blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 I like that idea too... might use that as alternative to tiles... wonder if other contractors can do that stainless steel sheet for me yea, that's what I thought too, I'm already cutting down on carpentry and still getting this price, sad! Plaster over tiles? hmmm... I wonder about the charge... may have to enquire.. Yes...i think there alot of others using that as alternative though. just that how much they will be charging u for the plaster and also S/S only. The charges for what ms Piglet suggest sure less than hacking de....it one way to save. Cant remeber how much it cost also... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 how about using tempered glass as backing? think it's cheaper than stainless steel tot temper glass much more ex?this i cant confirm...just an impression. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 hmmm, yalar, have to cut some stuff, but dunno what to cut, all the tiling are the most expensive but advisable not to tile kitchen/bathroom? i know it will be a challenge because of project management... sianz liao... thanks BD... you got licence to console boh?! actually i read those houses managed by joseph seems pretty ok. then again, just a suggestion hor...i am NOT PROMOTING and I DON'T GET ANYTHING OUT OF THIS!!! actually if the condition of tje unit is acceptable to u, u may want to retain the tiles? for me, those that were left behind really not to my liking so i changed all of it. masonry works are pretty costly... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 tot temper glass much more ex?this i cant confirm...just an impression. mm...initially, i thought so too. but when i asked Eric to give it to me FOC, he never say anything. so i presume that it's cheaper? it's either that or he's aly earning a lot from my house le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 mm...initially, i thought so too. but when i asked Eric to give it to me FOC, he never say anything. so i presume that it's cheaper? it's either that or he's aly earning a lot from my house le.. okie...so good ah...cos when i ask ID or who...they told me glass much more ex...my stainless stell is FOC de...heheheh:P Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 (edited) yea, that's what I thought too, I'm already cutting down on carpentry and still getting this price, sad! Plaster over tiles? hmmm... I wonder about the charge... may have to enquire.. get more quotes 1st, dun despair! i think u try to get some of the Yeakers to help u pass ur num to Yeak? i rembr they did quite a bit of reno w carpentry and the price was still within 20k+. And i think plastering+s/s backing shd be cheaper than hacking n tiling. i think u can do something like oogachaga. I rembr she did plastering over the wall tiles and lay full stretch of S/S backing.. contractor used was Henry from Impress21. how about using tempered glass as backing? think it's cheaper than stainless steel yalor... i had the impression that its more ex. That's why i dare not ask for glass backing but instead got a FOC piece of S/S for just the stove area. F4: u so cute! put big big disclaimer! Edited June 29, 2009 by mrspiglet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 thanks for the ideas, ladies and gentlemen, good to have you guys around.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 not yet, i've only went through first round, the other few contacts I've yet to call... but losing steam liao Hi merryman, I understand how you felt. You will feel relief once you settle on one. Don't give up, get more quotes and see compare their pricing. My hb tabulated all the quotes into excel and we compared them item by item. Quite difficult to do as most companies have their own way of quoting (some quote by area, by living room, some lump all together). From there, decide on those items which you can forego or change to other alternatives. The quotation that you posted, I think the hacking seems quite high. Does it already include the removal of debris and haulage of sand? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 ideas=must pay hor...... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 (edited) Hi merryman, I understand how you felt. You will feel relief once you settle on one. Don't give up, get more quotes and see compare their pricing. My hb tabulated all the quotes into excel and we compared them item by item. Quite difficult to do as most companies have their own way of quoting (some quote by area, by living room, some lump all together). From there, decide on those items which you can forego or change to other alternatives. The quotation that you posted, I think the hacking seems quite high. Does it already include the removal of debris and haulage of sand?hello, I will think so, it's all there, unless they want me to clear them myself... I have to check... ya, I also try to compare next to each other but not easy lor, like u said, quotations come in different style de.. sweats.. ideas=must pay hor...... pay you with blue diamonds shaped picture Edited June 30, 2009 by merryman Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 hello, I will think so, it's all there, unless they want me to clear them myself... I have to check... ya, I also try to compare next to each other but not easy lor, like u said, quotations come in different style de.. sweats.. pay you with blue diamonds shaped picture wah...so big...dun need la...i never contributed much...except jokes only...so no need to give me suach a big gifts ley*shy* On serious note, did u manage to chase those who supposed to get back to u?i know calling n chasing is stressful...but it yr place after all....so just go through it...sure everything will be ok. I have manage to dig out some contacts....but i find their pricing high...better dun recommend to u(although some of them is my friend's friend) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 wah...so big...dun need la...i never contributed much...except jokes only...so no need to give me suach a big gifts ley*shy* On serious note, did u manage to chase those who supposed to get back to u?i know calling n chasing is stressful...but it yr place after all....so just go through it...sure everything will be ok. I have manage to dig out some contacts....but i find their pricing high...better dun recommend to u(although some of them is my friend's friend) called and made a few more appointments, i don't dare chase liao lar, wait they tell me go find another... but if my wife and I later decide le, then we can tell them no need le... so ma fan.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 called and made a few more appointments, i don't dare chase liao lar, wait they tell me go find another... but if my wife and I later decide le, then we can tell them no need le... so ma fan.. aiya not ma fan la....sometime they also not so automatic de... u push abit, they move abit. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 actually i didn't bother to chase. if they are keen on my biz, they come back, else i look for alternatives. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 aiya not ma fan la....sometime they also not so automatic de... u push abit, they move abit.haha, then my renovation also liddat how? die liao, ask u to help to supervise them? haha actually i didn't bother to chase. if they are keen on my biz, they come back, else i look for alternatives. that's my thought later after i banged myself into the wall yesterday Share this post Link to post Share on other sites