merryman 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 oei oei..where's ur review of the contractors that u met up?? sorry lar, headache all day till now still headache.... writing up now.. will post asap... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 rierie...u ur turn to chase arh?? MM take ur time...jiayou wor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 I have to go to my new house soon cuz the person coming to patch the crack above the window... since HDB says free, then ok lor... will post right up asap hor, sorry for any wait... later might go out with wifey watch harry potter after that hor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 hahahahhaa..dun like that la, f4. me anxious mah..this guy keep keeping us in the dark. tsk tsk..he watched too much harry potter liao..always keep us in suspense. hahahahahah!!! ur headache better aly? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 hahahahhaa..dun like that la, f4. me anxious mah..this guy keep keeping us in the dark. tsk tsk..he watched too much harry potter liao..always keep us in suspense. hahahahahah!!! ur headache better aly? took panadol when i was there, still weird feeling leh.. haiz... actually, i've not finshed all but I will post my draft... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 (edited) 1) Lady id (name forgotten) Pavillion Creative (insurance agent’s friend) First we met, told her our budget was 10k, did not seem very confident with the costing or the discussion of costing, needs to check back with her boss. Said hers might exceed and will give the quotation in 2 days time, however, never ever get back to us. 2) Jacq of Home Design Base (Boss/Senior is Eric – not eric who did rierie’s hse) There are some things that Eric mentioned that are cost savings which Jacq herself did not suggest even though she knew that we’re on a tight budget. Quotation was over 20k. Quite persistent lady who called a few times to request to meet my wife and I for further discussion with her on materials and a new package. 3) Jimmy (contact of wife’s friend) Kept doing a lot of calculations after we explained our budget, told us that will have to use cheaper products from China. No email, had to fax floor plan to him and he then get back saying that it will exceed our budget by a few ks (less than 5) 4) Suki (used to be from Wellmax metalworks) Consulted about grills and gates actually but her husband was doing renovation. First impression he gave us was that he did not seem to be very confident with his works. Quoted us over 20k also. 5) StephenGoh (contact from wife’s connection) Easy to talk fellow who was able to work things to slight over 10k also (below 15k), but was to overlay some wall tiles in doing so. Was KIVed to negotiate more. 6) Eric (through Rierie) Was surprising the only one to be able to meet 10k budget BUT he totally left out bathroom and kitchen tiles… and installation of all the basins, wc etc. However what struck us most deeply is when we asked him to change the metal gate for us, he said, “Cannot” and his cannot was actually because the replacement gate will bang into small wall next to the steps outside the door. The very first person to tell us that the gate cannot be done and it is because of beauty reason but we need to change it for practical reason: we don’t want to have gates that open in the centre where we will have to walk out sideways. (Paiseh lar, still cannot finish cuz I'm trying hard to remember 3more that I've met hor~or was it just quotation only~... plus naaman and lynn... ) To be continued.... Edited July 21, 2009 by merryman Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2009 (edited) Check with my wife, she also can't really recall the 3... guess not deep impression and also never gotten any quotation via email lor... nevermind lar, just give comments on what I'm remembering 7-9 (forgotten) 10) Lynn of Ideal House Very nice to talk to, though sometimes have to keep chasing for answers/revision for quotations. saw their workmanship, wife mentioned to her that there are areas that she can improved on, she of course a bit put off but guess she knows my wife's high expectations liao... Price is over 15k but below 20k, can only give a range because I also don't want to give exact amount for anyone here since it is based on nego sometimes... it's based on their package and then modifications/add-ons to get to this amount... was actually deciding very much between her and naaman after the meetup but chose her in the end.. 11) Naaman (through Pinklady) Very salesman, sell carpentry a lot initially but we insisted on what we want, even brought his book of Deckor laminated flooring and furniture laminates and showed us on the first visit, learn that there is an air pipe in MBR that can be removed cuz it is old design, now no need to keep... will have chosen him if his price is competitive compared to Lynn... Others we did not meet Michael of StateArt (was assigned to him after we contacted their boss Roy) Call to explain that he will send us the package just 2 hrs before appt, then simply ask us to see what we want and canceled appt for that day. We didn’t really get back to him thereafter though the price is rather competitive. Yen of Defong (through internet) request quotation through email, way over 20k, did not request meetup Patrick of HoBee (through internet) request quotation through email, way over 20k, did not request meetup Ben of Summit Design (through internet) request quotation through email, way over 20k, did not request meetup Jason (through Ah Soon’s thread) request quotation through email, arrange meetup but kena fly aeroplane by him, he forgotten our appt and was at balestier, since it was already time that my wife and I were finalising, decided not to rearrange meetup le, price was over 20k as well... Yeak(through roamca, rondy) got to him too late even though roamca showed me her flat in april... delayed by exams and then when requesting for quotation, he was too busy and told me to find other contractors when I chased him for it... Chris Ong (Through iluvmybeans) wife contacted him but he didn't sound very keen and made a tentative appt with him which he said he will confirm but never did... Ah Soon (through xvirus) Was very much considered initially till I learn that there is a need for project management, then also hearing some HO issues and having to chase him, my wife and I decided not to call/meet him lor.. Edited July 21, 2009 by merryman Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 Check with my wife, she also can't really recall the 3... guess not deep impression and also never gotten any quotation via email lor... nevermind lar, just give comments on what I'm remembering 7-9 (forgotten) 10) Lynn of Ideal House Very nice to talk to, though sometimes have to keep chasing for answers/revision for quotations. saw their workmanship, wife mentioned to her that there are areas that she can improved on, she of course a bit put off but guess she knows my wife's high expectations liao... Price is over 15k but below 20k, can only give a range because I also don't want to give exact amount for anyone here since it is based on nego sometimes... it's based on their package and then modifications/add-ons to get to this amount... was actually deciding very much between her and naaman after the meetup but chose her in the end.. 11) Naaman (through Pinklady) Very salesman, sell carpentry a lot initially but we insisted on what we want, even brought his book of Deckor laminated flooring and furniture laminates and showed us on the first visit, learn that there is an air pipe in MBR that can be removed cuz it is old design, now no need to keep... will have chosen him if his price is competitive compared to Lynn... Others we did not meet Michael of StateArt (was assigned to him after we contacted their boss Roy) Call to explain that he will send us the package just 2 hrs before appt, then simply ask us to see what we want and canceled appt for that day. We didn’t really get back to him thereafter though the price is rather competitive. Yen of Defong (through internet) request quotation through email, way over 20k, did not request meetup Patrick of HoBee (through internet) request quotation through email, way over 20k, did not request meetup Ben of Summit Design (through internet) request quotation through email, way over 20k, did not request meetup Jason (through Ah Soon’s thread) request quotation through email, arrange meetup but kena fly aeroplane by him, he forgotten our appt and was at balestier, since it was already time that my wife and I were finalising, decided not to rearrange meetup le, price was over 20k as well... Yeak(through roamca, rondy) got to him too late even though roamca showed me her flat in april... delayed by exams and then when requesting for quotation, he was too busy and told me to find other contractors when I chased him for it... Chris Ong (Through iluvmybeans) wife contacted him but he didn't sound very keen and made a tentative appt with him which he said he will confirm but never did... Ah Soon (through xvirus) Was very much considered initially till I learn that there is a need for project management, then also hearing some HO issues and having to chase him, my wife and I decided not to call/meet him lor.. wah, MM you really took the time to remember all the inital impressions of all these people you meet huh. so Naaman, really very salesman huh? so Lynn quoted cheaper? just curious Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 wah, MM you really took the time to remember all the inital impressions of all these people you meet huh. so Naaman, really very salesman huh? so Lynn quoted cheaper? just curious actually lynn also a bit salesman about carpentry but naaman kept emphasing that with certain carpentry, things will look nicer... yes, lynn quoted cheaper compared to him, his was over 20k... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 actually lynn also a bit salesman about carpentry but naaman kept emphasing that with certain carpentry, things will look nicer... yes, lynn quoted cheaper compared to him, his was over 20k... anyway i'm quite surprised leh. anyway, do post up any pics then you got lor, when u start your reno. But its still a month's plus away leh. wah, wait you started your reno, your T-Blog will be like F4, become 60 pages. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 anyway i'm quite surprised leh. anyway, do post up any pics then you got lor, when u start your reno. But its still a month's plus away leh. wah, wait you started your reno, your T-Blog will be like F4, become 60 pages. yah. exactly like f4. except f4 had most of the tok kok portion in the middle/end parts of her blog while mm will have it from start to end!! hahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 anyway i'm quite surprised leh. anyway, do post up any pics then you got lor, when u start your reno. But its still a month's plus away leh. wah, wait you started your reno, your T-Blog will be like F4, become 60 pages. I'll post more current photos later bah... took more the other time.. don't know lar, not many will post here when have no updates, they usually don't chat here de Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 yah. exactly like f4. except f4 had most of the tok kok portion in the middle/end parts of her blog while mm will have it from start to end!! hahahaha oei! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 (edited) yah. exactly like f4. except f4 had most of the tok kok portion in the middle/end parts of her blog while mm will have it from start to end!! hahahaha actually hor, think I asked a lot of questions in my t-blog than*(typo) posting everywhere in the forum not all are TCSS lah.. Edited July 22, 2009 by merryman Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 22, 2009 (edited) oei! why?? i nvr say it's a bad thing leh... i like tcss actually hor, think I asked a lot of questions in my t-blog then posting everywhere in the forum not all are TCSS lah.. yah lor. i don't think anyone else managed to chalk up 1265 posts before they even start reno/choose ID... Edited July 22, 2009 by stormcontrol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites