved. I was just wondering if I can redo the toilets, like hacking away the wall and floor tiles and also toilet bowl and stuff. But I read somewhere that I can only do overlay. Q1: Can I replace new ones or can only do overlay? Is this a HDB requirement? Q2: If I can't, is there a time frame that I can o it? Like once 5years is up? Q3: Do I need to apply for a licence for such reno or any other home reno? Thanks guys, please help me! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted June 21, 2009 Hack the floor tiles, the water proof layer must be properly done. If the contractor didn't do a good job on the water proof layer and water leak to the lower floor neighbor. You will need to hack and redo everything again. That's why some prefer overlap. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted June 21, 2009 the regulation had been changed to 3years from completion of the block.. the 5years is already history for a couple of years.. Ok thanks! I always thought it was 5 years. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted June 21, 2009 Hack the floor tiles, the water proof layer must be properly done. If the contractor didn't do a good job on the water proof layer and water leak to the lower floor neighbor. You will need to hack and redo everything again. That's why some prefer overlap. So you are saying overlay is better in case contractor don't do a good job right? Do you know normally how much it costs to do overlay of toilet? In case I am being quoted too high a price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 So you are saying overlay is better in case contractor don't do a good job right? Do you know normally how much it costs to do overlay of toilet? In case I am being quoted too high a price. It all depends on how much your contractor is quoting. but for hacking, it normally costs much more then overlay. But last time we also got the same problem. overlay or hack? finally we decided on hacking, becoz our flat was built in the early 1970s. the contractor told us if we overlay will cause downstairs to leak water, and thus even worse in the long run. so we hack, and replaced it with new tiles. as for the pricing, i forgot how much liao. have to relook at the quotation again. but then if your is a new flat, i dun think overlay will have much problems. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Marcussy 0 Report post Posted June 22, 2009 It all depends on how much your contractor is quoting. but for hacking, it normally costs much more then overlay. But last time we also got the same problem. overlay or hack? finally we decided on hacking, becoz our flat was built in the early 1970s. the contractor told us if we overlay will cause downstairs to leak water, and thus even worse in the long run. so we hack, and replaced it with new tiles. as for the pricing, i forgot how much liao. have to relook at the quotation again. but then if your is a new flat, i dun think overlay will have much problems. Oh when did you do your flat? If can find the quote, let me know ya? Thanks! Think I should be overlaying ba based on your comments. But I also feel the current walls (HDB pattern) quite ugly, but if overlay walls then will make the already small toilet look even smaller. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites