skymars

My Home In The East

guess there are always many ways to design but at the end of the day, it juz gotta be something we like :)

Yup, and something that work too. :)

Good to look at all angles, brainstorming to cover your needs, with end result that you will be happy with.

Must post more pics!

Yoz skymars,

Firstly, welcome to RT! Congratulations!!!

By the way, our nick quite alike leh, 7-letter nick, haha!! :D

Where in the East is your place ah?? Hope I didn't miss reading that part. Haha...

Hope to see more photos, and may your reno process is a smooth flowing one!!!

Cheers!!! :)

so both of u not relative or somehow related ah?

haha

Of course not related mah, just coincidentally have an "alike" nickname. Otherwise I wouldn't have asked which part of the East right.

Haha... :P

Hi Skymars,

Welcome to the forum and Congrats on your new place.

Its good that you did your homework in terms of searching for IDs. Which one did you decide on?

Its a nice, practical proposal for a re-work of the layout. Once it's finalised to your liking, I reckon it's easier to move along and enjoy the reno process.

One thing to highlight though, as Pinkpetter mentioned, I noted in your quote that the tiles cost quoted's based on $2.40/psf, to be honest, the selection will be very limited as most of the better quality and nicer tiles will usually hover at the $3/psf and above mark.

If you can, do try to take a look at some ongoing work done by the ID to get a better gauge of workmanship quality. :)

Hi Hi

me oso spam spam here ;)

tok abt the tile price, it is rather limited. totally agreed with adrian_john

Just selected the tiles for my fren's home, most r in $3 or S$3.20 de...

Would u want to consider the contractor my fren used?

Mayb u could get a quote & compare. then u would know how much to bargain for :)

Hi Hi

me oso spam spam here ;)

tok abt the tile price, it is rather limited. totally agreed with adrian_john

Just selected the tiles for my fren's home, most r in $3 or S$3.20 de...

Would u want to consider the contractor my fren used?

Mayb u could get a quote & compare. then u would know how much to bargain for :)

ok noted friends..

rdnest, sure i dun mind 1 more quote :) can PM me the contact. tks! :D

Actually just wondering for all the things i want to do, the comments are mainly on the low tile price quoted. So can i say, if the price is set at $3 than the overall quotation price will only go up assuming the rest of the items remain constant? or maybe the other solution for me will be to look for contractor? :rolleyes:

ok noted friends..

rdnest, sure i dun mind 1 more quote :) can PM me the contact. tks! :D

Actually just wondering for all the things i want to do, the comments are mainly on the low tile price quoted. So can i say, if the price is set at $3 than the overall quotation price will only go up assuming the rest of the items remain constant? or maybe the other solution for me will be to look for contractor? :rolleyes:

Skymars,

One point I noted about some IDs is that they always present to you a lower quotation to make it appeal to you by having it close to your budget.

Some do this to make it seem like it fits your budget or to make their quote appear lower than other competitors so you'll sign quickly.

However, as the design process moves along and the ID or yourself come up with more ideas of what you'd like, you'll find that slowly, more incremental costs (e.g. the tiles or carpentry options) will be added to the initial quote, and thus increase the total amount of your renovation. For carpentry works, if you have not specified the type of wardrobe you want, they will base it on the standard swing-door with laminate format with standard internal layout. So, if you wish to have glass/mirror sliding doors, the cost may be different.

Before you sign with any of the IDs, it'd be good to visualise and conceptualise what you'd ideally like for your place and then share it with the ID to quote. Its always easier to work from the highest specs and go lower. Rather than work from the lower specs and have them use that as an excuse to keep increasing the price for a certain item, which some enjoy doing. :)

A contractor would definitely save you a fair bit of money compared to ID, and thankfully, this forum has a couple of good, honest and reliable ones like Ah Soon or Mr Yeak.

floorplan1.jpg

ok..i hear the comments...

btw this is a plan tat i have...hope it works :)

Hi skymars

Your layout is so similar to mine. Hee.. Have fun renovating!! :D

Hi skymars

Your layout is so similar to mine. Hee.. Have fun renovating!! :D

saw ur reno post...yes!...its exactly the same! haha...but quite diff way of reno...ha so envious of your entertainment room...i did comtemplate putting MBR like urs too...but tat will block off light to the other rm (ur entertainment rm)..but its ok for u...:) so shiok...

my mum will be staying with us...so i will need my 3 rms...yet i also yearn for a bigger MBR...so tats how we arrive at the current design...:)

Hi Skymars,

Looks like you've got your layout figured out pretty well already. :)

Just to share an idea for the Living Room. I was thinking, you could do a mid-height partition where the sofa is now, with your TV console behind it and have the Sofa facing the Main Door. This way, got abit of privacy as people move-in and you can also allocate some space on the side facing the door to have some niches to place shoes.

saw ur reno post...yes!...its exactly the same! haha...but quite diff way of reno...ha so envious of your entertainment room...i did comtemplate putting MBR like urs too...but tat will block off light to the other rm (ur entertainment rm)..but its ok for u...:) so shiok...

my mum will be staying with us...so i will need my 3 rms...yet i also yearn for a bigger MBR...so tats how we arrive at the current design...:)

Do you intend to extend your MBR toilet? So shiok! i also want.. but but i don't want to sacrifice my WIW or entertainment room. Haha..

You intend to hack down the wall between the MBR & the other room to make a smaller room for your study right? Great idea.. Then you can have a bigger MBR. Any idea if that wall confirm can hacked? I'm so worried cos if HDB dun approve all my plans will be gone.. :bangwall:

floorplan1.jpg

ok..i hear the comments...

btw this is a plan tat i have...hope it works :)

Hi Skymars,

I noticed that your kitchen stove is facing the washing machine. Do you have a divider or something inbetween them? Because the wall behind the cooker is usually very oil and sticky after each cook so I guess your washing machine might get it if there is no divider.

Another thing is.. i am not sure if you are a believer of fengshui. Because for fengshui wise, they usually advise the stove to be against a sturdy wall etc..

The last thing that I noticed is.. you hacked the wall of the rm next to the mbr to give more spaces to the mbr and then seal up the other room. Are you going to use partition wall or hollow block wall for the new wall? Personally I think the space in the new area is too narrow for the furniture placing. Its going to be quite difficult for any future changes e.g. to change into a bedrm, it will very narrow to just take a single bed space. My suggestion is, if you need more space in the mbr currently, I would prefer that you hack the wall and combine both room as 1 big one. It will be more spacious and ease of future changes.

Just my personal views. ;)

Hi Skymars,

I noticed that your kitchen stove is facing the washing machine. Do you have a divider or something inbetween them? Because the wall behind the cooker is usually very oil and sticky after each cook so I guess your washing machine might get it if there is no divider.

Another thing is.. i am not sure if you are a believer of fengshui. Because for fengshui wise, they usually advise the stove to be against a sturdy wall etc..

The last thing that I noticed is.. you hacked the wall of the rm next to the mbr to give more spaces to the mbr and then seal up the other room. Are you going to use partition wall or hollow block wall for the new wall? Personally I think the space in the new area is too narrow for the furniture placing. Its going to be quite difficult for any future changes e.g. to change into a bedrm, it will very narrow to just take a single bed space. My suggestion is, if you need more space in the mbr currently, I would prefer that you hack the wall and combine both room as 1 big one. It will be more spacious and ease of future changes.

Just my personal views. ;)

hi rasp...tks for your comments...ha actually i m still not very gd with floorplanner...so i juz drag watever icon they have into the layout :P. the actual position of the stove will be against the wall...the extended portion should be the sink..quite typical i guess..

eh not too sure wat u mean by "seal up the other room"...ya i admit that bedroom is going to be a long n rather narrow room...to be exact abt 2m in terms of width...so..is abt just nice for a single bed with put out bed below..the narrowness is sort of compensated by the longer length..so i guess we gotta think of creative ways to make the room look not so long and flat n maximise the space in watever ways we can tink of...e.g. mirror, colour of walls, diff colour tone of paint on wall, placement of furnitures etc...everything in tat room, except the wardrobe, will be non fixture...so as long as we have new ideas along the way to fit the need at that moment...we can always change it..power points n lightings gotta be taken into consideration too..:)