cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 merryman, gain city aircon not de cheapest but i thought expensive a bit but if installation swee swee that i dun mind the extra... but, guess depends on luck which team come n do ur installation. heard frm my colleague who bought his samsung from courts that most of the experience installer left gain city. ivy, painting myself to cut cost lor, cos my contractor quote ard $800 to paint. somemore only painting one color so i thought DIY lor. cos was having some debate with my wifey on the process of än shen", her colleague told her need to move altar in, än shen"than move the rest of the furniture. but my colleague says it's ok as long as u not staying in. BD, our furniture moving in on 22 july tog. with altar, guan yin coming in on 26july, ok will take note of the praying part if we decide to move in later. elaine1311, oh i thought an chuan for newly weds only, eh another question, last time when my wife & i moved in tog. to my parents place, never ah chuan, do we need to do it when we shift to our new hse??? cos we lao fu lao qi liao, already living tog. for ard 5yrs liao. : ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 merryman, gain city aircon not de cheapest but i thought expensive a bit but if installation swee swee that i dun mind the extra... but, guess depends on luck which team come n do ur installation. heard frm my colleague who bought his samsung from courts that most of the experience installer left gain city. ivy, painting myself to cut cost lor, cos my contractor quote ard $800 to paint. somemore only painting one color so i thought DIY lor. cos was having some debate with my wifey on the process of än shen", her colleague told her need to move altar in, än shen"than move the rest of the furniture. but my colleague says it's ok as long as u not staying in. BD, our furniture moving in on 22 july tog. with altar, guan yin coming in on 26july, ok will take note of the praying part if we decide to move in later. elaine1311, oh i thought an chuan for newly weds only, eh another question, last time when my wife & i moved in tog. to my parents place, never ah chuan, do we need to do it when we shift to our new hse??? cos we lao fu lao qi liao, already living tog. for ard 5yrs liao. : ) oh, many contractors recommend me to go to gaincity.. where will you recommend?! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 i guess regarding the an shen part the best is check with both sets of parents and see what's their thought. I believe different folks have different practice. just like the "an chuang" process, most crucial is the elderly folks at home won't get upset over what the youngsters are doing. really paint alone ahhh? very tiring de leh. gather a few friends to help u lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 merryman, guess it depends on luck lor, my colleague brought his aircon from courts, he says 3hrs everything finished, no problem. my aircon installation ard 4hr, from 9.30pm - 1.30pm, somemore i waited for a month before they came to install cos they say saturaday installation need to wait one mth while my friend waited ard 2 weeks nia. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 i do agree with ivy. old folks have thier belief in doing certain things especially they view such things as the most impt for a house. as for painting...u wana try the paint? can ask BD if he is keen to try paints and get him to help u! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 merryman, guess it depends on luck lor, my colleague brought his aircon from courts, he says 3hrs everything finished, no problem. my aircon installation ard 4hr, from 9.30pm - 1.30pm, somemore i waited for a month before they came to install cos they say saturaday installation need to wait one mth while my friend waited ard 2 weeks nia. i see... hope I have good luck... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 ivy, me and my wife doing the painting last weekend cos my friends not free, this weekend will ""tempt" them to come over with promise of free food. hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 i see... hope I have good luck... so which aircon brand u looking at??? can check coolserve website or call courts to check the price lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 so which aircon brand u looking at??? can check coolserve website or call courts to check the price lor. havent decide on the brand but likely to get a system 2... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elane1311 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 merryman, gain city aircon not de cheapest but i thought expensive a bit but if installation swee swee that i dun mind the extra... but, guess depends on luck which team come n do ur installation. heard frm my colleague who bought his samsung from courts that most of the experience installer left gain city. ivy, painting myself to cut cost lor, cos my contractor quote ard $800 to paint. somemore only painting one color so i thought DIY lor. cos was having some debate with my wifey on the process of än shen", her colleague told her need to move altar in, än shen"than move the rest of the furniture. but my colleague says it's ok as long as u not staying in. BD, our furniture moving in on 22 july tog. with altar, guan yin coming in on 26july, ok will take note of the praying part if we decide to move in later. elaine1311, oh i thought an chuan for newly weds only, eh another question, last time when my wife & i moved in tog. to my parents place, never ah chuan, do we need to do it when we shift to our new hse??? cos we lao fu lao qi liao, already living tog. for ard 5yrs liao. : ) hmm, think as long you change new bed bah..anyway, see what yr parents say.. for me, is my MIL gives instruction and i follow.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 (edited) merryman, i got my mitsubhishi electric sys 2 non inverter for $1669 from gain city. elaine1311, oh, cos my parents also blur blur... so got to ask around. maybe will check with my relative see wat they say lor. Edited July 14, 2009 by cannotisit Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 picture time.... My bedrooms lights: My Living room lights: My new kitchen cabinet: My new washing basin & tap from Genova: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 Pictures of my aircon: Previous Bedroom 1 condition: Bedroom 1 socket: Bedroom 1 aircon, you can see peeled paint on the floor: Bedroom 2 wiring: Bedroom 2 aircon: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pbtgal 0 Report post Posted July 16, 2009 (edited) Hi Cannotist reading your t-blog brings back a lot of memories cos i had stayed there (@ Blk 7 - the 1-room flat) for 22 years b4 shifting to Woodlands. Nice quiet place, tho' not very accessible lah. Ur block is nearer to St. Theresa's Convent right cos i saw that in your pic. Edit: When I was staying there, there were not many buses going there but not sure how's the situation like. But i remembered taking bus 195 at the bus-stop near Radin Mas CC to Tiong Bahru MRT Station. Edited July 16, 2009 by pbtgal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cannotisit 0 Report post Posted July 16, 2009 ya lor, i stay behind CHIJ, love the place cos it's very quiet. think i'll travek to the bus stop in front of CHIJ to take bus no.123 n 195 to mrt lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites