skymars

My Home In The East

Do you intend to extend your MBR toilet? So shiok! i also want.. but but i don't want to sacrifice my WIW or entertainment room. Haha..

You intend to hack down the wall between the MBR & the other room to make a smaller room for your study right? Great idea.. Then you can have a bigger MBR. Any idea if that wall confirm can hacked? I'm so worried cos if HDB dun approve all my plans will be gone.. :bangwall:

yup will be extending the toilet for vanity area cos original mbr toilet quite small..

the bigger MBR is mainly for the longer wardrobe which my WTB requested (the vanity also she requested actually)...so gotta fit in all the requests.. :P

ya gd point abt wall hacking..but so far, all the IDs n contractors i met did not raise any concern abt tat so i guess should be ok..wall can hack but the beam will definitely still be there...tat one no choice..

Hi Skymars,

Looks like you've got your layout figured out pretty well already. :)

Just to share an idea for the Living Room. I was thinking, you could do a mid-height partition where the sofa is now, with your TV console behind it and have the Sofa facing the Main Door. This way, got abit of privacy as people move-in and you can also allocate some space on the side facing the door to have some niches to place shoes.

ic...i get wat u mean..will take tat into consideration...the thing now we are trying to minimise cost n TV console is not in our reno list at the moment...cos no budget :(

i did saw some TV console with backing for TV mounting avail in the market...but not v stylish..hee...so still looking...if possible i would prefer to mount my tv...so gotta look see somemore..

so gotta settle for the current layout with the console against the wall..maybe tv mount on wall but wirings is an issue...hmm

:good: this is the so called "hidden cost" u couldnt really said hidden cost either...haha..cos that is additional things that u have over-look during the discussion of the renovation,u wanna add something to the reno,of course gotta add $$

And it could roll out to be huge sum of money!

yup yup these kind of IDs or contractor definitely should not be in the consideration list..at least not for mine.. :P

have learnt alot after past few months of searching...really gotta go into nitty grittys...but still learning anyway....:)

hi rasp...tks for your comments...ha actually i m still not very gd with floorplanner...so i juz drag watever icon they have into the layout :P. the actual position of the stove will be against the wall...the extended portion should be the sink..quite typical i guess..

eh not too sure wat u mean by "seal up the other room"...ya i admit that bedroom is going to be a long n rather narrow room...to be exact abt 2m in terms of width...so..is abt just nice for a single bed with put out bed below..the narrowness is sort of compensated by the longer length..so i guess we gotta think of creative ways to make the room look not so long and flat n maximise the space in watever ways we can tink of...e.g. mirror, colour of walls, diff colour tone of paint on wall, placement of furnitures etc...everything in tat room, except the wardrobe, will be non fixture...so as long as we have new ideas along the way to fit the need at that moment...we can always change it..power points n lightings gotta be taken into consideration too..:)

'seal up the other room'.. i mean after you hacked the wall between the mbr and the other bedrm, you build back the wall.

I think so long as you are already prepared to have a longish bedrm then its ok. Because I personally think that its very hard to play with a longish room e.g. the placement of the single bed, if in the middle, will it block the passway, if at the corner will it affect the door etc.. its just me.. :D

Another thing that you might want to take note is the beams in the house. Do check if there will be a beam after hacking the wall between the mbr and the other room. Because your baby might be sleeping under the beam (based on your layout).

'seal up the other room'.. i mean after you hacked the wall between the mbr and the other bedrm, you build back the wall.

I think so long as you are already prepared to have a longish bedrm then its ok. Because I personally think that its very hard to play with a longish room e.g. the placement of the single bed, if in the middle, will it block the passway, if at the corner will it affect the door etc.. its just me.. :D

Another thing that you might want to take note is the beams in the house. Do check if there will be a beam after hacking the wall between the mbr and the other room. Because your baby might be sleeping under the beam (based on your layout).

haha gd point abt baby under beam...yes there is definitely a beam there...n i am juz click n drag icon happy...ha...yea baby not going to be there :yamseng:

Hee.. i got a number of beams at my house too, have been thinking about them recently. :D

I found your blog...haha.. your floor plan is really a mirror image of mine! Your proposed layout is interesting. I guess we have the same problem of a small MBR... hope to see more updates soon.

hi all,

after a long search process, my reno have finally started yest!!! :D

i dun have the pictures with me now..so i will start my entry with my ID search process..and after some thoughts, i decided to keep the company names anomynous. and u will get to see my reno process and decide for urself if my chosen company is gd or not :)

during my search process, i met up with a number of IDs/contractors. some did not went thru my first round of selection so i will not bother to describe them

the companys i shortlisted will be as follow:

1. Company A

Quote reasonable. humble and responsive to my request. reputation is gd. however the ID look abit inexperience and was not really able to give me good suggestions abt design and reno. perhaps lack of some initiative which i am looking for. otherwise he is actually a fine person to work with i would say.

2. company B

Very gd design and drawings at our first meeting. a lot of personal ideas. Quote on the high side. humble and nice fellow. however, he has a strong perception of how a design should be. hence he is not very responsive to my requests.

3. company C

quote reasonable. responsive and has sufficient initiative. go that extra mile to try to provide for what i need. was able to adapt design to what i request. at the end, able to provide a design that best meet my requests.

hence i chose company C who is a contractor to commence my reno journey.

based on projection, my reno should be done by first week of Oct. hope everything runs smoothly :)

will update soon

Some updates after RENO DAY 1!! :)

th_SNC00335.jpg

Original Kitchen

th_SNC00519.jpg

kitchen after hack

th_SNC00336.jpg

Original MBR and toilet

th_SNC00521.jpg

MBR Toilet after hack

btw i will be preserving my broken marble in my Living rm and 3 bedrooms...similar to another Serangoon unit in this forum..will only polish since looks still ok..:) tmr will be wall hacking for my bedrooms :)

Heya Skymars.

Congrats on choosing your ID and starting your reno. How's the final layout like now? Still sticking to the one you originally posted earlier?

Looks like our reno will be completed around the same time. Do post pics of updates. :)

Walls hacked...

MBR toilet-shift of door way from left to right, making room for shower space

SNC00527.jpg

vanity floor area hacked

SNC00530.jpg

MBR- adjoining room wall hacked to increase MBR space

SNC00528.jpg

Narrower adjoining room to be created

SNC00532.jpg

storeroom hacked to add lit'bit more space for future little marc junior *fingers crossed*

SNC00531.jpg

hi skymars,

congrats on starting your reno! that's alot of hacking you have there. envy you can enlarge your bathroom. i'm so stuck in my miserable bathroom. are you going to have a bathtub there? i've uploaded a pic which you requested from my kitchen angle. you may want to take a look. good luck with your reno :)

Hi Skymars, we had the same layout but different reno concept. Just like littleones, really envy you extend out the toilet but my wife reject. By the way, will there be sufficient walk-space between the bed and the wardrobe, just my concern.