kaori89

360degrees Swivel Of Aircon Between The Wiw And Masterbedroom

I'm feeling a little ridiculous myself while Im typing..ahem..but anyway...

I plan to da3 tong1 one of the bedroom to combine with the masterbedroom to be a WIW with small study area.

However I wish that our living room, the masterbedroom and 1 more bedroom all got aircon, 3 split aircon unit. But I also scared if the masterbedroom become bigger(after being da3 tong1), 1 aircon will not be enough for coolness. Therefore we will set up curtain between the 2 sections. BUT as 1 section is also a study area...Im afraid it will be hot if only the sleeping area got aircon.

Erm...can I mount a aircon on a board or something on the wall between the 2 sections and make it so that it can swivel 360degrees...so that at any 1 time, I can choose the study corner cum WIW got aircon, OR my sleeping area got aircon. Can the wires take it or what?

If I sound ridiculous...please pardon me...*blushed*

Aircon cannot swivel due to aircon copper piping cannot twist often.

1 method is to get system 4 and 1 for study and 1 for master.

Other method is to place aircon in middle and then put 2 curtain track, one on each side of aircon. then can partition aircon for either side of room.

Instead of 2 track can also consider do 1 U track, like those cheap changing room, with the aircon in the middle.

Aircon cannot swivel due to aircon copper piping cannot twist often.

1 method is to get system 4 and 1 for study and 1 for master.

Other method is to place aircon in middle and then put 2 curtain track, one on each side of aircon. then can partition aircon for either side of room.

Instead of 2 track can also consider do 1 U track, like those cheap changing room, with the aircon in the middle.

Hi Yoong

thanks so much for your reply. =)

Ya I also think aircon wire cannot always twist..but just wondering if put loosely and only twist 1 direction back and forth, will it be okie..

Thanks for your suggestions!

We will consider which one to take. =)

The wire is not an issue. The aircon has 2 copper pipes carrying aircon gas, these pipes are not designed for flexibility. there is also a plastic condensate drain pipe that is easily dislodged.

hmm....my SO said the curtains will be ugly. =(

Where will right? I thought U shape will be quite nice.

Or u can get a window aircon for ur study room.

Hmm..not a bad idea!

Eh nono..window aircon very noisy!

Edited by kaori89

I plan to da3 tong1 one of the bedroom to combine with the masterbedroom to be a WIW with small study area.

However I wish that our living room, the masterbedroom and 1 more bedroom all got aircon, 3 split aircon unit. But I also scared if the masterbedroom become bigger(after being da3 tong1), 1 aircon will not be enough for coolness. Therefore we will set up curtain between the 2 sections. BUT as 1 section is also a study area...Im afraid it will be hot if only the sleeping area got aircon.

Erm...can I mount a aircon on a board or something on the wall between the 2 sections and make it so that it can swivel 360degrees...so that at any 1 time, I can choose the study corner cum WIW got aircon, OR my sleeping area got aircon. Can the wires take it or what?

eh, my situation exactly like yours but i solve differently. Cz my floor area is small (whole flat only 75sqm) i may just use a 9k+18k+18k btu configuration for the aircon at my place. In other word put a 18k btu aircon on a wall in my mbr whereby it is in a "middle" position where i can "aim" both the study area and the sleeping area (just need to adjust the direction whereever i need it). I calculated that i need only 11k to cool both sleeping and study area but the aircon company calculate that i may need 15k, so i'm still deliberating whether to just settle for 12k unit or listen to advice and go for 18k (nothing in between for mitsubishi electric). Think i need to go back and recheck my calculations... Maybe you can check whether it's possible for you to just use one fancoil that can cool the entire study+sleeping area so you don't need to have this headache?

Opps.. I think I misunderstood yr problem..

Forget about partitioning for aircon coolness. If u get a 18K BTU unit for your room, it will be more than enough to cool both the enlarged room. Most of the time, usually u will not be turning on the living and the masterbedroom AC together. So if the living AC is off, then, there is sufficient cooling power to cool 1 bedroom + the enlarged master.

Try to get the largest outdoor unit on the market, like Mit 38K. Getting the largest will normally be cheaper than to spend $ on partitioning.

eh, my situation exactly like yours but i solve differently. Cz my floor area is small (whole flat only 75sqm) i may just use a 9k+18k+18k btu configuration for the aircon at my place. In other word put a 18k btu aircon on a wall in my mbr whereby it is in a "middle" position where i can "aim" both the study area and the sleeping area (just need to adjust the direction whereever i need it). I calculated that i need only 11k to cool both sleeping and study area but the aircon company calculate that i may need 15k, so i'm still deliberating whether to just settle for 12k unit or listen to advice and go for 18k (nothing in between for mitsubishi electric). Think i need to go back and recheck my calculations... Maybe you can check whether it's possible for you to just use one fancoil that can cool the entire study+sleeping area so you don't need to have this headache?

Chim. How you calculate all those one?

"just need to adjust the direction wherever I need it"--> How you adjust one? I thought the copper wirings make it impossible?

My house also not big lah, master room so small. That's why gonna hack a small opening through 1 room to combine 2 rooms. Just did this overnight. Do until 7am ah!

Original

edited

So limited space. Arghh. The green colour thingy in the master room should be the office table, the yellow being the wardrobe. Hope you all understand what I drew.

Oh the pool table is a joke. Just ignore it. =D

Opps.. I think I misunderstood yr problem..

Forget about partitioning for aircon coolness. If u get a 18K BTU unit for your room, it will be more than enough to cool both the enlarged room. Most of the time, usually u will not be turning on the living and the masterbedroom AC together. So if the living AC is off, then, there is sufficient cooling power to cool 1 bedroom + the enlarged master.

Try to get the largest outdoor unit on the market, like Mit 38K. Getting the largest will normally be cheaper than to spend $ on partitioning.

You did? I thought your solution quite okie.

Meanwhile....let me go and goggle what is BTU.....

Based on your floorplan.. I think u need 2 fancoil, cos if the opening is just 1 doorway, then the cool air may not spread evenly. The room with the fancoil will be cold, while it will take time for the other room to cool down.

Dun mind me saying... I think the original master door shd retain, and seal up the door next to the bed. Reasoning is that whenever come home.. first thing to do is to change to home clothes or use the toilet. If the door is from the bed, then got long way to walk. Better to have direct access.

Also.. shd consider hack off the whole wall between the 2 rooms.. then got the really grand open feeling.

Thank you all for your replies. =)

Based on your floorplan.. I think u need 2 fancoil, cos if the opening is just 1 doorway, then the cool air may not spread evenly. The room with the fancoil will be cold, while it will take time for the other room to cool down.

Dun mind me saying... I think the original master door shd retain, and seal up the door next to the bed. Reasoning is that whenever come home.. first thing to do is to change to home clothes or use the toilet. If the door is from the bed, then got long way to walk. Better to have direct access.

Also.. shd consider hack off the whole wall between the 2 rooms.. then got the really grand open feeling.

Do you mean 2 fancoil as in 2 aircon units? Sorry I did a google but I still dont quite understand about the fan coil thingy..

Ya If 1 unit, even if in between the 2 rooms, doubt it will really cool both units. Even with the curtains thingy, the aircon need to be placed perpendicular to the 2 rooms which are side by side..and even so, I doubt the aircon air can go freely.

I chose to have the other door at the bedroom 2 is because I think it's more welcoming to come home and see a nice spread of bed. =) On the contrary, if the first sight that greets the MBR is the toilet and wardrobe, I will feel abit sian. But of course both have their pros, your idea is more practical with more privacy.

Hack off whole wall between 2 rooms ah, hmm will definitely look more spacious. But where to mount my TV? Hmm unless set up a mini featured wall to mount it? As you can see, we're trying desperately to squeeze in some office desk...will it look weird if no wall to separate the 2 vastly different rooms which serves different purposes but yet a need to combine them together? A bigger curtain for partition?

Thanks for your contribution of ideas!

I humble suggestion, one fan coil blowing at yr masterbed room and install one exhaust sucking the cold air into yr WIW.

exhaust sucking the cold air into WIW? My god..all this is getting too chim for me to understand..never heard of such things before..haha..doubt my SO understands too. :P But we will definitely voice it to the contractor.

Thanks alot!

Why so troublesome when u can install a central air-con in between the rooms which can blow into the two areas. :P

Scared not cold enough leh........and the placement is also tricky!

If that the case u can place 2 central air-con on each side. Actually, it use only 1 condenser but cool 2 area, just like cinema, shopping centers, offices, etc....And I can tell u that, it will be cold enough that u might need to adjust the temp. :yamseng: