merryman

Pig Sty

ya... so far i will tell them my budget and ask them to quote their price... but of course the budget i give is lower la (wah, later contractors see le know)...

yeah normally for example, if you tell them 20k, it will normally become higher 1. unless you are willing to take out some items. like 'wants'

I also took out TV feature wall, L-Box etc. my wants is my laminate flooring, intially wanted homo tiles, but they are too ex for my budget.

Maybe you can list down a list of needs and wants, then strike off those that you really dun need. then at least your wallet won't be too painful

yeah normally for example, if you tell them 20k, it will normally become higher 1. unless you are willing to take out some items. like 'wants'

I also took out TV feature wall, L-Box etc. my wants is my laminate flooring, intially wanted homo tiles, but they are too ex for my budget.

Maybe you can list down a list of needs and wants, then strike off those that you really dun need. then at least your wallet won't be too painful

Already put KIV for those 'wants' le in the first page of to-do-list... don't have many wants lar, no budget :D

spent last night talking to 3 contractors, super tiring. still have more to contact, 1 more quote received, 1 quote was promised to be in but yet to be...

what type of air-con should I get? Inverter or conventional?

spent last night talking to 3 contractors, super tiring. still have more to contact, 1 more quote received, 1 quote was promised to be in but yet to be...

mm..we got the inverter

hang in there! Back then i felt like a broken recorder, repeating over and over again. in the end, i came up with my own list of works with measurements stated for a more accurate quote.

I got the non-invertor sys 3 base on our usage pattern. U can read more here and decide which types suits ur usage better?

hello merryman,

from what I know, If you always on your aircon for long period of time, and everyday,

then a inverter aircon is better because the cost savings will be more obvious. This is what I always thought to be.

E.g, you on aircon at night daily, and also on it whenever you're in the study room, then a inverter will be a better choice?

however, if you only on it to cool the room at night, then later on switch to fan, then a non-inverter will be preferred.

am i right to say this?

hang in there! Back then i felt like a broken recorder, repeating over and over again. in the end, i came up with my own list of works with measurements stated for a more accurate quote.

I got the non-invertor sys 3 base on our usage pattern. U can read more here and decide which types suits ur usage better?

Thanks for the link, I need some laymen term, the wikipedia article was too technical :D

hello merryman,

from what I know, If you always on your aircon for long period of time, and everyday,

then a inverter aircon is better because the cost savings will be more obvious. This is what I always thought to be.

E.g, you on aircon at night daily, and also on it whenever you're in the study room, then a inverter will be a better choice?

however, if you only on it to cool the room at night, then later on switch to fan, then a non-inverter will be preferred.

am i right to say this?

Not sure, but from the link above:

1) Because an Inverter is more energy efficient. Strictly speaking, you should calculate the 'breakeven period' or 'simple payback period'. If it falls within 5 years, then it will more economical to purchase an Inverter now.

2) When you lived in an old HDB with 8.5amp or 11amp current limit. But you want to install a System 4 for 3 bedrooms and 1 living. But a System 4 usually runs at a current of 11amp and above. Accordding to HDB regulations, you cannot install more than 1 outdoor unit or any outdoor unit having a running ampere of more than 8.5 or 11.

Therefore the only solution is to go for an inverter with variable current settings.

3) When you want a special combination like 15K+12K+9K. Only inverter allows you to choose the indoor unit combination freely.

4) When you cannot stand the outdoor unit noise level. Go get an inverter QUICK! Inverters are generally quieter in terms of outdoor unit than Non Inverters.

5) When you do not like anything that is using older technology. Tech Savy!!!!

Summary of Inverter Air Conditioners

1) Are generally of higher quality especially those using R410A refrigerant.

2) Has longer compressor life span.

3) Are very much quiet.

4) Will reduce your electrical consumption especially when using for long periods.

hello merryman,

am i right to say this?

guess it depends on individual preference. for my case, though we are not going to switch it frequently but we still get an inverter cuz htb wants a more environmental friendly home. his logic is save electricity and water wherever we can. so, i guess it depends on individual preference :P

well, it is said that inverter only saves when you use it often...

yes, it is personal preference...

most likely I'll go for inverter after reading up :D more money, haha, why yesterday toto never strike?

was at balestier yesterday looking for lights and chanced upon pd doors, remember seeing someone in the t-blog has it and was drawn to seeing it, now wifey wants pd door instead of bi-fold... haha.... any advices on this?!

well, it is said that inverter only saves when you use it often...

yes, it is personal preference...

most likely I'll go for inverter after reading up :D more money, haha, why yesterday toto never strike?

So how much is your inverter aircon? u buying system 3 or system 4?

havent start looking :( and system 3 (might even consider system 2)... only 3rooms leh :D

wow, got another quote today, high side, maybe have to remove some things that I want to get done le :(

havent start looking :( and system 3 (might even consider system 2)... only 3rooms leh :D

wow, got another quote today, high side, maybe have to remove some things that I want to get done le :(

which quote u got from? share share leh. you got call naaman or not huh?

sorry, i've not yet call him :( paiseh

a friend's contact... dunno if I should post, later the company sees their quote here...