rierie 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 remember the labour of installing appliances in your house. some appliance supplier will charge for installation. get ur contractor to do it FOC for u. (thats what i did) and, mirrors and bomb shelter shelves (if u have) - get them to give u FOC and the gypsum board - does it come with laminates? what kind of finishing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 remember the labour of installing appliances in your house. some appliance supplier will charge for installation. get ur contractor to do it FOC for u. (thats what i did) and, mirrors and bomb shelter shelves (if u have) - get them to give u FOC and the gypsum board - does it come with laminates? what kind of finishing? not stated, I believe it will look like cornise?! I'll have to ask further... yea, asked them le, do I have to make them write down?! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 not-fire rated... hmmm, some ids can be can nego but like 10k from our budget... haha, those we shortlisted de, we will make more enquiries whether there are discounts or other stuff, and of course, ask them to add in the items we need (not just want) and they left out haha, budget low so have to find more mah, espeically when some don't even come back with quotations, all I met are either thru contacts of friends or forummers here... yea, will probably ask them for 1-2 items I might consider to add later... when u do lesser things, maybe you want to also note the itemised price they quote to u. as u do lesser things, they tend to earn lesser in a way and the itemised price may be slightly higher and discount might be lesser too. Just take note on that. Mitlancer is right to say that elect points best to have a list on the pricing. Mine was quoted 40 points irregardless, if lesser, will deduct more will be FOC. So there is no additonal charge :x for items that are vague, please also not things like "supply and install ....." check for hidden costs. is they state only supply, they might charge installation seperately. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 when u do lesser things, maybe you want to also note the itemised price they quote to u. as u do lesser things, they tend to earn lesser in a way and the itemised price may be slightly higher and discount might be lesser too. Just take note on that. Mitlancer is right to say that elect points best to have a list on the pricing. Mine was quoted 40 points irregardless, if lesser, will deduct more will be FOC. So there is no additonal charge :x for items that are vague, please also not things like "supply and install ....." check for hidden costs. is they state only supply, they might charge installation seperately. okies more good tips... well, there was a package from an id and then those few items listed earlier (and few others excluded) were added to give me a quote... I think for the higher quotes, maybe I don't do carpentry, so they're earning from elsewhere in the quote?! ok, will remember to ask for pricing for elect points before committing... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 not stated, I believe it will look like cornise?! I'll have to ask further... yea, asked them le, do I have to make them write down?! make them write it down. even for cornice, there are a lot of type. which one are they refering to? there's a catalogue for cornice as well. tell them to show it to u then write an example in the quote mm..my gypsum board (i.e. my divider and bed board) are finished with laminates. check with them. cuz normally they dun do cornice for gypsum board. maybe this ID has a new way of doing it? okies more good tips... well, there was a package from an id and then those few items listed earlier (and few others excluded) were added to give me a quote... I think for the higher quotes, maybe I don't do carpentry, so they're earning from elsewhere in the quote?! ok, will remember to ask for pricing for elect points before committing... mmm...i dunno abt the way u nego, merryman. but together with my gf and her fiance, plus my fiance and me, we managed to get Eric to give us 10 free electrical sockets. depends on the way u do it le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 any verbal agreement is best to note down and get both parties to sign on to prevent misundertanding in future can only remember so much now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 make them write it down. even for cornice, there are a lot of type. which one are they refering to? there's a catalogue for cornice as well. tell them to show it to u then write an example in the quote mm..my gypsum board (i.e. my divider and bed board) are finished with laminates. check with them. cuz normally they dun do cornice for gypsum board. maybe this ID has a new way of doing it? mmm...i dunno abt the way u nego, merryman. but together with my gf and her fiance, plus my fiance and me, we managed to get Eric to give us 10 free electrical sockets. depends on the way u do it le..haha, you guys are so mean to him mine is to fill up the olden days doorway ventilation (above the door de)... so I wonder what kind of gypsum board is there... I'll ask her... any verbal agreement is best to note down and get both parties to sign on to prevent misundertanding in future can only remember so much now... good Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 (edited) haha, you guys are so mean to him mine is to fill up the olden days doorway ventilation (above the door de)... so I wonder what kind of gypsum board is there... I'll ask her... wait till u see the number of things my gf made him to write down FOC for us..and the number of things that we get him FOC for us during the reno.. well, i believe that we have to let him earn la..but being nice to him (monetary wise) is being cruel to ourselves..mm...a bit too direct hor? but it's true la.. Edited July 6, 2009 by rierie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 wait till u see the number of things my gf made him to write down FOC for us..and the number of things that we get him FOC for us during the reno.. well, i believe that we have to let him earn la..but being nice to him (monetary wise) is being cruel to ourselves..mm...a bit too direct hor? but it's true la.. hahaha, true also, let him earn a little, let us save a little also.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 oh ya, f4, one contractor quoted me half the price for the door (for main door) wor, maybe different quality?! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 oh ya, f4, one contractor quoted me half the price for the door (for main door) wor, maybe different quality?! make sure that the main door is solid and not hollow. I don't think hollow de will "pass" wor. Solid ones should be more pricey...if fire-rated even more costly. Then again, i was told there are different types of fire-rated doors. Like they told me got half hour type, 1hour type. so best to ask and ask if u are unsure. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 make sure that the main door is solid and not hollow. I don't think hollow de will "pass" wor. Solid ones should be more pricey...if fire-rated even more costly. Then again, i was told there are different types of fire-rated doors. Like they told me got half hour type, 1hour type. so best to ask and ask if u are unsure. easiest way is to tell them it needs to have the approved label from hdb Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mitlancer71 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 easiest way is to tell them it needs to have the approved label from hdb If i did not remember wrongly ..... For older flats, only those units next to the staircase need to have Fire-rated doors. This is to ensure in the event of fire from the units next to the stair, fire can be contain within a stipulate time depend on the rating. And the escape route will not be affect. If your unit is not by the staircase, there is no requirement. Pls chk with HDB first before install ..... cos Fire-rated doors are much expensive Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 make sure that the main door is solid and not hollow. I don't think hollow de will "pass" wor. Solid ones should be more pricey...if fire-rated even more costly. Then again, i was told there are different types of fire-rated doors. Like they told me got half hour type, 1hour type. so best to ask and ask if u are unsure. easiest way is to tell them it needs to have the approved label from hdb If i did not remember wrongly ..... For older flats, only those units next to the staircase need to have Fire-rated doors. This is to ensure in the event of fire from the units next to the stair, fire can be contain within a stipulate time depend on the rating. And the escape route will not be affect. If your unit is not by the staircase, there is no requirement. Pls chk with HDB first before install ..... cos Fire-rated doors are much expensive thanks for the replies I don't need a fire-rated as the previous owner didn't return me one (they supposed to if HDB already change theirs to fire-rated)... ooooh, got hollow and solid doors?! something new I learn today... thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2009 so how's your quotes so far? wow, you havent start reno, already 8 pages. if start oredi hor, then 25 pages! your thread is red hot Share this post Link to post Share on other sites