shuseido

What If Seller Nv Fulfill His Promises (some Reno Works) When Completion Date Is Up?

I only received 1 letter of inspection nia, which is before 1st appt. No letter of inspection after that.

Thanks born_again! I shall contact the officer for advice.

yup, that's the only letter before the 1st appointment. There's contact details in that letter. Do keep us posted on the latest so that everyone here can learn about it especially those who may happen to be in the same situation as u.

Hi Shuseido

we are in similar situation but slightly better than yours. However, it was the fault of the HDB inspector. He did the inspection on 4 May, juz 3 days b4 our 1st appointment. He found out that our sellers did not install the railings at the windows of the balcony. He asked why and the sellers replied when they bot the house 10 years ago, there wasnt such a rule. The inpsector noted it down and said will contact my sellers if they need to do something about it.

We thought no news means good news since 1 mth + already got and we were so happy to note from HDB website that our completion date will be 25 Jun, 3.45pm. Yippee :dancingqueen: !

Yesterday, my hb received a call from the HDB inspector but apparently he got the wrong person. He actually wanted to contact our sellers instead. Anyway, the seller had conveyed the bad news - HDB wanted them to install the railings. My sellers, of course, asked why the delay to inform them. The HDB inspector's reply was that he had too many cases to handle & had overlooked our case. Ridiculous! We definitely dun want any delay to the completion as we are on tight reno schedule. We are hacking and re-doing everything including floor & wall tiles within 5 weeks.

We told the sellers that there is no point for them to install now since we are tearing everything down. They will contact the HDB and we, as buyers, decided to speak to HDB that we will do the installation & bear all costs instead.

Sigh, will call on Monday. We have to settle this chop chop fast fast!

Hi Shuseido

we are in similar situation but slightly better than yours. However, it was the fault of the HDB inspector. He did the inspection on 4 May, juz 3 days b4 our 1st appointment. He found out that our sellers did not install the railings at the windows of the balcony. He asked why and the sellers replied when they bot the house 10 years ago, there wasnt such a rule. The inpsector noted it down and said will contact my sellers if they need to do something about it.

We thought no news means good news since 1 mth + already got and we were so happy to note from HDB website that our completion date will be 25 Jun, 3.45pm. Yippee :dancingqueen: !

Yesterday, my hb received a call from the HDB inspector but apparently he got the wrong person. He actually wanted to contact our sellers instead. Anyway, the seller had conveyed the bad news - HDB wanted them to install the railings. My sellers, of course, asked why the delay to inform them. The HDB inspector's reply was that he had too many cases to handle & had overlooked our case. Ridiculous! We definitely dun want any delay to the completion as we are on tight reno schedule. We are hacking and re-doing everything including floor & wall tiles within 5 weeks.

We told the sellers that there is no point for them to install now since we are tearing everything down. They will contact the HDB and we, as buyers, decided to speak to HDB that we will do the installation & bear all costs instead.

so irresponsible of the hdb officer to put the blame on 'too many cases and overlooked your case'. What u mean by 'tearing everything down'? If its a requirement according to hdb then u'll have to install it for their dunno when inspection since its a requirement to have the railings at the balcony.

Ya, this officer really cannot make it, 卖主, 买主傻傻分不清楚 8| . Called my hb to talk about installation of the railings and my hb went huh? My current 4-room flat dun have balcony leh. Then he realised he spoke to the wrong party. To 'tear everything down' is to hack all floor tiles for re-tiling and so if the seller were to install the railings now, we might have to hack them & re-do, a waste of $$ so we propose to include railings installation in our reno.

Our purchase of this flat is really not a smooth journey and juz hope that the reno will have minimal hipcups.

Ya, this officer really cannot make it, 卖主, 买主傻傻分不清楚 8| . Called my hb to talk about installation of the railings and my hb went huh? My current 4-room flat dun have balcony leh. Then he realised he spoke to the wrong party. To 'tear everything down' is to hack all floor tiles for re-tiling and so if the seller were to install the railings now, we might have to hack them & re-do, a waste of $$ so we propose to include railings installation in our reno.

Our purchase of this flat is really not a smooth journey and juz hope that the reno will have minimal hipcups.

so would the officer need to check the railings again after u done yr reno since u agreed to take over the installation now?

ya, must hope that the reno is without any hiccups otherwise really mess up everything since u would also need to have specific date to move in after vacating your current flat. Good luck!

will hdb officer telling seller agent that the ceiling fan in bedroom is not up to hdb standard because of low ceiling. The seller agent is not fair 1 requested seller to remove bedroom ceiling fan.

Is it ceiling fan good in bedroom if u believe feng shui?

so would the officer need to check the railings again after u done yr reno since u agreed to take over the installation now?

ya, must hope that the reno is without any hiccups otherwise really mess up everything since u would also need to have specific date to move in after vacating your current flat. Good luck!

Hi born_again,

Thanks. Contacted the HDB officer juz now. I explained tat we do not wish to delay the completion as i oso need to handover my flat to my buyers to be fair. Luckily, he admitted it was his fault. The solution now was juz to get the sellers to submit the application of the installation of the railings will do. Now awaiting for my seller to revert. Keep my fingers, legs, whole body crossed man!

yup, that's the only letter before the 1st appointment. There's contact details in that letter. Do keep us posted on the latest so that everyone here can learn about it especially those who may happen to be in the same situation as u.

Will do man. So everyone know what to do next time.

Hi Shuseido

Hi pbtgal, sorry to hear abt this. Me too really happy when got to know the completion date at 22nd June, 4:00pm!! But feel so sad after learn of all these things. Haiz... Hope your things can settle fast fast and your reno can start on time.

Last conversation with the contractor yesterday, he not even yet apply the reno permit to restore back the wall!!! Only will do it today! Oh god, next Mon is the date liao, only 5 days left, apply reno permit need 3 working days, left 2 day for the works?? Dun think he got enough time to do all the things! Si bei fed up now!

Now, dunno whether should sign the letter or not, if the things not up to expectation. Haiz....

Agent recommended to go ahead and sign. But before that, draw agreement with seller, pay us the $$$ and we pay to contractor when everything is done. Do you guys think this way workable??

Hi shuseido

hope both our issues can resolved faster. So looking forward to the key collection date. Good luck to you too, hug hug!

Ya, let's share all experience here. Juz now my seller (the wife) & myself went to meet the HDB officer to discuss on the things that need to be done. I would say very technical and mafan. Anyway, the officer said that as long as 1 party apply for the permit can liao. But things are not so simple. We still need to engage a QP (Qualified Personnel) to certify that the materials of the railings, screws etc used. The QP will submit papers to BCA (Building & Contruction Authority) for approval & filing.

I have approached my contractor to get a clearer pic from the officer since my contractor will help to install. Will update after i hear from my contractor.

Any owners who had installed safety railings b4 can share your experience here?

Hi all, 2nd appt yesterday and got the keys liao. However, the wall still not up yet, but seller agreed to give us the money and signed on a undertaking letter. Shall meet him up in few more days time after the cheque go thru. Hope he will keeps his words. *Cross fingers*

Will update you guys on the updates. Thanks for the helps! :)